We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Special Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We flew from Australia and initially booked for one week, after the first few days we changed our mind and stayed for 3 weeks, Mark the previous owner has now taken over the hotel again. The staff are wonderful Jo in the office, Melvin in the yard and Lisa in the bar just to name a few, Mark and the staff make you feel very comfortable and special. the location of the hotel is superb, you can walk to sunset beach and watch the planes, or walk to the bars and restaurants in Simpson bay or just enjoy one of the best beaches on St Marteens. After 3 weeks we left and moved around the island for 2 weeks but returned for 3 more days before we left. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples or families you will not leave disappointed.

Room Tip: choose a unit on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Warren, thank you! What a real delight it was to have you and your wife stay at Mary's Boon and so happy you enjoyed your visit. I know it's not a easy trip coming from Australia to St Maarten but I hope you will return again and again. Safe travels wherever in the world you might be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We flew into St. Maarten a day earlier than we had expected and were searching the internet when we were in between flights while in San Juan. We saw reviews, here, on TA, and decided to give it a try. Reviewers are right about proximity to the sxm runway, so if you a plane enthusiast this is the place for you! They even have top of the roof observation decks on which you can sun or watch the boats over one side or the planes on the other! The landscaping is just plainly described as beautiful. Tropical trees and flowers are everywhere. Though the concrete and stone-mixed sidewalks are a perfect complement to the landscape, they are difficult for thse who are using mobility devices! We ended up booking an extra week in one of the beachside units!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFirtion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Mary's Boon and for your kind words and so happy you enjoyed your stay. We recently became the owners again this past Thanksgiving Day and have been busy since then working on upgrading the property and rooms. Yes....the close by airport is just part of what has made Mary's Boon unique Caribbean style hotel for the past 43 years. Many of the islands largest Hotels are in our area and normally more fun to most that watch the planes come and go, than a negative issue as the airport does close at night. I agree that the cobblestone main hotel walkway could be easier to walk on to some but I do have in future plans to improve that without affecting what's been part of the Hotel since the beginning . We know that vacations are to far and few between and the staff works hard everyday to make sure your vacation at Mary's Boon is the very best possible. Please do keep us in mind for your next visit. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Let me start by saying that this is one of many little boutique hotels on St. Marten that I have wanted to try. My husband and I had 1 night at the end of our stay on the island that we needed to find a hotel for so I looked up Marys Boon. There was a summer special so we thought we would give it a try.
First with the positives. We were allowed to check in early because the hotel was not busy. There is a lovely uncrowded beach. You can walk for a mile in each direction. Beach chairs were plentiful. There is a restaurant right on the beach. The food was very good for lunch. Not overly priced. Drink prices were a little high. The service was horrible but since they add an automatic 15% to the bill for service why should they care.
The grounds are well kept and clean but nothing special. The room that they gave us was right off the pool. We booked a garden view room but since the hotel was not crowded there seemed to be many. This must have been the room they give as their discount special. The garden era shed was on the little patio. Extra pool chairs were on the little patio. So it wasn't usable space. We must have been next to the laundry because the dryers were running all evening. The airplane noise was loud but stopped at 2145. The room itself was ok. It took about 5 minutes to get tepid water to take a shower. The room was quite hot and even with the ceiling fan on high and air conditioning on high it took 2 hours to cool the room enough to be able to sit in there. There were a few roaches that we found during the evening.
So I guess I'd say the site is beautiful and the hotel charming. I just would make sure I didn't get the room by the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Mary's Boon and your review. We recently did become the owners again of the Hotel and busy working on updating the rooms and property which we hope to be completed by the end of the year. Even though the room you booked into was our most budget room I do totally understand how you felt as I had a similar experience while on a trip to Chicago at a Four Star hotel. You kind of get the feeling of being the stepchild as you walk past much nicer rooms but get put in the little room in the corner. Most of our guests book these rooms for short one or two night visits but it can be aggravating even if you know your paying less. We are working on correcting those issues you spoke of and making sure the guests that do book into that room understand that it is a small budget room but we will try to make it as nice as possible. By far, most of the negative reviews come from these few budget rooms at the Hotel and not the other nicer and larger rooms that are mostly beachfront that is typical of 80% of our hotel rooms. FYI....The restaurant is not managed by the Hotel ownership but is leased out but I will pass your thoughts along to that manager. Sometimes Island time goes a bit to far and no reason for slow service. If you want to review it its under Tides Restaurant on TripAdvisor. If you will give us another on your next visit I will make sure you have a nicer room and better Mary's Boon experience. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We loved our stay at Mary's Boon. The beach is pristine and rock free. If you cannot find a beach chair or an umbrella, one of the staff will quickly find one for you. The bar has steps that go right on to the beach and the restaurant overlooking the beach has great food and is never crowded. The rooms are eclectically furnished which gives you a feel of being in Europe, The bed was really comfortable. We had a small kitchenette but it had a microwave and refrigerator as well as a small stove. The people there ar great. They give you all the privacy or attention you need. DO NOT worry about the planes; they are thrilling and it's fun to see the differnt types that take off and land from the island. We loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

So happy to hear you "loved" Mary's Boon and had a great time. We know how important vacations are and my staff and I work hard to make sure you have the very best one possible. We are doing a lot of updating of the property and rooms now and hope you keep us in mind for your next visit to St Maarten. Its the NEW Mary's Boon! Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We found Mary's Boon Hotel almost by accident, though it was listed in Frommer's Guide.
We had booked another place, via Internet, but when we arrived (Travel Inn) we found it was awful and had to find somewhere else. That's where Frommer's Guide came in. We walked down Simpson Bay and stopped at Mary's Boon Hotel for breakfast. Whilst there, we explored the possibility of switching hotels and the rates offered by Mary's Boon were actually lower, after negotiation, than the Travel Inn but the rooms at Mary's Boon were in another class altogether. They were spacious, clean, comfortable,well-equipped, and right on the beach, with all the usual hotel facilities such as Bar, Restaurant, etc, none of which featured at Travel Inn.
The staff at Mary's Boon were fantastic, especially the lovely Elena in Reception and the bubbly Lisa in the Bar.
Mary's Boon is a GREAT place to stay and we'll definitely be back there !!!

Room Tip: Room 129 is just 10 steps from the beachfront and is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Very happy that you had good time while at Mary's Boon, this is what we all love to hear! All of the rooms and property are now being updated (even room 129) so hopefully your next visit to Mary' Boon will be better than the last. Eleana is great and Lisa in the Bar keeps us all laughing! We want all of our guests to leave happy, tan and return again and again.

That's our promise and our goal. That's the new Mary's Boon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My first experience at Mary's Boon was for my friend's recent wedding and me, my fiance and everybody else had the most amazing time. What a great place, what a great staff!!!! From the girl that manages the office (I looooved her accent) to Lisa and the beach guys, wow what to say, so helpful, friendly, professional and at the same time cool. The food was amazing, the beach stretch the best on the island, we didn't have to go anywhere else and even the planes were not bothering us but instead we took so many fun pictures. We all talked about coming back for a longer period not 4 or 5 days and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the real, authentic Caribbean hotel.
P.S. Me and my fiance already started making some plans of having our wedding there too :)

Room Tip: Beach Front units are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Glad to hear you had a good time while at Mary's Boon. I was not there at that time but I heard to was a great and really FUN and CRAZY wedding! Thanks for the kind words on our staff....I am very lucky to have a great group that works hard to make everyone's vacation the very best. What can I say about Lisa in the Bar.....AMAZING and funny and fun! That's the real Mary's Boon! Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

So we had the pleasure of being married at Marys Boon on March 23rd 2013.What an awesome experiance ... we had about 40 guest and Marys went above and beyond to take care of us and everyone involved ... Lisa our wedding planner extrodonaire made everything perfect for us for day one of our communication all the way to our final goodbyes .... i know another reviewer said it was horrible but they should have come and said hi ... they could have joined in the fun ... as far as being close to the airport .. we are airport geeks and anyone who knows Maho .or reads reviews .knows it is famous for being close to the airport thats part of the charm we had a car parked there all week with no issues ... so back to Marys Boon and the Tides resturant.. the hotel is quaint they took care of over 20 of our guest for a good part of the week with no issue ... as far as the food ..it was great everyone loved it .. many of our guest travel the world and thanked us for letting them in on this little know secret spot with the beautiful beach ....and said they will return often again if you are use to big time resorts in a ritzy neighborhood ..maybe this isnt the place for you ...if you like a nice place with good food and great beach location than definutly stay here ... if you have a special event isuggest you find Lisa and she will make sure it is done right !!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jims767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.6 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £68 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing