We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay in Saint Maarten”
Review of La Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Vista Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Saint Maarten”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a nice place to stay in Sxm. The property was clean and well maintained. The unit we stayed in was a Studio and was very clean. The office staff was very friendly and attentive. We have already made our reservations for next years vacation. ( 1 month )

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lknole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    50
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at La Vista Beach Resort June 22-29 and loved it. We had a 3rd floor timeshare unit and loved the stunning view. The units are very clean; housekeeping does a wonderful job. Friendly, helpful office staff. Security on premises. Two pools, the larger one being by their restaurant across the street; the smaller pool was right below our unit. It was low-season and fairly quiet. Good choice of restaurants and a casino within walking distance. A very convenient deli close by. Beach in front is somewhat rocky, but you can also use the very nice beach next door at the Flamingo resort. Personally, we stay on the Dutch side and drive over to the French beaches during the day. We saw someone snorkeling right in front of the rocky beach every day, though we didn't do so ourselves this trip. This was our 8th visit to the island, but our first time at La Vista. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

La Vista Resort
During our trip to the Dutch side of St. Maarten, we stayed at the La Vista Resort, which we picked up through our Interval International time share company. The resort was nothing like some of the big resorts we had stayed at on other vacations as it was smaller and more "personal".
 La Vista is located on a hillside which runs down to the ocean from Billy Folly Road and is only a quick taxi ride from the airport. However, we weren't bothered at all by the noise of arriving and departing aircraft- we were able to hear the sound of the waves crashing on the beach instead. 
At the top of the hill are the cottages and the wonderful restaurant, The Hideaway. Halfway down the hill is another time share building which is part of La Vista, and at the edge of the ocean is the building we stayed in. Our unit was on the top floor and had a spectacular view of the beach, Pelican Bay and the passing sailboats, yachts, and cruise ships. We  were so surprised on our second day when the fog lifted and there was an island that seemed to appear out of nowhere! It was the island of Saba and the lights twinkled in the distance on clear evenings.
Our unit overlooked one of two swimming pools on the property and there were always some hearty souls taking an early morning swim. Just south of the pool and sunbathing deck was a concrete wall which sectioned the pool area from the beach. In other reviews I have read, people complained about the quality of the beach because it has large, flat rocks as a sort of breakwater. It isn't a flat sandy beach but we found it to be perfect for taking a daily walk to gather seashells. If you are looking for a "sugar sand" kind of beach, you may need to travel around the island or go to the French side and visit Orient Beach or some of the others. For us, this was perfect, although we did get a surprise one day when we were sitting on the lanai and a young couple came along and she promptly removed her coverup to reveal a bikini bottom and no top. Oh, to be young, carefree, and in great shape!
La Vista has a wonderful restaurant, which we really enjoyed for breakfast and dinner on several occasions. It seemed pricey at first, but the quality of the food and the delicious flavor of the seafood made it worthwhile. Try it - you won't be disappointed! And the upper swimming pool, which is an infinity pool with a gorgeous view of the ocean below,  is located adjacent to The Hideaway and reflects the candlelight on the tables at dinner as darkness settles in.
The service by the staff at La Vista was outstanding. Everyone from the young woman at the front desk, who took care of booking our extra night at the end of our stay, to the room service staff to the groundskeepers were so pleasant and friendly. This resort is family owned and they have hit on a successful formula for keeping their guests delighted. Although we didn't attend any of the activities such as the time share presentation and the Monday Meet and Greet, other guests told us they were enjoyable.
As for the unit itself, the bed was as comfortable as our Sleep Number bed at home, the shower was nice and hot, the air conditioner was cold (just the right balance) and the kitchen was a great size for the two of us to make breakfast and dinner.  Yes, we actually cooked! We shopped at the local grocery as well as at the Peli Deli at The Pelican Beach resort to the west of us, which was closer than the grocery store. We tried to eat fresh produce and seafood as often as possible and it was so easy to do using the unit's fully equipped kitchen.
We loved our time at the La Vista Resort and would certainly consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: Get a unit close to the beach and listen to the waves as they lull you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a time share type resort, the unit I stayed in was ocean an poolside. Lovely, older, but well maintained. A perfect place to go to just relax, very friendly staff, security roamed, and close to restaurants. Not a lot of children there (which was fine with us) but a mix of honeymooners and people that return yearly. The most awesome sunsets! It's not a luxurious hotel, it's a place to unpack and settle in for a bit, get to know the neighbors, have cocktails on the patio. Lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmoCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at La Vista cottages in November 2012 as a timeshare swap and I reviewed it then. We returned in March 2013, this time as a rental in the beachfront building. The proximity to the water only served to enhance the La Vista experience. Everything I said in November still applies about the resort, staff, amenities and location.

The beachfront is a good value for the rates they charge given how close to the water you are. We’ve paid much more at the Westin for an oceanfront room. The room we stayed in might have been a little shop-worn but we looked past that to the awesome view (we even saw the crippled Carnival ship leaving after all the passengers were taken off).

Nothing has altered my high opinion of La Vista. Regarding Wi-Fi, I did not experience the outages some others report here but it is not unusual on the island to find outages or service not quite what it is in the US. I discovered on this second visit that you are not locked in to your room Wi-Fi connection while on the grounds, just search for the strongest signal from any room or cottage and you should get on OK with the same code. If all else fails and you need an emergency connection for emailing home etc, the Taste Factory on the main road has free Wi-Fi, and great breakfasts and desserts!

Admittedly the guests are older and seem to be regulars who form groups by the pool but they are not unfriendly and we don’t spend much time on the grounds during the day or until we return from dinner and nights out so this is not an issue for us.

We hope to make it back to La Vista in the fall. One tip if you go to St. Maarten early in the year and expect to go to the Harmony parade in Grand Case on Tuesday- we saw a tremendous increase in people this March over last February- word has apparently gotten out. Either arrive VERY early (well before 6), or be prepared to park a mile away and walk to the town. There’s plenty to see, do and eat anyway so there is no problem spending a late afternoon there.

Once again, St. Maarten and La Vista made for a wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matoaca, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

You pay $20.00 per computer for the internet. I could never get on it but maybe 11 or 12 at night on the balcony. It's a very nice place, our room was clean and they bought clean towels everyday. The office staff were very friendly and gave us info on things to do. They gave cards for you to get beach towels. You could switch them out daily We took them when we went to different beaches. There is a $20.00 charge if you do not return them. They had two pools. They did not have a good beach, could not swim due to the rocks. You could go next door to the Flamingo for the beach but I don't think the water was much better. Beaches to go to are Simpson Bay. They have Karakter's, a restaurant made from a school bus. Umbrella's are free if order a drink or food. Le Galion is a very calm beach and good for kids. You can wade a long way out. They rent umbrellas and chairs for $5.00 each. They have palm trees that you can sit under also. $42.00 for chairs and umbrella. Not sure exactly what that included. Club Orient Palm Beach nice beach but There are several restaurants within walking distance as long as you don't mind up and down hills. Grand Case on Tuesday have a festival where the restaurants and shops have everything out on the street. Someone said they had a bus for $95.00, not worth it, but a good thing to do one evening if you want to drive or take a taxi. The Greenhouse, Buccaneers, Jimbo's, is a little further. Skip Jacks I don't recommend. . See review on them for info. They also have a restaurant on site We ate breakfast there and it was good. You really need to rent a car to see the Island. Of course you will run into the time share/ travel club people. Michelle/Cooley who stand near The Greenhouse depending on the day or maybe the place promised us T-Shirts but we never got them. Always had an excuse why she didn't have them. Promised to sent them to our hotel. Didn't happen. Also we were promised a coupon for a Sunset Dinner Cruise for one. Well they didn't have them and said they would be in Tuesday. Of course by then the dinner cruise was sold out for the week. We were able to talk the cruise people into letting us do a sunset cruise for the both of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hi - spent a great week at LaVista, Crowd was definitely not family, but more mature couples and it seems the resort is geared that way. Nice clean roomy two bedroom oceanfront. Only downside is the ocean was not accessible due to coral formations directly on the beach front. You have to walk down to the neighboring resort. wasn't far away, but it was much busier than La Vista. Some minor issues, wireless use is charged by the number of devices ($20 per) is stupid and did not work well (reception) within the actual unit. Forget using wireless anywhere except the deck on the unit and a few feet within the living room. Beach issue kind of forces you to rent a car and travel to other beaches (recommend anyway) on the island. AC in the bedrom was very loud at night but we did get used to it after full days in the sun and fell asleep quickly. Nice view of the cruise ships coming and going daily. Very helpful and friendly staff. Did not dine at the hotel resturant. Shopped at Grand Marche and stocked up on breakfast and lunch supplies. bring a cooler, buy your beverages and take them with you. really no pool side service at ocean front pool.

Room Tip: Ocean front complex is preferable. other units are across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleticsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista Resort

Property: La Vista Resort
Address: 53 Billy Folly Road | Pelican Key, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Vista Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing