We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safety issues”
Review of Le Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I were in Saint Martin for 2 weeks in March 2014. We were attacked and robbed by 2 armed men in Marigot. We were walking back to our hotel Beach Plaza from the Marina Royale, which is a 5 minute walk. This took place at 9:40 PM on March 23. The next evening, 2 other tourists from our hotel were robbed at the same spot. According to the gendarmes, criminality is up in many places on the French side of the island. We had asked the staff at the hotel whether it was safe to walk in the evening and they did NOT share any concerns with us! Even after the 2 crimes committed on March 23 and 24, the owner of the hotel did NOT post any information to ensure that his guests would be aware of the safety issues around Marigot. We specifically met with him and expressed our concerns for other guests but I guess he chose to protect his business rather than his guests. I would recommend being very cautious, and not to venture out in the evening, by foot or even with a rented car. Take a taxi. By day, buses were very safe and inexpensive. We saw quite a few places and went to several beaches. Anse Marcel seemed to be safer: beautiful beach, more security, more remote from local habitations. There were 2 hotels there, one was a Radisson. However, taxis or rented car would be the way to travel outside of this resort, buses don’t go there. MORE ABOUT BEACH PLAZA HOTEL AND SURROUNDINGS: nice hotel, plain but very clean, staff is awesome, a big thank you / merci beaucoup to Elodie, Marie-Helene et Marc. Breakfast is good but always the same, so very very boring after 2 weeks. Croissants were often soggy. Get an oceanfront room, it is worth it. The beach is small but good. Lots of corals and beware of sea urchins. We did a bit of snorkeling there. Our favorite restaurants: Le Galion and Pride of India, both 5 stars! We were told that the Dutch side is safer. We chose the French side for its French Caribbean culture. We will not go back. Good luck!

Room Tip: oceanfront, 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Amandine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We needed a one night stay prior to our resort reservation. We were originally booked at a different property. After arriving at 10:30 pm and securing a rental car, we began our vacation. Upon arriving at the orig booking, we were a bit apprehensive. As it turned out there was a problem with rooms and the manager told me (via security guards cell phone) that he had reserved a room for us at "a sister property". I asked if we would be pleased when we arrived there. He said "yes, very pleased".
First impressions was "is O.K.". Checked in, got to room, opened door, and detected older room that needed some updating. Very clean, but a little antiquated. We pulled back the drapes and WOW - WHAT A VIEW! A balcony over the bay! We were exhausted but could not go to sleep and miss soaking in the vista before us. I ran down stairs to see if we could find something to drink. Everything was closed at midnight. However, the front desk had a supply of only five (5) "pony" Heineken (@ 3 euro a pop). We finally turned in about 2:00 am. When we finally got up, the vista was even more stunning. After checking out (on time) we could not leave. The bar was open! So we sat on the veranda outside an amazing lobby and had a draft (or 2). This property is really beautiful and in a location that matched.
The desk staff: beautiful people, kind, helpful, a pleasure to deal with. The manager went out of his way to answer some questions about things local. The smiles and helpfulness of Elodie & Berenice was just icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Book a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I646VQmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our 2nd time to St. Martin. First time we stayed on the Dutch side, Simpson Bay, loved it.

I was a little apprehensive, trying another place, but we were not disappointed. I loved Beach Plaza from the moment we drove up. It has a distinctly French vibe and the architecture is just part of this.

We stayed in an oceanfront room, 3rd floor. What views. We loved sitting on our balcony looking at all the boats that were anchored right out front our door.

All staff were very pleasant. English is our first and only language, but at no time did we feel uncomfortable. Always helpful when we had a navigation question.

The beach is smaller, but that was of no concern to us. Usually just a few people there at one time and same for the pool, which we used more often. You are so close to the water in these oceanfront rooms, that even with doors shut at night we could hear the waves....awesome.

We thought the included breakfast was very good. Typical, coffee, cappuccinos, expresso, several kinds of juices, bagels, English muffins, toast, different selection of fruit breads, assorted jams. Did not see peanut butter, for any who must have :). Pancakes, crepes, hash browns, bacon, sausage, yogurt, cereals. Many lovely fruits. Bananas, kiwi, pineapple, melon. Cheeses and some cold meats. Once we were seated we were served a small basket of sweet buns & croissants! We also took part in the Lobster Buffet. There was a very good selection of seafood.

Location is walking distance to Port Royale, which we did several times for lunch and dinner. Had excellent food at Le Croissanterie, Tropicana and Le Galion.

We again rented a car. Best way to see the island.

If cookie cutter, brand name hotel is your thing, perhaps not the hotel for you. But for us, it is now our new favourite and we are definitely going to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NannyofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our first time over at St Maarten Beach Plaza. We were traveling with a group that has consistently stayed here over the years. When we first got here i was actually kind of put off. This is not your 4 star or 5 star hotel. But as we parked our cars and made our way in to the hotel my thoughts were changed. The front Desk was awesome. They upgraded us from Island to Ocean rooms. One couple in the group actually got a suite ( just a large corner room ) Gave us free drinks upon check in. The Veiws from the balcony room we had was impressive. To see the boats out on the water .. see the marina.. yes it was worth it. This may not be the luxury hotel people are looking for but it was a great hotel with great staff. Everyone was very helpful and very polite. Breakfast is complimentary, and its a pretty good choice of eggs pancakes fruit bacon NUTELLA . Ok so my only complaint here is the coffee is well ITs not my Keurig. They consider a long coffee AMERICAN COFFEE.. its really a expresso and i have to add warm milk. I will tell you make sure you bring you converter for your iPhones and Hairdryers. But if you forget you can always ask the front desk for them. We had a car so we drove all over the island. Who ever said there was not good food they are RIDICULOUS. apparently they didnt go over to the Marigot Marina. The restaurants are fantastic. We happen to dine at Le Galion and let me say this My husband is a chef and he was in food coma. Rent a car and get out on go around the french side. Grand Case has great restaurants and hands down the best BBQ .(go on tues night ) Over all we love the Island Beach Plaza.. we had a great time at the CARNIVALE and the Regatta Races and were going back !

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony rooms, The island Veiw is parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanymph68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first floor room was comfortable, bright, clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Marigot. It contained a small refrigerator and a television that got about 6 channels, all in French but CNN, in English. There were ice machines on all the floors but only the one on the third floor actually worked. The exercise room was furnished with just 3 machines and a television. The water temperature in the shower was inconsistent, mostly lukewarm. The pool was small and didn't appear to be heavily used. The small beach was furnished with plenty of loungers for sunbathing; as was the sundeck. The water was gorgeous, crystal clear and pleasant for swimming. The breakfast was included in the room rate and first rate. It included a table of fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, pancakes, cereals, juices,an array of coffees and teas and a table of breads. The croissants served at our table are delicious. There was a piano bar for entertainment. Missed the lobster buffet which was served on Friday nights. The charge was 49 euros per person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulu5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is dated, but has class and elegance, without the snootiness of class distinction that make me feel like a fish out of water. The front desk staff was very helpful with all the questions we had at the beginning of our stay. Everyone greeted us as they passed in the hallways, right down to the chambermaids loaded down with cleaning carts. The breakfast buffet, included in the very reasonable price of the room, had everything you might want for breakfast. I could have sat on the covered veranda overlooking the beach all day, listening to the surf and cooling off in the ocean breeze. The air-conditioning with our own remote control was a nice touch. It was a short walk to downtown Marigot and from there, an easy bus-ride to either Phillipsburg, or on to another bus going to Simpson Bay from the Kruithof Round-about. All in all, a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a beach-side room so you can enjoy the marvellous view, although the street-si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We left Anguilla on a Saturday to head back up to the snow and cold when the hated United Airlines left us hanging for an entire day only to tell us at 8:00 p.m. that there would be no flight today and they would arrange to put us up in a hotel. Five years ago American Airlines did the same thing and put us up in some faded Soviet Era looking dive that was sketchy, reeked from cigarettes, and had inedible food. That's why they had rooms in high season when all the highly rated places were booked. So imagine our expectations.

They bused about 15 couples and the staff were waiting to process everyone at once which they did so expeditiously and with good humor. They had already told their restaurant to stay open later and they served everyone from the plane. Again, the restaurant staff although a little short handed was wonderful. After that, to the bar with Tony the bartender from France. He turned a lousy day into a great ending. Next morning the front desk staff were helpful and patient with the arrangements to get us back to the airport. And yes, they had a buffet breakfast. We were not charged for dinner or breakfast.

The hotel is an older 3 part structure that sits right on Marigot bay. The entire first floor common areas including restaurant and pool are completely open to the million dollar view. The hotel is in the middle of restorations. All the furniture in our room was new, as were the glass windows and doors. The bathroom was still "tre retro" as was the little 13" cathode ray tube TV. But you don't come to stay in your room.

Instead of spending a fortune on a hotel on the beach, stay here, rent a car, hang out in the evening watching the sunset. You're walking distance from loads of great restaurants. And the "Simply" grocery store on the next block has more french cheeses and charcuterie and breads than any other mainstream store on the island!

And just so you know, 2 other groups of passengers went to 2 other hotels and had less than happy experiences. So HBP is special. Thanks, again and a well deserved 5 stars to you.

Room Tip: Face the harbor!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
4 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
4.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Martin / St Maarten (Formerly Hotel Beach Plaza)
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range: £77 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is ideally located in front of the Caribbean sea, on a small beach of fine, golden sand at the heart of the Marigot Bay. The area offers a shopping mall, fine restaurants and a variety of nightlife entertainment. All 144 rooms and suites are spacious and fully equipped, with views of Marigot and the mountains, or sea views. Enjoy our restaurant/bar located by the swimming pool and facing the Caribbean sea.. Get ready for the perfect holiday with our dedicated activity desk, musical animation, beach bar, beach and pool entertainment, and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing