We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 weeks in paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“6 weeks in paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The perfect place for 1 night or 42 whichever you need. Beach is right out your door and you can hear the waves rolling as you go to sleep. Mike is very helpful and very knowledgeable on every aspect of the island. His cleaning lady (Ramona) is excellent and the sweetest person you will meet. Everything is with in walking distance but renting a car to see the whole island is well worth your time. After you get off the plane you only have a 5 min cab ride and your there. It has become our 2nd home as people keep coming back to see there winter neighbors from different parts of the U.S.A. Canada and other countries.

Room Tip: Enjoy and relax as you are on vacation and a wonderful beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptkeggerWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    70
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
243
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I never want to stay ANYWHERE else but the Azure Inn when I get to St. Maarten. It's a beautiful little place, island style, right on Simpson Bay Beach. Rooms are clean, colorful, adorable, homey, and each has a little kitchenette. Most are graced with Fawnette's lovely artwork. Beds are all super comfortable. Staff is wonderful and Mike and Fawnette, proprietors, make you feel right at home as well as help with recommendations for places to see and things to do. I LOVE IT HERE..... FABULOUS place!! Mike and Fawnette: again, thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely, but i most enjoy staying in those rooms right on the beach which open onto an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Azure for 5 nights on July 2013. We had a rental car so the hotel is perfectly located to go and explore the island. It is only 5 min away from the airport. Expect to hear the planes taking off, it is loud but it is only a few times during the day and after a few planes you get used to it. The hotel is right on the beach, we did not have a beach front room but we had to walk only a few steps to be the amazing Simpson beach. There are good restaurants close by, french bakeries, italian and some others. Back then there was some construction going on across the street, they should be finished by now. If not try to get a room away from the street because construction noise starts around 730am. I will def stay at the Azure again. Mike the owner is a great host.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just returned from St. Maarten. We have a timeshare week six and are always headed down to St. Maarten week 5. We have tried many places week 5, but truly believe we have found our "gem". Right ON THE OCEAN :). We had a wonderful time at the Azure. Very relaxing week. Michael and Fawnette were great hosts, and we also met some wonderful people and made new friends. Michael was available to answer questions and if we needed anything, he was very helpful and responsive to any request we had. Ramona and Francis were WONDERFUL also. Everyone made us feel right at home.Two of the couples we met come back every year.....and we know why!!!! Great location, only 7 guest rooms, which makes it that much more "quaint". Restaurants and things to do very close by, however, we spent most of our week right on the beach....it was AMAZING. Gorgeous beach, it was practically all to ourselves. Chairs and umbrellas provided for all guests. 3 rooms on the beach, with others you enter off the pretty courtyard...which are also only steps away from the beach. We liked it so much, we booked for 2015 before we left! Rooms are very clean and well kept. Highly recommend :) (I almost hesitate to write this review, I'd like to keep this place a secret ;).....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. We just returned home two weeks ago and could not have been happier that we chose to stay here.

The location can't be beat. You are right on Simpson Bay. Even if you don't have an ocean front room you are less than 25 feet from the beach. You will be able to hear the waves crashing from any room you stay in. Simpson Bay is truly one of the best beaches you can find.

This is a small intimate hotel so note that when booking a room. A few reviews mentioned the lack of amenities - well it is a small hotel and if you read their website they don't claim to have amenities on-site. You basically are getting a studio. You are going to have a bed, bathroom and kitchenette. There are minor differences between all the rooms so make sure you look at the pictures and read the desciptions on their website if you are looking for something specific in the room. We stayed in the Tikki Suite. It was clean and had everything we needed. Sure not the largest room I've ever stayed in but I personally don't book vacations to stay in my room! Some other reviews also mentioned that the beds squeeked. 5 of the rooms got new beds while we were there and the new ones are wonderful. The only thing I found was that the regulator for the shower was a bit tricky. We had to play with it the first day to get the temperature we were looking for. Certainly not an issue, just something to call out for others staying in that room.

There is grocery/convenience store 1/2 block away. There is a very nice grocery store (Grand Marche) about 2 blocks away. This is very convenient to either go buy a local paper or get groceries for the week. Azure is only a few blocks away from a strip of restaurants. You will have plenty of options to choose from. Note though that several of the smaller restaurants are cash only and/or require you to spend a specific amount to be able to charge it.

You are very close to the airport. You will hear planes take off and land. We didn't find this to be an issue as you tend to tune them out after the first day. The building next door is under construction. Again, we did not find this to be an issue as they generally were working during the middle of the day. And this is not something that Azure (or any hotel for that matter) can control. Construction is part of developmental growth.

The owner Mike is fantastic. He will assist you with booking excursions or anything else that you may need. This is owned by a husband and wife team but I assume the wife has a day job as we only caught glimpes of her twice during our week there. Francis the handyman and Ramona the "manager" were extremely friendly, fun to talk with and helpful as well.

If you are looking for an intimate place to stay that has one of the best locations on the beach then the Azure Hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on their website. Each room is just a bit different with different items in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The place is amazing. We stayed in the bay suite which is small but cute and perfect for 1 or 2 people. All windows face the beach and you can hear the waves at night. The beach is steps away from your door and is very quiet and clean and the water is beautiful, You can watch the boats and even see the cruise ships pass by around 6pm most nights! It's exciting to be close to the airport and there is alot within walking distance- a great french bakery (Atlantico) that is perfect for breakfast and sandwiches and baguettes are $1.25! The Grand Marche is a great supermarket right across the street and they have fresh produce and you have to try the Etna ice cream that is homemade and made right on the island! Maho beach is a nice walk maybe about a mile and is great for plane watchers. The Air France air bus lands everyday around 3 pm and the biggest plane (KLM 747 from Amsterdam) lands in the afternoon on Tuesdays and Sundays. The owners live at the hotel and you feel like you are one of their friends. They are that nice!

Room Tip: The bay suite is the cheapest and smallest but has everything you need- a kitchen with a table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 767cla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in december and had a great time. I have to agree with some other reviews that describe it as no frills but thats what makes it a home away from home.
The owners and staff are just fantastic always there to help out. Mike was always on hand to guide us thru our days and make suggestions.
The hotel is right on the beach (which is very quite)which we loved sitting there having a beer at night watching all the mega boats sail by. Its very close to the airport but truly the plane noise is not really an issue and if you are a plane spotter you can walk to the famous Sunset bar at Maho beach and watch them come in.
There are a couple of fantastic restaurants right on the beach in walking distance and a lot more 10 minutes walk down the road. Yes they are all pretty expensive but hey how often can you have dinner right on Simpson Beach.
Traffic can be hectic when trying to get around the island so choose days when there is not more than 2 cruise ships in and it sure will make your travel time around the island a lot smoother.

Room Tip: i suggest any would be ok as the beach is so close
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
5.7 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Property: The Azure Hotel
Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing