We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Mary Boon's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Mary Boon's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

Me an my boyfriend stayed here in April 2007 and loved it! One of the nicest hotels have ever stayed in and not because it was posh but it was quaint and really well looked after and right on the beach - I would highly recommend this hotel and definetly go back!

  • Liked — The Atmosphere - quaint and well looked after
  • Disliked — I think the dinning room area has a lovely view but teh interior could be uodated to improve it.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy_175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    140
    32
    27
    30
See reviews for
52
233
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

The hotel is convenient to the airport and is great for a few days stay at the start or end of a holiday. We had 2 relaxing days here in Nov and I enjoyed the beach, the restaurant and the honour bar. Since our stay, I noticed that the hotel now starts the high season rates Nov 1 and most other hotels start the high season Dec 15th.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jakesbackdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

Great place to stay because of it's location right on the beach and excellent rooms. Our room on the second level with a beautiful view and we woke every morning to the sound of the ocean. The room was a studio apartment with a kitchen was very clean and spacious. we liked everything about this small resort. The staff is friendly. If you like large resort this place isn't for you, but if you like feeling like you are on a small island this is a good place. Since it close to the airport there is an occasional sound of a plane taking off or landing, but the sound quickly melts away. We would stay at Mary Boon again.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TJGodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

Good or bad, the most important thing is a staff who cares about your comfort and if there is a problem (really, there can always be problems) you can depend on them to resolve it. Mary's Boon is not only indifferent to your problem, they argue that in their opinion it's not really a problem and turn their back! Playing key-pounding piano music from an outside speaker that never stopped day and night preventing a nights sleep and then refusing to turn it off is inexcusable. If you stay here, don't expect service, they don't provide any and don't care.

  • Liked — beach/ocean front
  • Disliked — unresponsive staff, rude, loud jazz music plays outside the room all day and night
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank livingfreelikeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We went to St. Martin for a week in June, 2007 for the first time. After some research, we selected Mary's Boon, because we like smaller, quaint hotels instead of the mega-resorts and time shares.

We were not disappointed. We had a lovely corner room right on the beach. It had a nice verandah outside the back door, and we could sit there, reading our two free daily papers each morning, having our coffee and watching the boats and occasional beach strollers. It was also a great spot for cocktails.

We had the beach to ourselves. Sometimes there was literally no one else in sight. While the beach may not be spectacular, it's nice enough and the peace and quiet are priceless.

Our room was nicely decorated with an island flair, and the air conditioner worked very well. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a small kitchenette with the required coffee pot and blender, and a small refrigerator and hotplate. We didn't eat in the room, but the blender, refrigerator and coffee pot were nice.

Some complain about the planes. We actually found them to be a real treat. Where else can you get such a closeup view of a passenger jet taking off and landing. They have an observation deck where you can sit and have a few drinks while you watch. The only noisy planes are in the afternoon. There are none arriving or leaving early or late, so the noise was not a problem at all. It added to the charm of the hotel.

I understand the food was excellent, but we didn't eat there. The honor bar was nice.

They had a small pool, and here again, we usually had that to ourselves.

We spent a lot of time at the hotel, sitting on the verandah, using the beach, the pool, etc. We enjoyed every minute, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. People who complain about the plane noise? They're nuts, what else can I say!

My only complaint is the lack of wifi in the rooms. They do have wifi, but only in the lobby. They also have a computer in the lobby that you can use to check your email.

My only suggestion is that when you book, make sure you don't wind up in one of the "basement" rooms, which have no view of the beach.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank ruthnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2007

We had a great time at Mary's Boon during our stay in mid-June, 2007.
The property has a unique charm and laid-back feel that just makes you want to take your shoes off and get a beer. The honor bar, adjacent to the lobby and over looking Simpson Bay, adds to this vibe. Although we were a bit leary about it's location to the airport (the runway is right behind the hotel), we found that if anything, it added to the fun of our stay. There were no flights that came in during normal sleeping times so there was no problem sleeping. We stayed in "Lucky No. 13" which is one of the closest rooms to the runway and it was no problem.
The staff was great! The hotel was right in the middle of a change of ownership and we didn't experience any problems with the transition.
After talking with some of the new staff and hearing about some of the minor make-over plans, it appears they are looking to retain the original charm that made Mary's Boon attractive to us in the first place. Flat-panel TV's, a hot tube and new upstairs bar are some of the improvements in the works.
Personally, the TV's sound nice but I don't think are necessary but we're very laid back travelers. Free wireless internet would be my vote. Also, a toll free telephone number would be great too.
The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and the kitchenette functionable. The location was terrific and the price was a good value. We work in the airline industry and would recommend this property to our fellow frequent travelers who are looking for a fun, comfortable place at a great value.
We're looking forward to our next stay at Mary's Boon.

  • Liked — Unique Charm and Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ETHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

My wife and I stayed at Mary's Boon from June 20- June 26, 2007. All I can say is that there were plusses and minuses. You'll have to decide for yourself if it sounds like the place for you. There are parts that are great and parts that are not so great.

Great:

- Location- it is on a great stretch of Simpson Bay Beach. Beautiful water, beautiful sand and you can watch the cruise ships come and go from the port. It's an easy five minute drive to Maho or to the heart of Simpson Bay. It's just over the hill from Philipsburg. If you have a car, you can be where you need to be, depending on traffic, in 20 minutes. YES, the airport is RIGHT there. YES, planes do take off starting at 7:00am. YES, the big ones are loud. There are probably five to seven "big ones" a day and the rest are commuters. We found it thrilling to watch the planes come and go. Others may not. Here's the other thing: if it bugs you, there are literally hundreds of other things you could be doing on this island. Go find them and do them.

- Quaint- This is NOT a super luxury mega resort. This is more like your rich uncle's mansion on the beach where you have been invited to stay. The decoration of the room we were in was quite charming. A little dated, but mostly charming. The honor bar is great and, as far as we know, is available 24 hours a day. Just grab/make a drink, record it on the little notepad, and off you go.

NOT so great:

- Activities desk- what a joke! We e-mailed several excursions before we took the trip in order to reserve spots and make deposits. All excursions e-mailed back the same- we've got your spots, but pay through your resort. It's a nifty little trick where your "activities coordinator" gets commission for booking the trips. That's all well and good...when the activities supervisor is there. Saskia, the activities person at Mary's Boon, was NEVER there. NEVER. We had the front desk people calling our excursions to make sure we were confirmed. We ended up just going to the various excursions and making reservations ourselves. VERY disappointed in Saskia. We asked several times when she would be in and we were told the same thing: "Tomorrow around such-and-such a time." Tomorrow came and went and no Saskia. Just reserve your spots online and then pay for them yourselves when you get there. It's a bit of a hassle, but it's far better than relying on the mysterious Saskia.

- Water pressure: Sometimes strong, oftentimes just a trickle. Once it went out completely. Why complain? What would they do? Honestly, we just laughed it off and dealt with it.

- Beds- Nice looking beds. Yes, the quilts are a little threadbare, but they go along with the "antique" surroundings. The sheets? I think I've used softer sandpaper to strip paint off of cabinets. The pillows. Wait, were they pillows or just glorified sheets? They were flat and lumpy. But after a day in the sun, you pass out and don't care that you're sleeping on sheets and pillows from the 1960s.

So there you have it. I don't know that you would find much better for the price. It is quite economical. But just know that you get what you pay for. We are a laid back couple and did not let any of the inconveniences get in our way of thoroughly enjoying ourselves, but if you expect more pampering, look elsewhere. If you just want a place to crash in between excursions and you want to open the door to your room LITERALLY on the beach, check it out. Earplugs might be in order for the planes, but you do get used to them fairly quickly.

  • Liked — location on beach, quaint feel of property
  • Disliked — absolutely zero help with activities on island, uncomfortable bedding
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Medium_Tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing