We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing home cooked food and the best service!”
Review of Le Sous Marin

Le Sous Marin
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Amazing home cooked food and the best service!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We came upon Le Sous-Marin by chance walking by in the evening towards our hotel. Owner John-Baptiste is very friendly and welcoming. All of his food is home cooked and delicious! We had the best service ever out of any restaurant I've ever been to, and all the dishes are well priced.
Le Sous-Marin is not as brightly lit as the port side restaurants on the dockside of the building complex, but if you happen to find it, do not miss it! We loved the food so much we went back, and will do so again on our next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbrolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Delicious food in a small sidewalk cafe.. Very friendly!! Home made... Chocolate mousse was fantastic

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LSilverst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
345 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stop here at least twice on our visits to St. Martin/St. Maarten. We stay on the Dutch side, so it takes us at least a half an hour to get here. A very laid-back, friendly atmosphere with the owner, John, and his wife, Paula. It's a real treat when their darling children show up! Always excellent food, service and company. Cash only, but enjoy the 1:1 Euro to dollar exchange. Chocolate mousse is rich and sinful! Never thought of having Lasagna at a French cafe', but it was one of the best I have ever had! We must have the Blanquet de Veau at least once that's served with either a huge pile of french fries or rice. The food never disappoints and you will not leave hungry as the servings are huge! We have found the best places to eat are the casual outside cafe's in Marigot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie4359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Food was magnificent & service was great! After a delicious ham & cheese panini (adorned with their own special dressing-none the less!), we were treated to a homemade chocolate mouse that was to die for! Very kind people...j'adore!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanieJanieJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“S'Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We read the rave reviews of Sarafina's but couldn't find parking so we ended up a few blocks away right in front of Le Sous-Marin sidewalk cafe. We must have looked hungry because Jean-Baptiste the owner popped out to ask us if we liked fish. (My sister had on a fish t-shirt.) She told him we liked to swim with them not eat them. So he pointed out he had beef and pork dishes. We popped over to Sarafina's (to get the standard rude treatment and buy some mediocre sweets.) And back we came to Jean-Baptiste's gracious hospitality and excellent food. A wonderful meal worthy of a 4 or 5 Star restaurant--the pork in sauce was delicious (a family recipe from "back home" in Versailles I gather), the beef bourguignon was wonderful, the salad with goat cheese a delight, the chocolate mousse rich and smooth. And kiss on the hand to finish it all off! Worth every penny. Not elegant perhaps but we go to a restaurant to eat well and that we did. Went a long way out of our way to come back a second time for more great food and service. A highlight of our trip to St. Martin-St. Maarten.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasCousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Sous Marin also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Sous Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing