We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were a family of 4 staying in 2 beds. The rooms were nice but the bathroom was like 40 years old and had mosquitoes everywhere.when we opened the back door we had a deck that wrapped around to the front. You were literaly on the beach by taking 4steps. there were 2 dogs 3 cats and 1 bird. the food was good and so was the service. When you walked in or out of the hotel the airport was right there by taking 3 or 4 steps. We waved to the pilots and they waved back. The hotel was towards the end of the runway. if i came back to the dutch side i would come back to this hotel. The last day a guy was cutting coconuts and cut 4 down for our family and 2 more for another.

Room Tip: get room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

One of the great things about Mary's Boon and why people I think come to our hotel the most for is the friendly staff and of course the BEACH. Room 108 which you stayed in is a nice corner room with lots of window's overlooking the beach but yes I agree is in need of a bathroom do over which will happen in the off season this year. We have updated many of the rooms and bathrooms this year. Yes I think about everyone knows the mosquitos have been bad this year on the entire Island as we had a lot of rain in late 2013. Its not normally that bad but at sunrise and sunset is when you might see them as you said maybe around your doors,etc so we ask people to keep their doors in windows closed during those times. We do now fog the property a few times each week as needed so I know it will get better in time. The airport being close is kind of fun too, many other hotels some of the largest on the Island are in the area and even just at the start of the runway. SXM airport is famous for its exciting take offs and landings and it is fun to see, not really that busy so any noise is limited and closes most nights by 10pm. Thankfully like you, most people focus on the many many more great things to enjoy about Mary's Boon that make it a great spot to relax. Please do keep us in mind for the next time and we are Happy that you had a good time at Mary's Boon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I made a reservation and then my flight got cancelled and they refused to refund any of the money, okay fine less than 24hrs I get it. I had another night six days later that I had to cancel and they wouldn't refund that either. They require 30 days notice for cancellation. If nothing in your life can go wrong and weather is always perfect then this may be the hotel for you, if not then find a different place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank COlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Sorry to hear about the flight problems. Their was really no reason for this to have happened as we are actually pretty flexible in these situations. I can tell you that we have refunded thousands of dollars just recently that would not have normally been eligible for a refund under the hotel policies. I am sure this guest would find that our booking guidelines and refund policy is very common to most other hotels in resort areas but to tend to give a bit more notice to cancel turning our high season when we are extra busy wheh we do lose money when guests do not show up,but its not just about refunding the money as its not that big deal to us as you win some and do lose some. This winter has caused a lot of flight issues and most people do show up sooner or later, if not we do work with them. Also, if its a airline non weather issue the airline will repay for any lost hotel deposits and their is also travel insurance that we encourage our guest to get if possible. In this guest case, the room was cleaned by our staff as normal, the TV was on, the lights were on, the AC going and the night guard had the key if it was a late arrival. All of this awaiting their arrival and the hotel was 100% booked for the night, turning other guests away that were looking for rooms.....no other rooms available at all. However not one call to cancel was received by the guests despite that we do have email, a Free USA number and a toll free 800 number they could have called. I am not sure if this guest even called the hotel to cancel ever or even ask for the refund on the 2nd night. Most likely we would have refunded if they had called with the details of why a cancellation was needed and will refund if they call. A staff member did try to call the guests USA number a few days in a row with no answer so he must of made it somewhere. I understand the frustration of traveling, not getting to where you want to be and having to pay for something that you did not get to use. Its happened to me also with a big hotel chain recently and many others but depending the circumstances we do refund many times. Every company has policies, even his I am sure. If this guest would have showed up I am sure this review would have been like most of the other reviews of happy guests that enjoyed their time at Mary's Boon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It as been a while since we were here, we did not actually stay here ,only used the restaurant, which was very good but we were allowed to look round and it looked very nice .a rustic style but wilts in St Maarten recently and talking to people who had stayed there in the last year , they said it was "really good"(their words not mine) The restaurant is veranda style overlooking a long sandy beach and Simpsons Bay This resort is actually right at the end of the runway of Princess Juliana Airport but whilst we were there on three separate occasions , with planes coming in and out, did not find it noisy ,in fact I cannot say I heard any planes at all

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theregulator41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks for stopping by Mary's Boon for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The dining room and bar which is THE TIDES Resturant is leased out and not operated by the Hotel anymore however it is very good and something on the menu for everyone. The hotel has 36 rooms and suites, deluxe beachfront, garden rooms, lower garden rooms and rates for about everyones budget so please to stay with us the next time you are on St Maarten. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When I say "right on the beach" it is actually right on the beach. Your host Raul is very nice and welcoming. The food is very good and the beach side bar is fun. The beach is the draw. You can walk 10 steps into the ocean, turn around and be sitting back at your bar stool. The bay views are breath taking and the airport is within walking distance. Come and enjoy yourself like I did and see what Mary's Boon has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikesuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Finished your cruise and waiting for your plane? We were. It was going to be a long Saturday (Dec. 21, 2013) from our 8:45 ship debarkation until our 3:45 flight. We had seen as much of St. Martin as we wanted and were not thrilled about spending 6 hours in the airport (nice as it is). Friends we made on the cruise suggested going to the restaurant at Mary's Boon to hang out and get a late breakfast and lunch before going to the airport. We did and it was great. The menu has lots of good choices. (Note: it took about an hour from the time we placed our lunch order until it arrived, but we had lots of time and this was no problem.)

The staff was very accommodating even though we had not stayed at the hotel. They kept our luggage by the desk and we pretty much had the restaurant to ourselves all morning through lunch. The manager/owner (Mark Cleveland) walked us to the taxi they had called for us and chatted until it came. He's a nice guy and has owned the place twice.

The hotel is at the end of a road parallel to the main highway to the airport so your taxi has to maneuver around for a few minutes on a side road to get you to the hotel or back to the airport. Our fare from the dock to the hotel was $10 US per person and from the hotel to the airport $5 US per person. Lunch for two was about $40 US with tip.

There are planes that land and take off and we heard about half a dozen in the four hours we were there. We wondered what that would be like, but each plane noise lasts about 10 seconds and then all you have is the little beach and some tiny waves to watch from the restaurant.

While we did not stay at the hotel, based on the hospitality we got, I think it could be a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTopDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just returned from a three week stay at Mary's Boon. It was my fourth visit. When I got up to the desk I was greeted by the long time staff I know and love, "Welcome home!"

The relaxed and family-like atmosphere is just what I need when I go on vacation.

The beach and water are just as beautiful as I remember them, although there was a little more rubbish around because of the high seas the past few weeks. Not much can be done about that, but may I suggest installing a couple of bins on the beach for the people who pick up after themselves?

We stayed in room #119, a one bedroom unit which we rented from Mark, the owner. It was at the back, but it is still just steps to the beach, has a fully furnished kitchen and large fridge. Huge bed was really comfortable with cotton sheets that smelt great.

Despite this room being so close to the runway, the airport is not much of an issue for me. The jets don't start leaving until about 9:30 in the morning...but by then I would hope you'd be out of bed and on the beach! The deck upstairs from this room is a great place to watch the planes. The guys have been busy making improvements up there as it had been looking neglected and not well-used.

A big thank you to all the staff who made us feel so comfortable. Elena, Neilia, Marlon, Ronnie, Carol, Raul, Yellow, Miss Tracy, John, Federico, Igor (you are a riot!) And Melvin brought us newspapers every morning. Long time employees tell you a lot about a place.

As for the restaurant and bar, I've never had a bad meal or drink in there. Service is friendly and I never feel rushed, who needs that when you are on holidays?

I will close with a line from a previous review of 2011 "If you are looking for a calm, caring place to be yourself, this is it."

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We rented from the owner one of his units. We had a contract and when we checked in they had put someone else in our unit. So we were given a comparable unit. Nicely furnished. Unfortunately this unit had some issues.... We woke up to a sink full of water bugs crawling all over the kitchen counter. They came in and sprayed, moved everything out, bleached and did everything possible to fix it. Two days later the bugs were back. They were able to move us to another room.. Smaller but right on the beach. It was beautiful and the rest of our stay was fine. The staff there is wonderful... The beach is the best on the island. We would come back. They have security and they do everything possible to accommodate the customer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfsunnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

I guess alls good that ends good as they say and happy to hear that you did have a over all great time at Mary's Boon. As they may have told you, during your visit or just before your visit the island had a few days of very heavy rain which cause I blocked up gutter on the roof to overflow so that room you were first in got some water on the floor in the kithen area. We really don't have any bug issues to speak of but after so much rain its not that uncommon for any bugs to start to moving around. Anyhow....glad to hear you had a good visit and we looking forward to seeing you at Mary's Boon again. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.6 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
5.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £62 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel And Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing