We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awful place”
Review of Le Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We spent the week aghast.
First of all, unless you want to face the main road plus a sewage pipe extension under construction, you'll have to pay about 40 euros a night extra to change your room to face the sea. Air Canada doesn't mention this.
They say on the website there's a mini-bar. There isn't. As the front desk explained, it's a "cooling cupboard."
They don't serve drinks on the hotel's beach. Seriously. We would have had to drink warm white wine (no fridge) out of sippy cups.
You can't have a second room key without paying a huge deposit that you will forfeit if it's lost or stolen.
You have to pay a deposit to use your phone for local calls. I am not making this up.
The restaurant is awful. The bartender is surly. The bed was hard as a board. The pillows are stained and lumpy, the stained pillow covered with only one pillowcase (there's no zippered cover beneath). This did bother me.
The TV is so tiny you can't read the captions on the bottom, even with reading glasses and peering.
There is four minutes of hot water. I understand that, but they should tell you first. A slightly hot bath, for instance, would not be possible.
I could go on, but I won't. It's a cheap hotel, I admit, and might be fine for hikers. But it was not fine for me.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlenecolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

Hotel Beach Plaza is exactly as it has been presented in most reviews, 3 star. The hotel is older, but charming. The rooms were kept very clean, and the staff was friendly, especially if you greeted them with a friendly "Bonjour, Madamoiselle!". We flew in on an Air Canada Pkg and the room had been described as a Island View. Unfortunately, the Island view is facing the only, and very busy, road between Philipsburg and Marigot. It is worth paying for the upgrade of 35 euro/day to get a Ocean view. But, this hotel is still a gem, as it is one of the few accomodations close to Marigot. You did not need to rent a car here, as with most other accomodations that were far from the main shopping areas.
We walked into Marigot a couple times a day, about a 10 minute walk, to shop the local market. Here we found beautiful clothing and beadwork jewelery and belts designed by french nationals. Every night we walked to the Port Royale area, with its chic bistros and cafe's for dinner (try Cafe Paris near the boat rental kiosks), with some predinner shopping at the numerous, higher end, designer shops (Animale was our fav).
Go to Grand Case, a $18-20 USD cab ride, Tuesday nights, for Mardi Gras. There are hundreds of locals and tourists strolling the closed cobblestone street. Lolos are set up offering more that just BBQ, with quiet a few interesting looking libations. It also has 30 restaurants to choose from, all colorful and well-attended. We found that cabs from Marigot to anywhere (Philipsburg, Cul de Sac) were the new, govt. set $18-20, not the $7.50 quoted here in previous reviews. Take the cab to the ferry at Cul de Sac and spend an idyllic day on a beautiful sand spit, Pinel Island. Pay the $25 for 2 chairs with cushions and umbrella at The Yellow Restaurant, its worth it. We took pasteries and drinks from Marigot as the food is $$$ here. The excursion cost as about $35 dollars each for the day, all the more to spend at the great shops! Loved the slow pace (shops close from 2-4 for a civilized lunch), the friendly islanders and the incredible blue water and white sand beaches. One of the few places I want to return to.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank love2discover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We decide to take 5 days visit to saint martin and agency offered beach plaza hotel. Reception was ok but as soos as we got to the room and when back to get another room looking the beach but told me that should pay $50 per night to UPGRADE therefore I decided to stay in the room looking front.When start check in the room I found that TV was like 14 inches and was so old that must be consider as antique beside did not have cable only local stations mostly in french. During the night there is a lot of noise from cars and motorcycles that run open and fast.During the 5 days breadfast was totally the same nobody was preparing eggs or pancakes and pastries terribly to be french.The day we were leaving considering that our fly was leaving late we requested late check out was told that was not possible even 1-2 hours (normally 12 noon) and then offered storage room.
Sincerely I believe that that hotel was 4 stars when they open 20 years ago I supposse but at moment I have stayed even in costa rica in 3 stars hotel better (line casa luna in fortuna) at less that half the rate and better food and facilties. Beside offer of WiFi the msn was blocked for use and even the skype call were difficult to complete
barroyo

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barroyo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at the Beach Plaza from Jan 22-29th. This was our second time staying in St. Martin, but our first in Marigot. I prefer the dutch side but the deal we got on this hotel couldn't be beat. Plus everything on the island is only a 20 minute bus ride away.

The hotel was good. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had an island view, which actually has a nice view of the lagoon and marina. However, the noise from the street is quite a lot during the day.

Notes about this hotel and Marigot:

1. Get a higher up floor if you get an island view to avoid noise.
2. 3-5 minute walk right out of the hotel there are 2 grocery stores with everything you need from snacks to alcohol.
3. Great restaurants in the Marina Royale area. Although I did take the alleyway behind a few of them and did see some squished bugs on the ground. I'd recommend eating at "The Village," and "Thai Bali."

Recommendations for St. Martin/St. Maarten:
1. Go to Phlipsburg - shopping, great beach, cheap beer on beach.
2. Go to Pinel Island. - short ferry ride from Cul de Sac (you can take a bus from Marigot) - awesome beach and you can explore the whole island in a day.
3. Go to Mullet Bay beach - very good beach and cheap eats and drinks. Within walking distance of airport to watch airplanes flying low over Maho beach. (Can take a bus to Mullet bay from Marigot, with a change of buses in Cole Bay).

Overall, the hotel was a great jumping off point to the rest of the island for us. If we had the same deal elsewhere, we would choose to stay in the Maho or Philipsburg area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spoonman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

My husband and I were looking for a week-end getaway from our home in Trinidad for some French food, shopping and beach-time. We wanted a hotel within walking distance to the town of Marigot, but which still had direct access to a beach for our early morning swim. We don't need a lot of frills, just cleanliness, air-conditioning and a pleasant atmosphere. This hotel met all of our needs and the complimentary well-stocked buffet breakfast was a nice surprise. Outside of breakfast, we took all our meals out, but the hotel restaurant seemed decent. We had an 'island view' aka 'street side,' which was fine for us as we spent very little time in the room. If I were staying for a week, I would've requested an ocean view room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I had read the reviews and knew what to expect, and I also got a good deal. The pictures are accurate, the rooms are outdated but clean. The TV is 14 inch and the beds were worn, but the room was a nice size and there was a little fridge and safe, and the AC worked well. The beach is tiny, but still nice and it is the only beach in Marigot. Town is only a few blocks walk from the hotel, which is great for meals and shopping and saves cab fare. If you want a huge beach and busy town, you need to go to Phillipsburg or somewhere on the Dutch side. The breakfast was decent, in an open concept dining room overlooking the bay. The prices for dinner in the hotel were the same as most of the restaurants in town. The pool is small and very cold, but there is sun on the pool deck on one side all afternoon. Our room was over the road, but being from a city it didn't bother me, and beyond the road is a nice view of the green hills and a boat yard. The room was a corner, so balcony wrapped around so I could sit and also view the bay. The staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikeridergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Just returned from a week at the Beach Plaza. Nice hotel, very clean but basic accomodations. Highly recommend upgrading to the ocean view as the street views is not the greatest, looking at and an old boat yard. Ocean view rooms have a great view of the harbour, mountains and sail boats. Locations is good, walking distance to all you would need in Merigot and centrally located for most of the island. Seems to be a fairly safe areas as we had no problems walking around day and night. Marina Royal is also a close walk with very good restaurants. A rental car is very handy as the beautiful beaches are not within walking disatnce. Would recommenc for a reasonalble price stay as long as you plan on being out and about as I think most people would be on ST Martin.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPBonvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
4 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
4.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Martin / St Maarten (Formerly Hotel Beach Plaza)
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range: £152 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is ideally located in front of the Caribbean sea, on a small beach of fine, golden sand at the heart of the Marigot Bay. The area offers a shopping mall, fine restaurants and a variety of nightlife entertainment. All 144 rooms and suites are spacious and fully equipped, with views of Marigot and the mountains, or sea views. Enjoy our restaurant/bar located by the swimming pool and facing the Caribbean sea.. Get ready for the perfect holiday with our dedicated activity desk, musical animation, beach bar, beach and pool entertainment, and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing