We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining with the locals in Marigot.”
Review of Chez Coco

Chez Coco
Ranked #12 of 91 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dining with the locals in Marigot.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Fantastic value and good carribean food. Tiny little resaurant with outside dining only. Tables crammed together and bustling with local customers. Two goat curries with a choice of rice and peas or french fries. Garnished with salad and fried bananas. Very large plate. Two beers one water and one mango daquiri all for $33.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williamvance22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous home cooked island food”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My family of four ate for $30! My chef hubbie was impressed and we all loved it! Nice outside cafe in Marigot at French capital! You must go! Why spend several hundred dollars on overpriced small portion dining? Great service and staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant Staff Made this a vacation experience.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The restaurant was recommended by a resident from the "French side." That is a high recommendation in this neck of the woods. We were there in July which is considered off season so restaurants and shops close up early if there are no ships or mobs of visitors.

The restaurant is at the ferry landing and obviously employs "friends" to push visitors this way. Because there were 10 of us, they literally opened up the restaurant for us. We are talking basically an outside sit-down restaurant with no bathroom, plastic tablecloths and a chain-smoking couple next to us. And then, this place went into multi-color amazing mode. Best lemonade I have ever had, friendliest and funniest waitress, food that was just short of 4-star, and an opportunity to rock the kareoke world. We had one daughter auditioning for The Voice the next day and another guest that the most entertaining rap song ever continuing to rap long after the words on the screen ran out. It did earn our group a shot of some of the best spiced Jamican rum ever but by then it was standing room only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSMATZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hour wait for food”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

While on a cruise we had an excursion that stopped in Marigot for shopping and our choice of lunch. Unfortunately we chose the wrong spot for lunch that day. While I don't doubt other people have had good experiences, ours was awful. While there are 2-3 other restaurants in the immediate area that we could have chosen, Chez Coco was the busiest so we figured that was a good sign. The restaurant is right in the middle of town and is all outdoor on a nice patio area. The waitress sat us and took orders in a proper amount of time. Drinks came out pretty slow but we understand that she was busy. After about 30 minutes we figured something was wrong that our food wasn't there. We began to ask what was going on around the 40 minute mark, especially when we started seeing tables that had sat down after us get their food before us. The waitress apologized and you could see she was having an argument with the kitchen (I assume they lost the ticket). Finally at around an hour after we ordered, my meal came out. They same could not be said for my mom's which took an additional 10 minutes (it seemed like no table got all their meals at the same time). I understand the place was busy and the kitchen looked pretty small but it was unacceptable that no real apology was given sadly. This experience ruined our time in Marigot. The food was alright and the portions were large but everything else took away from that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcasacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow City, Alabama United States
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great lollo on the square in Marigot”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Fun, delicious and inexpensive. We went twice. Had lobster (very good) once and the grilled shrimp twice. The fresh grilled lobster took a while and i guess they felt sorry for us, because they surprised us with a free fish cake appetizer, gratis, to tide us over. Very sweet of them. Absolutely loved this friendly, laid-back place. Try the fish cakes appetizer and the grilled shrimp on a stick. Their rice and peas side dish was wonderful too. Yummy! Look for the bright plaid tablecloths.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Coco also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Chez Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing