We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horny Toad Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horny Toad Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spend two weeks at this guest house every November. We love Betty and her staff. They are very friendly and attentive to our needs. The guest house is located on the beach in Simpson Bay. The beach is beautiful, clean and quiet. Services and restaurants are within walking distance. Evening socials provide an opportunity for guests to interact and share information about their experiences on the island. Sunsets are spectacular. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran7160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    18
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We would like to express what a wonderful vacation we had during our Nov 2013 stay at the Horny Toad Guest House. Everything was so relaxing, we felt like we have our own private beach. The guest house owner Mrs Flynn is the best, she will do everything to make her guests happy and comfortable. The two maids Gloria and Cherry who take care of your room daily are Top Notch and are extremely helpful.
M/M Kady Salem NH, 03079

Room Tip: If you want to spend a vacation on the water, this is the place to be..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very clean and great service. Can't beat the relaxation factor of stressfree vacationing. Send them your grocery list and they will stock your favorites upon arrival. The friendly staff (Gloria and Cherry) are always a pleasure. The "social" sunsets are a nice way to get to know the other guests and build long term friendships. Simple and basic the way beach living should be.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I spent several days with a group of friends, just prior to boarding a lovely sailing ship (Sagitta). My roomie and I had a ground floor room looking right out to the beach and the room was perfect. We had a comfy bed, little kitchenette, and interesting bathroom. Our hostess, Cherry, was amazing! She was more than an innkeeper, she became a friend. The property was wonderful. It was secure and safe, tucked away from the street, with any amenity we wanted. There was a covered patio area where we bar-b-q'd and spent mornings with coffee and evenings to just regroup. The beach was perfect! Clean, white sand and clear, turquoise water. One night we had a room tour where everyone in our group showed off their room and provided a libation. Each room is different and they are all wonderful. I would highly recommend The Horny Toad - although I hope it doesn't get too popular when I want to come back again! No pool but it just didn't matter.

Room Tip: Unit 6 is front and center, lower level, facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

we were staying at Marys boon which we love so much, but we took a walk up the beach. the beach was empty walking up to the horny toad. we arrived there so we figured we would explore, we were met my the manager of the property who couldn't be nicer. she gave us a tour the property and several of the rooms.
the resort is small i believe like seven rooms total and most face the ocean with large windows. all the rooms had a cool 70s vibe and were very clean not to mention there were spacious. they all had ac units and i belive most had kitchens. the rooms sit like 4 feet above the ocean, so they have there own private sandy area with plenty of chairs looking over simpson bay. you only have to walk a few feet to dip your toes in the water.
one thing i thought was cool was they had a few kayaks free to use for their guests. since simpson bay is predominantly serene and clear, it would be nice to take one out for the day.
the toad is also very close to a small market and walking distance to a supermarket.
you really cant go wrong on simpson bay. if i couldnt find a room at marys boon i would be very happy hear....thanks for the tour...sorry i don't remember your name.

Room Tip: book the last room on the right facing the beach....it was roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great place right on the beach kept clean and sparkling by friendly Julie while her lovely sister Cherri keeps everything else together with a big smile. All rooms are different but well furnished full kitchen and en suite. Communal BBQ area very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmas Del Mar, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I just returned from two stays at Horny Toad Guesthouse – five nights before and one night after sailing S/V Sagitta (Island Windjammers) out of Philipsburg for our 15th Annual Jammerfest celebration. Both stays were fantastic! Before sailing our group of 15 took over Horny Toad, booking all 8 rooms. The property exceeded our expectations in every way!

First off, Betty and Cherry handled all of our booking inquiries and managed our group expertly. Upon arrival, Cherry made us feel immediately at home. Most of us placed orders for provisions from Shop N Drop grocery to make sure that we had snacks and beverages awaiting our arrival.

During our stay we had a group BBQ using the two gas grills provided by the property, and Cherry brought out tables and chairs for our large group, as well as coolers with ice. She really took excellent care of us! (Since we were coming back for additional nights after our cruise, she stored our leftover supplies and had them waiting for us upon our return – we were most appreciative to have cold beverages and snacks when we arrived!)

We can’t say enough wonderful things about the staff at Horny Toad. The housekeepers did a wonderful job of keeping our rooms in order. The beach was nicely maintained, including the covered patio downstairs. The landscaping is beautiful, with motion sensor lighting and a closed circuit video camera system for security. The parking area is gated (you get gate remotes on your room keys) and the condos next door have a security guard patrolling the area.

All rooms come fully equipped with kitchen supplies (plates, glasses, utensils, etc.) and Cherry has anything else you might need. They provide beach towels and a daily maid service, as well as fresh flowers in each room. The reception area has a local phone and computer with Internet (great if you need to print a boarding pass) and even a couple of pieces of exercise equipment. You can have laundry done by the housekeepers for a small fee if needed. The combination of amenities, location and excellent service is a perfect trifecta – we will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms at Horny Toad are vastly different, but each is wonderful in its own way. (I stayed in Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinnemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Alegria
Alegria
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horny Toad Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horny Toad Guesthouse

Property: The Horny Toad Guesthouse
Address: 2 Vlaun Dr., Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horny Toad Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horny Toad is a deliberately small and distinctive guesthouse known for its congenial and unpretentious atmosphere. The original building is a former governor's house tastefully renovated into spacious, fully-equipped apartments. Each of the eight apartments is delightfully different, displaying a personality of its own. All rooms have fully-equipped kitchens, king size beds, complete baths with shower, and daily maid service. Fresh flowers are arranged in the units every day. The guesthouse is on the beach and provides beach chairs, towels and floats. An outdoor barbecue pavilion with two Weber gas grills, table and hammock allow you to enjoy dining beach-side. Simpson Bay beach is a beautiful, uncrowded mile-long beach - just a few steps from each apartment - great for walking, swiming and sunbathing.The Toad has been awarded Fodor's Choice Award each year including the most recent in 2012. They called us the "island's best value" on the Dutch side of St Maarten.This is a No Smoking property. No children under seven years of age, please. We can arrange to have a rental car for your use and stock your unit with food before arrival upon request. There is free high-speed WiFi in all the units and a complimentary computer with internet access and printer in the business center/reception area. Free gated parking on the property. Grocery stores, French bakery, shops and multiple restaurants are within a 5-6 block walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Horny Toad Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horny Toad Guest House Hotel Simpson Bay
The Horny Toad Guesthouse St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing