We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here!”
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The place is amazing. We stayed in the bay suite which is small but cute and perfect for 1 or 2 people. All windows face the beach and you can hear the waves at night. The beach is steps away from your door and is very quiet and clean and the water is beautiful, You can watch the boats and even see the cruise ships pass by around 6pm most nights! It's exciting to be close to the airport and there is alot within walking distance- a great french bakery (Atlantico) that is perfect for breakfast and sandwiches and baguettes are $1.25! The Grand Marche is a great supermarket right across the street and they have fresh produce and you have to try the Etna ice cream that is homemade and made right on the island! Maho beach is a nice walk maybe about a mile and is great for plane watchers. The Air France air bus lands everyday around 3 pm and the biggest plane (KLM 747 from Amsterdam) lands in the afternoon on Tuesdays and Sundays. The owners live at the hotel and you feel like you are one of their friends. They are that nice!

Room Tip: The bay suite is the cheapest and smallest but has everything you need- a kitchen with a table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 767cla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    71
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
246
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in december and had a great time. I have to agree with some other reviews that describe it as no frills but thats what makes it a home away from home.
The owners and staff are just fantastic always there to help out. Mike was always on hand to guide us thru our days and make suggestions.
The hotel is right on the beach (which is very quite)which we loved sitting there having a beer at night watching all the mega boats sail by. Its very close to the airport but truly the plane noise is not really an issue and if you are a plane spotter you can walk to the famous Sunset bar at Maho beach and watch them come in.
There are a couple of fantastic restaurants right on the beach in walking distance and a lot more 10 minutes walk down the road. Yes they are all pretty expensive but hey how often can you have dinner right on Simpson Beach.
Traffic can be hectic when trying to get around the island so choose days when there is not more than 2 cruise ships in and it sure will make your travel time around the island a lot smoother.

Room Tip: i suggest any would be ok as the beach is so close
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife over New Years 2013-2014. Beach access was some of the best I have ever seen, particularly in the Caribbean. Amazingly, you get used to the airport noise, and the calm water and few beach patrons really make it a relaxing getaway.

Americans will recognize the rooms as an "extended stay" style, which is just what we wanted. The owner was unbelievably helpful nonetheless. We had a car, and with the drawbridge open across the lagoon, getting around was easy. Food prices in St Martin/Maarten are quite expensive. Expect to spend at the grocery/market as well as the restaurants. Gas too.

If you come to St Martin/Maarten, this place is in a top-notch location, directly on the beach, and just a quick jaunt from most everything. We spent more time in Philipsburg and Gran Case than in Simpson Bay, but if you want to walk to nightlife, the Azure is right there too.

Thank you for the great time!

Room Tip: Rooms along the beach will definitely bring wave noise. We loved it, but it is not for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaJamieRockefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here in November 2009, can't ask for more than being right on top of the beach. The owners were helpful with restaurant recommendations and took care of making ferry reservations for us for a day trip to Saba. The only complaint is that it was a bit difficult to find.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We just stayed here for 3 nights on our trip to St. Maarten, Anguilla and Saba. I was excited that it was so close to the beach, reasonably priced, unique and had such great reviews.

We stayed in the Tropical Suite and it was really great! It was a huge room with a kitchen area, big king bed, nice furniture (lots of space for stuff) and even a wine rack. The bed was comfortable, the AC worked well and there was lots of space to put things away in the bathroom!

Our room was about 1 min from the beach, literally in the backyard. There were plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas. The whole beach on Simpson Bay is not overly crowded and the water is wonderful. We really enjoyed the beach. We drove around to a lot of the beaches on the island and this beach was seriously one of the best. The one downside is the mosquitos at night - they were horrible. We came to have a drink one night and I was eaten alive. Nothing that can be helped by the hotel, obviously, but bug spray is a good thing!

The owner lives on site and is readily available. The manager was also very nice when she met us when we arrived. The owner has a list of recommendations for top things to do, restaurants, etc. It was really great and we referred to it a lot!

We had rented a car but we walked to most of our dinners. You can walk to the main area - about a 15-20 min walk - to go to restaurants and bars. We didn't want to deal with driving and parking so we always walked. Some people may not feel comfortable with the walk at night since it's through a local neighborhood and isn't well lit but we had no issue with it. We realized later that we probably could have driven to places pretty easily so if you don't want to walk, driving would work.

The one downside is that the hotel is in a residential area and you have to park on the street. It's pretty narrow and there isn't always a ton of parking (we were fine). We found that we had to back down the entire street when we were leaving since there wasn't a place to turn around.

I would definitely come back here! We met a couple while we were there that's been coming for many years and said they'd never stay anywhere else! This trip they were staying over a month! I feel like when someone has so much loyalty to an establishment, that's a great sign that it's a good place!

Room Tip: There are beachfront rooms that literally open to the beach! Try to snag one of those if you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laina990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello Laina,
Thanks for taking the time to write the lovely review!
Just wanted to let you and other Trip Advisor visitors that we have
installed a mosquito mister that uses citronella oil and other natural ingredients.
Please see https://www.facebook.com/MrMisterMosquitoControl
December was very wet in Sint Maarten, but the government has been fogging.
The island has dried up the last few weeks and there has been fewer of them around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for about a week in September for her birthday and it couldn't have been better. We stayed in the tiki suite which I believe is their smallest room. It didn't ever feel too small and actually turned out to be bigger than it looked in pictures. We weren't on the beach front but the tortoises in the garden outside our door made up for that. Beyond the room and location, Mike really made this trip for us. We were staying there for less than a week and wanted to make the most of the days we had there.Mike made that extremely easy. He sat down with us and helped us plan out each day. He called us cabs, made reservations for snorkeling, and on one occasion even drove us to a restaurant we were going to. Simply put this place is awesome

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

spent several days here in december 2013, off the beaten path, very warm place and great service- owner are on site, clean comfortable place, not a lot of frills but thats what we were after
beach and area very clean, would stay here again, maybe bring the kids down for a week

Room Tip: on the beach rooms 6 &7 i think, we were in the courtyard loved it simple no resteraunt or pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Property: The Azure Hotel
Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing