We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save your money and go elsewhere!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Horny Toad Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Save your money and go elsewhere!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

At first glance the place was beautiful. Very nice location on the beach. What ruined it for myself and my guests was the horrible manager. The manager complained about everything we did although none of it was unreasonable. She complained that there was sand in our room! We were not allowed to smoke anywhere on the property. When we would leave to go smoke or go somewhere there she is asking us about what we are doing, where we are going, etc. Extremely picky about everything and nosy, she made us feel like she was doing us a favor because we paid to stay there. If they are wondering why no one is staying here then this is why. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you like someone complaining about everything you do and treating a 30+ year old professional couple like two year olds. Also, the beds are terrible and there are huge roaches!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigben210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    18
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
69
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just spent a week here before sailing around St. Martin for another week. This was an absolutely wonderful place to stay. Pros: right on the beach, clean, well maintained, inexpensive, convenient to the airport, friendly, very accommodating -- they will do just about anything to help make your stay comfortable, secure. Cons: no fancy amenities like a restaurant, but there are plenty close by and you have a full kitchen; no pool, but you are steps from the beach; airport is very close, so you hear planes taking off during the day; toilets in the two rooms I stayed were tiny -- pretty much closet-sized. Showers were creatively built -- one outside the bedroom (surrounded by decorative blocks and curtains and the other pretty much inside the bedroom with curtains around it. But if you don't mind these quirks, this is the place to stay. We loved it and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rweissjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have stayed at the Toad every year for the last 4 and love it. The owner and the staff are the best and they make sure your stay is perfect. The view is great and it is right on the beach. My husband and I feel that we were pampered by the wonderful staff. You will not be disappointed when you pick the Toad for a vacation. Last year we stayed for a month !!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights and loved our experience. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the water from our room and started every morning with a swim in the ocean. The rooms was impeccably clean and the service was top notch for this gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south amboy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed at the Toad and it was fabulous. Nothing fancy, but very clean and homey. The property manager Betty is wonderful and will make your stay a pure delight. She had our fridge stocked when we got there, renting a car was a breeze. The beach was beautiful and the water great. I will be going back to the Toad on my next trip down to the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room which has a nice porch wrapped around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmaarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 12 days in April/May. We've stayed at many places in SXM, but never one as wonderful as here. Rooms are spotless and have everything you could possibly need. You walk out your door and you're on the beach. The owner, Betty, is incredible. A real class act! Can't wait to go back again. You will not be disappointed if you choose The Horny Toad Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequeen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights in Dec. '12, after Christmas. We enjoyed our stay on our 2nd floor room, overlooking the beautiful beach. We liked the sliding security gate, & all the amenities of our room. Betty the owner was great, & made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddyReimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.2 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horny Toad Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horny Toad Guesthouse

Property: The Horny Toad Guesthouse
Address: 2 Vlaun Dr., Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horny Toad Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horny Toad is a deliberately small and distinctive guesthouse known for its congenial and unpretentious atmosphere. The original building is a former governor's house tastefully renovated into spacious, fully-equipped apartments. Each of the eight apartments is delightfully different, displaying a personality of its own. All rooms have fully-equipped kitchens, king size beds, complete baths with shower, and daily maid service. Fresh flowers are arranged in the units every day. The guesthouse is on the beach and provides beach chairs, towels and floats. An outdoor barbecue pavilion with two Weber gas grills, table and hammock allow you to enjoy dining beach-side. Simpson Bay beach is a beautiful, uncrowded mile-long beach - just a few steps from each apartment - great for walking, swiming and sunbathing.The Toad has been awarded Fodor's Choice Award each year including the most recent in 2012. They called us the "island's best value" on the Dutch side of St Maarten.This is a No Smoking property. No children under seven years of age, please. We can arrange to have a rental car for your use and stock your unit with food before arrival upon request. There is free high-speed WiFi in all the units and a complimentary computer with internet access and printer in the business center/reception area. Free gated parking on the property. Grocery stores, French bakery, shops and multiple restaurants are within a 5-6 block walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Horny Toad Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horny Toad Guest House Hotel Simpson Bay
The Horny Toad Guesthouse St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing