We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Improving”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Mary's Boon has just been reacquired by a previous owner who seems to be working very hard to improve the facilities. Rooms were being refurbished and outside painting and landscaping being done. We stayed for a few days both before and after our March 2nd cruise. We stayed in a beachside room the first time and the garden room the second time. The beachside room is worth the extra price. Sitting on the deck and watching the water is much better than fighting the mosquitos on the porch of the garden room. The furnishings in the beachside room was much better than the garden room with at least a comfortable sitting chair. The bed in both rooms was most comfortable but the plastic chairs and table in our garden room need an upgrade. Mosquitos were definitely a problem but they seemed to be trying to spray to eradicate them. We had some problems with our rooms - door lock, toilet running - but they were quick to fix the problems. They seem to be working to improve the infrastructure and are planning major upgrades to the rooms. The entire staff was most friendly and accommodating. The bar and restaurant are managed and owned by someone else. My husband says that Lisa fixes the best mojitos around! We ate in Tides during the stay prior to the cruise. Breakfast and lunch were excellent. Some dinners were very good. You can't beat the view of Simpson Bay and the airplanes landing and taking off right next to the hotel is a lot of fun. The resort has rooftop sitting areas so you can get up close and personal with the planes! The seating in the lobby is limited but comfortable. And the large crescent beach is very nice. Umbrellas and chaise lounges are available. This is not your everyday cookie cutter resort. It is eclectic yet comfortable. Taxis are readily available but a car rental would give you more freedom to roam the island. For example, there is a wonderful French bakery 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are the best...the views of the bay from the porch are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    154
    34
    28
    34
See reviews for
62
247
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We recently stayed at Mary's Boon for ONE night...Thank God. When we checked in I was told we were upgrade, I thought "Oh great!" The gentlemen took us to our "Garden Suite" which was dated and dirty. We dropped off suitcases and went to get I bite to eat. When we returned later that night we walked in to find our suite infested by mosquitos. It was late and we had been traveling all day, so we just hopped into bed and covered ourselves up. When we woke up early the next morning, we were horrified!! There were mosquitos everywhere, mostly flying around the toilet. I just wanted out!!! My husband went to the sink to throw some water on his face and brush his teeth but couldn't because there was no water. We quickly packed up and left. When I checked out I told them not to check anyone in that "Suite" until they do something about the infestation of mosquitos. They acted putout that I was bothered by them, they told me that it's an island and they have trouble with mosquitos. I told them that is was my seventh year coming to St Maarten and I have NEVER experienced anything like that. I would never stay here again nor recommend it to my family, friends, or enemies.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I went there week ago ..half of the dishes they didnt have it on the menu ..we order the fish and it was waaay over cook .
Deserts nothing from the menu , only some chocolate cake terrible taste
Ambient is old and everything is nasty and full of dust .. While we eating our dinner we was trying to get rid of the house animals.. Including the rat what came out of the kitchen while i was waiting in the man's restroom
TERRIBLE , RATS ROACHES AND TERRIBLE FOOD TASTE
NEVER AGAIN TIDES RESTAURANT
find some new chef and a good Manager or close down that place

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The water views are its best aspect. Molly the dog and playful kittens were a nice distraction. But I'm afraid that's all I could really say was good about the place.This is a strange place it's décor seems to be trying to be a bit bohemian but it's basically just bad taste. The service ranged from good to just outright rude. The appliance did not work from the air-conditioning, the hair-drier on the wall and the shampoo dispenser in the shower. What on earth were they thinking putting nylon bed linen on the beds in hot weather. Our room did not look like it had been dusted in years and the general cleanliness was poor. I woke up with insect bits all over my arms and legs. The food well just forget, $25 for a hamburger and beer, and the fish sandwich was tasteless.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denari-1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

the best hotel ever, it's too close to the airport, but the planes don't disturb your sleep though, there is a convenience store about 2 blocks from it where you can find almost anything, the private beach is awesome and the staff is very friendly and helpful there is a jazz night at the restaurant it's a very cozy place.

Room Tip: you have to choose the garden studio it has a kitchen and a table, also it's independent and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at at Mary's Boon for 3 nights after spending 5 in Anguilla at a rented house. There was a stark contrast. We loved the location and all of the staff but our room was dated and dirty. The bathroom had pieces of carpet for rugs and I'm sure they never get washed, the shower was barely a trickle and I wore my flip flops the entire time in the room. However, the bed was clean and comfortable. I hope they renovate and I think they will- they had guys painting and hanging light fixtures but they room really really needs updating and a though cleaning. Again, the staff was amazing and the location was perfect and we did enjoy ourselves.

Room Tip: I think the larger rooms that are set off from the main hotel are nicer- and I think they may have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We sailed the Caribbean for a week and booked Mary's Boon for the night we returned. It is uniquely located next to the airport. It has a great beach, good restaurant, and attentive front desk staff, in particular Kelly who helped us arrange a taxi to the airport. We ate all meals at the restaurant and the food was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing