We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken Curry!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lal's Indian Cuisine

Lal's Indian Cuisine
Ranked #45 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valley Village
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Chicken Curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were amused by their sign that had a cartoon of a chicken with its butt on fire, "Curry in a Hurry!" - - and it was so convenient to get to, that we had to go. The owner was fun, and loves classic rock and roll. So we sat on the waterfront, enjoyed curry, veggies, garlic naan, YUM!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Artzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    44
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nannestad
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was the biggest surprise of the whole trip. Small place crampet between the supermarket wall and the dock.
It does not look much, but the service was second to none, and so was the food.
If you need to wait for a table, it is well worth it.
Make shure to have an apetizer, they are amazing, and the nan, wow, I can go on...........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OEA-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Food was great and the price was very affordable. Also parking was the easiest in Simpson Bay. It shared a large parking lot with several other businesses. The sign says Curry in a Hurry, however that was not the case. The food was cooked fresh, however it did take some time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Hill, Sint Maarten
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

It is time to write a review. This place has been my regular Indian restaurant for the last 12 years. First situated close to the airport (Lal,I still miss the bar!!!) and now on the lagoon. The location changed but not the food and drinks. The food is excellent, my favorite is chicken korma and my wife's is spinach chicken. We have had all the items already at least one time, that's normal if you visit this place already 12 years, and tried all the beers. I am used to a great variety in beers as Holland and Belgium have many. That is also a reason to go to Lal's, the Belgium beers, Duvel, Chimay, Leffe and many more. At the old place my dog Baree, a Golden Retriever, insisted of going with us as he loved the naan bread. Unfortunately he died and now I have 3 dogs and that is a bit too much to bring to Lal's restaurant. The service is great (Bibi, the other ladies and the kitchen staff) and even if you have to wait a bit, there is good music and always sport on tv.. Last but not least, Lal, a great guy and a good friend who knows everything about 70's, 80's and 90' music. We used to have a music quiz at the old bar every time we went there, yes I already mentioned it, we miss the old bar!!!
Lal, thanks for all the happy times I spent in your restaurant, sometimes when I was down in the dumps, you got me out. See you this week!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo-Timmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A pleasant change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lals was simple, tasty Indian food, friendly owner. Good value for money. Made a nice change from the numerous American 'Ribs and Grill' type diners (not restaurants they don't justify that title). Reasonable priced wine for a change. Only minus is the location behind the supermarket, and the high tables and bar stools not comfortable for a relaxing meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aoletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lal's Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Lal's Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing