We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of La Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Vista Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 September 2006

We first stayed here in 2003, on a relative's RCI week; we bought a timeshare that week. If you are looking for a large resort, with activities geared toward people in their 20's & 30's, this is not the place to find that.
If you are looking for a small resort, where the staff treats you like "Royal" family, and you like a quiet place to retreat to, after you've enjoyed all of the activities available nearby- then maybe you should check this out.
The restaraunt - "The Hideaway", has equisite food; there is a weekly comp'd breakfast where Al or Piet or one of the sales staff engages in friendly conversation and very low-key sales talk- NO high pressure stuff.
Al has helped me resolve a car rental problem, and took care of a trip refund for me, taking time to go to Marigot to do it (not a fun drive!).
Last year, the roof in our penthouse leaked during heavy rains, they moved us to our choice of vacant units the next day. Hopefully, they have reroofed the entire complex- it could use it.
Condition of the units- great- they refurbed the kitchens of the penthouses last year, can't speak for the rest of the units.
In 2004, we bought a 2nd week; it just seemed a better use of resources to spend more time here!
There are many resorts on this island- comparable to La Vista. One thing to check out when buying a time share- many places sell a 20-25 year lease- La Vista sells a PERPETUAL lease, for a very reasonable price. WHen you amoritize the cost over the lives of your children & grandchildren, etc., you/they are spending pennies!
If there is a downside to St Maarten, it could be said to be too crowded, horrible traffic- but that is a factor in many desirable vacation spots- it's what you make of the upside that matters.
I know we're glad we own!

  • Stayed April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank RandyT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    50
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sea Girt,N.J.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2006

We have been owners at La Vista for eight years. Have traveled extensivly through out the world and have always loved the pace of the carribeen. La Vista exeplifies that slow paced relaxing feeling that you look for in a quiet euro style resort. If you are love beautiful veiws, quiet mornings on your balcony and freindly service La vista is the place. Located in the residential neiborhood of Billy folly it is like you are home. We can wait to return for our three weeks this winter. Great Beaches, Great Food, Great Freinds SXM is the Bomb!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — shut your mouth and open your mind
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomymarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2006

This was our first trip to St Maarten and this timeshare and we did not care for either. While we do agree with the timeshare owners, who will defend La Vista naturally, that the staff was friendly, they provide service in their own time.

The quality of the rooms reminded us of an old resort. The smell was musty, the bed linens paper thin, the bath towels a joke, the 13" TV with horrible satellite reception and sound blamed on satellite they could not fix, our unit flooded when it rained which our suitcase was on the floor when this happened. They make you pay for the safe in the room, which we would highly advise doing seeing every day you open the newspaper (that is when they actually bring it to you at La Vista) you read of a mugging or stabbing for a $100 necklace or $1000 watch someone was wearing. The beach is not great on this part of the island, and though you have an ocean view, you can't actually walk into the ocean and enjoy it on this bay due to the rocks. They are also doing construction right now by the resort, so expect some noise. The amenties they claim to have like a luxury hotel we did not find. Where is room service? Vending machines for a soda? Decent linens and mattress? The Tiki Bar by the pool by the ocean (it was never open once while we were there)? No luxury here - far from it. Other owners kept telling us they felt like they were at home there, but we didn't feel like that at all. We felt completely out of our element.

Be prepared if visiting St Maarten that the beauty is in the water and we didn't find it anywhere else. We did not find this to be the "friendly island." The airport is beyond horrible (if you fly US Airways - be ready for 3 hr lines), the roads are extremely bumpy and full of big speed bumps and potholes, we didn't feel safe, I kept getting sick on the food, and couldn't find one nice, upscale resort on the island. The only part we enjoyed was some of the duty free shoppping, but still didn't feel safe on the side streets walking into town since parking was a nightmare in Phillipsburg. Marigot parking was a bit better.

If you don't like luxury resorts, like a less expensive Carribbean feel and want to stay in and cook for yourself, then we guess La Vista and St Maarten are for you. But, if you like to be pampered, enjoy an nice bed to sleep on without fluroesent lighting all around your room, enjoy a normal sized TV without lines and roaring sounds, want to feel safe walking at night, enjoy a beautiful resort with large pools and don't want to take the chance of your room flooding when it rains, we'd suggest finding another island in the Caribbean as we will.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mmmhmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2006

We stayed at LaVista Beach this time, but have stayed at the Resort as well. The staff is great, the landscape and flowers, remarkable. Two pools and a stunning view of Saba in the distance. We happen to like the Hideaway and Bar for what it was designed to be.

Thankfully, the people who were disappointed with their visit will never become owners. We obviously have a different view of the world. We will return as a family in about a week and we couldn't be happier.

LaVista receives the highest rating by RCI, year after year. A rating deserved, indeed.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 January 2006

We purchased a timeshare at La Vista several years ago. We also have 2 wks. at another resort on the island. If we'd found La Vista earlier we would have bought all 3 weeks here. We have travelled extensively & cannot say enough about this resort. The staff is terrific & the restaurant cozy, great food and ambience galore.

If you want to see the island, yes, a car is essential but there is a great little deli/grocery store in the area & a casino (for you gamblers) and other restaurants if you don't like to cook. The view from our balcony is spectacular (those sunsets are awesome). This is a quiet, family run resort where you feel right at home.

Why anyone wouldn't want to move right in I just don't know!! We can't wait to get there this March.

A happy Canadian & her husband

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 December 2005

We arrived at LaVista and found our unit available at 1:30 PM...clean and comfortable!

What a wonderful place...the view, the room, the grounds, the pool are magnificant..you have to be there to know the feeling. The staff members are very professional and fun. You can't help falling in love with this place. At 6:15 am we walked the beach, watched the cruise ships sailing in and the sun rise.....and this was just the beginning of unforgettable days and nights!

The quiteness of the resort is amazing, even with a restaurant with delightful food and lively, (but quite) music two nights a week.

You and your loved one will fall in love all over again after two days here. Peace and love - it all prevails at this resort. We have been visiting the resort for 10 years and it just keeps getting better.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 November 2005

Just returned from our week at La Vista and it was great as always. French Chef in Hide-Away rest. was excellent. New sand on small beach was a big plus.June of 2006 the new airport will open making connections faster.The roads on the island still need pot holes filled. A bus system is greatly needed to replace all the rental cars. Shell gas was strange when it does not accept Shell credit card. Phillpsburg has a huge parking problem-no space.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista Resort

Property: La Vista Resort
Address: 53 Billy Folly Road | Pelican Key, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Vista Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing