We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Stress Relief Holiday”
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Everyone needs some time to escape the stresses of everyday life. Azure Beach Studios is the perfect spot to do achieve that goal. If you travel all of St. Maarten you will be hard pressed to find a more tranquil, isolated beach than the one in front of the Azure. Just a short hop from the airport you can leave your cares behind in a clean, comfortable guest room. If you choose to take some of your meals in saving on the high price of food on this island Azure offers adequate cooking facilities. You are just minutes from local restaurants, entertainment and the islands casinos. You really do not need to travel any further to make your stay complete but if you want to go anywhere else on the island it is no further than 45 minutes away. When you come back to Azure at the end of the day it will feel like you are coming home.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PamJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for The Azure Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2008

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at the Azure Beach Studios this past June. Azure is an authentic Saint Marteen getaway located on the beach with an incredible tropical water view. The hotel is located minutes from Simpson Bay, restaurants and local bars/casinos, but at the same time is hidden in a very quiet setting. Each room is unique and creatively decorated. I highly recommend staying at the Azure.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dingle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

This was my second trip to St. Martin and my second time staying at the Azure Beach Studios - I had to write about it. What an amazing experience at a place with character and style. From the individually decorated rooms, to the friendly service of the staff, to the incredible location on Simpson Bay - search no further for a place to call home in St. Martin.

The Azure is a hidden masterpiece on one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen in all my travels. During the day, you can just relax all day out back on the beach - or walk 5 minutes into town to enjoy the restaurants, fishing and water sports. At night, we would walk down the beach or swim in the bay out back, underneath the stars - and fall asleep in our room to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach.

Check out the Azure next time you are looking for the perfect getaway or planning a trip to St. Martin - you will love it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I would reccomend the Azure Beach Studio to anyone who is looking for an island getaway. The staff was very attentive, the rooms were very clean and affordable, and it was close to the airport and island amenities. Furthermore, the Beaches of Simpson Bay are beautiful without being overly touristy.

I hope to be back in St Maarteen very soon...

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adamcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

The Azure Beach Studio is a SLICE OF TRANQUILITY!!! If you own or run a business and you just want to get away the Azure Beach Studio is calling your name. The location is perfect right in the middle of beautiful Simpson Bay, beach front directly on the water. It is within walking distance to a general store, rental car agency, many restuarants and the casino. The owners were very helpful in pointing you in the right direction.

All the rooms are efficiencies which made it nice to have your own drinks and food. The Azure is like having you own private 8 room beach cottage. It would be perfect for a family with kids, a small wedding, a group of friends or colleges just wanting a private get away to themselves.

Also if you are lucky you may be able to catch the owners who live on premises, Mike and Fawnette as they paint away in their art studio. My wife and I actually bought several pieces that we will cherih for life. It was a truley amazing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PikeTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We went to Saint Martin for my sister's wedding and to be honest I have never been anywhere more beautiful. Since the rates were comparable to a middle of the road hotel I did not expect much. Boy was I surprised! For starters, the beach that the hotel is on is insanely beautiful. The sand is white and the water looks like the gel on a shaving commercial, just the most incredible shades of turquoise and blue. The rooms were painted in tropical colors by the two owners who happen to be artists. I always thought that an artist's place might be a little weird, but every detail at the Azure is tasteful and pleasing to the eye. I wish they would decorate my home! We actually bought one of the paintings in the room and we were lucky because apparently they do not hang for long. They were currently working on getting paintings in to the rooms that had paintings bought out of. If you are looking for a big resort experience I would not recommend this place. It is an intimate setting with a beach you don't have to share with many people. In fact, we had the beach all to ourselves several days. There is also plenty to do with in walking distance, we had such a blast!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

When we got to Saint Martin, we were tired of travelling and were really happy to arrive at the Azure in under 5 minutes. The breathtaking beach and bay were even more beautiful than any of the pictures on their website. We were instantly relaxed and blown away by the color of the water. The hotel is painted just the way you would think a Caribbean place should be. The owners, Mike and Fawnette were a wonderful warm couple who are both artists. The second day we sat on the beach and watched them paint in their beachside studio, just fantastic. The beach is one of those that haven't been overtaken by tourists, we felt like we had our own private beach. Just sitting there on the powdery white shore, having that warm clear water lap against our feet was just awesome. The rooms are super clean and the housekeepers were super nice. For the location, proximity to restaraunts and nightlife, and the price we highly reccomend the Azure. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTORTORELLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
3.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £77 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing