We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend at THE Beach suite Hotel Azure”
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Paradera, aruba
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long weekend at THE Beach suite Hotel Azure”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A lovely studio right on THE Beach. Outside THE room a breakfast table with four comfortable chairs, where I found two daily papers every day. One step to the Beach and a few more into THE lovely water of a warm turqoise sea. A friendly caring host who Will try to fulfill all your wishes.
Thank you for a lovely weekend. Inez molenaar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    71
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
246
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better beach and hotel! Michael is a great host and cares about his guest. You are literally steps away from the ocean, we went swimming everyday! Great place to stay and relax.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mike and Fawnette are gracious host. Azure is close to everything fun about the Dutch side of SXM. And just minutes away from the French side. Located right on the beach just seconds from great restaurant, bars, casinos, beaches, and more. I stay there every time I visit SXM. It's like staying with family. The cool half of the family, if you know what I mean.
Love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aponawave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and loved it so much I'm already working on my family to take a break together in the spring. Michael was fantastic as far as answering questions and communicating via email ahead of time, and so friendly when I got there. There are turtles and lizards in the garden - so cute! - and another traveler had fed them some grapes at one point.

The Deluxe Garden suite was huge and so comfortable - would have been perfect for a group of friends, since there were two private bedrooms and a fold-out futon. EASY walking distance to the public bus routes (buses come frequently). The cab driver had a little trouble figuring out where to bring me from the airport (next time I would just take the bus, now that I know where I'm going - and I do hope there's a next time) so I was glad that I printed out the very clear map provided on the website.

Getting around the island was easy: either I called my taxi driver from the airport, who had given me his card, or I just took the buses. The buses were great because they're so cheap ($1.50-$2) compared to $10-$30 for taxies ($30 was from Simpson Bay to Oyster Bay for a snorkeling trip I'd planned ahead.)

The beach on Simpson Bay is gorgeous and not busy at all. There are lounge chairs and umbrellas (a lifesaver on my last morning, when the sunburn had really set in) and even an aloe plant in the garden. All the staff members I met were friendly and kind, and I got to say hello to Michael once I'd arrived.

As much as I'd love to keep the Azure Hotel a secret so I could be sure of getting a place there on my next visit, Michael and Faunette deserve all the customers they can get at this absolute gem of a hotel. Go, enjoy, and have a blast!

Room Tip: Email the hotel - let Michael know the size of your party and your dates, and trust his recommendati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RtheAdventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Its been 8 months since our visit to the Azure Hotel, but we still talk about it and probably would have been back already if it wasn't for sky high flight prices from the UK !
The owners of the Azure, Mike and Fawnette (and Sky) were laid back and attentive to any request, very knowledgeable about the island and its environs.

Its a 5 minute transfer from the airport. On arrival I dumped by cases, stripped off to my swim shorts and plunged into the azure Caribbean - total time from touch down to toes in the water was half an hour - I'll never forget that.

We stayed in the beachside suite which had a small kitchenette, this served us perfectly well over our 10 night stay. Wake up to the sound of the sea then stick the coffee pot on when you rise, take 4 paces from your room and go for a half an hour stroll along the white sandy beach with warm waves lapping up at your ankles, return back via the nearest shop for fresh bread to have with your fresh coffee - a perfect breakfast, right on the beach front.

We are not really folks who like lying about all day on the beach, but here it felt normal we loved it. Jumping into the waves every now and again to cool down.

Watch out in the sand though, some dogs are left loose running and forget to take their doo-doos home.

On other days we took local mini bus trips around the island no problems and super cheap.
We also dived over 5 days with Dive Adventures in Simpson Bay.
On some afternoons we had great fun at Sunset Beach Bar located at the end of the runway watching the planes land and crazy folks hanging onto the fence in the jet wash from departing 747's!!

Easy walk to main road where you can flag down a minibus and pay about $3 to $4 to get to the runway end, same to get to Simpson Bay main strip of bars and restaurants. These options are both walkable.

There's Free WiFi available across the site - great addition and very handy in this day and age. Dont expect brand new fiitted out bedrooms, they are built and fitted out in the Island style, laid back, rustic and functional.
We would definitely stay here again - I'm sure we will be back at some point in the future.
If you're going - I'm jealous!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estevan, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I did little to talk my wife into coming back(and we rarely go to the same place twice). That is how enjoyable our vacation was last year. The staff and owners were so great as well as the guests(many of whom are regulars) made this one of the best places we have ever been. Good luck getting in during the high season though. Can't wait till next year. Lots of places to walk to in the area for dining options.

Room Tip: Stay at beachfront if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehrmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemet
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

There are no words for the hospitality ofthe owners Michael and Fawnette .the rooms are neat ,wonderful views and maid service is exceptional. When you wake up to the sounds of the waves right outside your window and you walk out onto the patio and 3 steps down to white sand beach. It is a slice of heaven.shopscwithin walking distance and the restaurants,markets.little frigs in rooms make everything easy.thank you for all you do Fawnette and Michael.

Room Tip: Every room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxyladyrcute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
3.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Property: The Azure Hotel
Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing