We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro's & Con's of Beachside Villa's”
Review of Beachside Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Simpson Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachside Villas
Reviewed 25 November 2007

My wife and I have stayed here twice now (both times in July). I will preface this review by stating that this is a different kind of vacation experience than you may be used to. This is NOT a resort. No one will wait on you. You blend your own frozen concoctions and at times, must even take out the trash. However, if you want a secluded piece of beachfront heaven, you must forego some of these amenities. In fact, it was fun playing bartender and having everything you need right there ON THE BEACH! You can also save some $$ this way. Renting a villa, although cool and fun, has pro's and con's just like everything in life. So, I'll briefly give you a summary of each (my perspective) and you can shuffle these points around (pro or con) based on your own individual preferences.

Pro's: Owners are very pleasant to work with, prices in low season are a good value, tropical garden at entrance is well maintained and very nice, pool on beach, privacy, night security, right on the beach (no walking to bathroom or to blender), airport runway makes for great viewing (also a con), gas grill and fully equipped kitchen (all necessities provided), covered porch with the best ocean views possible, beach toys provided, proximity to nightlife at Maho, daily maid service (except Weds.).

Con's: Airport noise starts early, no air conditioning in living room and kitchen (gets real hot!), ants in kitchen (what do you expect when you are on the beach?), beach toys can be old/broke, t.v. reception is poor, security gate is annoying & useless (you'll see), service is spotty. We actually checked ourselves in the 2nd visit here because our flight was delayed (arrived at Beachside at like 6:30 PM) and the onsite mgr had to catch a ferry home to Anguilla or something. We thought this was particularly rude but not typical of beachside etiquette.

Overall, this place is what you make of it. We go with great friends and have fun in our "private beachfront enclave." We bring drink recipes and blend up, enjoy french pastries for bfast, swim in seclusion, grill up, crank some tunes, venture out to amazing restaurants and for casino action at night, and really just chill. Of course, you will need to rent a car and go food shopping. You will also need to spray the ants daily and contend with the airport noise (only bad for back bedroom). The worst part is not having air conditioning in the common areas (living rm and kitchen). Don't be fooled, the breeze is nonexistent for the most part during the heat of the day so it will not save you. We made frequent dips in the water.

For us, the pro's far surpassed the con's and we enjoyed this type of vacation. One day we will return. What are you looking for in your vacation?

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VacationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Beachside Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2007

My three women friends and I have been travelling now for about 10 years, and we've been around: cruises, tours, packages -- here, there and everywhere: US, Caribbean, Europe. The four of us all agreed that THIS was our favorate vacation ever. This is the first time we rented a villa, purchased our food, rented a car and hung out for a week. What heaven. Beachside Villas is near perfection. Notice I say NEAR perfection. The airport is just in back. Didn't bother us. It might bother you. But if you can get by it, you'll find a GORGEOUS private beach at your front step. Large, always shaded front balcony, water (with waves), private well- kept pool, lovely well-appointed villas. The four of us rented two for the week. LOTS of privacy. Nice island. Great restaurants (Lobster Thermador at Pineapple Pete's -- yumm). Nice dinner cruise aboard the Tango. Rest, relaxation, reading, talking, laughing -- all in beautiful surroundings. Wonderful, helpful staff on premises. Maid service (very sweet, helpful woman). Good food (with wine) store within 5 minutes. What else could you want? It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pconroy726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2007

Spent 2 weeks at Beachside Villas and had the most relaxing vacation ever. The accomodations were clean, neat and had all the amenities needed. The staff was great! You are right on the beach in Simpson Bay and many times you are the only one on the beach. The planes were there, but after a few days its just part of the experience. If you don't want any noise, then this isn't the place, but if you want relaxation and your own private beach this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sunshine2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2006

"Heaven on Earth"...that's what we think of Beachside Villas....very convenient to private beach and pool, excellent staff and services, richly appointed, comfortable, and quiet (actually the airport activity adds to the charm and becomes less and less noticable as the vacation progresses). I would recommend this location to anyone! We actually began staying here over 12 years ago, and have come back again and again! We have stayed at various other Caribbean islands and find St. Maarten very friendly and safe, compared to some of our other destinations. Take advantage of the owners recommendations for restaurants, etc. They KNOW what is tops on the island!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janbheathsville,Va.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, IN
16
Reviewed 4 April 2006

My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon. Its been three years but we are planning another trip there and I had to write a review. We weren't bothered by the airplanes at all. The bumpy road was no big deal either. Its a rental car right? We had everything we needed. Clean linens, full kitchen, BBQ grill, the beach steps away. The whole place was very clean. The maid staff even washed our dishes. We told her it wasn't necessary, but she smiled and said she didn't mind. Irene even booked reservations at a fancy restaurant for us. I believe it was in Cupecoy-fabulous! And the shopping!!!! You can find GREAT deals on diamonds at Phillipsburg. This was by far the best place we have ever been to. Its yet to be beat. We will come back again and again. Don't believe all of the airport stuff. Its not bad at all.

Stayed: May 2003
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2006

Loved everything about Beachside villas. I have been an airline employee for over 21 years. Needless to say, I have traveled alot and stayed in many types of accomodations. Beachside has thought of everything.One could walk into the villa and live there. Every detail has been thought of. Walking into the villa is walking into your own private paradise. The decor is beautiful and your own private deck is only feet from the ocean. Keep your slider open at night and feel the wonderful breeze while the ocean lulls you to sleep. The beach towels provided are better than any resort I have ever stayed at ....even the room towels are on par with the best of hotels.....you cannot go wrong at the Beachside villas.....The manager on duty is excellant...all your needs will be taken care of promptly.....the only downfall for some will be the airplane noise. I did not find it bothersome at all...however being with the airlines might play a factor...the noise is not bad at night and most of the day you will be at other beaches. A short walk down the beach will put you right at the runway where you can watch the planes take off....most find this fascinating rather than annoying....Yolanda, the owner has made the villas your carribean home away from home...

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunluvr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2006

As with many people, we we're slow in writing this review having stayed at Beachside Villas 9 months ago but now as we begin to plan our second visit we remembered that we wanted to let the world know what a wonderful piece of paradise the villas are to this island. After many trips south to numerous hot spots and Caribbean islands we have found our place in St.Maarten and especially our new home away from home, the Beachside Villas. Our trip was very late in planning due to a last minute decision to treat ourselves after a long recovery my wife endured after a bad operation. Right from the start Yolanda went above and beyond to make our late plans come to life and within less than 2 weeks we arrived in SXM with our 2 kids, 4yrs old and 6 months. Irene gave us everything we needed for the baby, crib, playpen, highchair and even a stroller with roof because ours didn't have one to protect our baby from the powerful sun. She set us up with a rental car, delivered to the property, gave us messages from home to see if we were ok and even supplied toys and floaties for the pool for our oldest daughter. Upon arrival there were ice cold drinks in our fridge, spotless rooms bigger than we ever imagined and smiles from all the staff. When the gardener found out our 4yr old loved flowers he cut her one everyday for her hair and showed us how to spot the iguanas in the trees. The pool was perfect and clean and on the beach!!! The beach is perfect and clean and right out your bedroom and dining room door!!! The villas are near the end of the beach just before an incredible and beautiful set of natural cliffs with great snorkeling and ensuring privacy and little foot traffic on the white sand beach. Towards the other direction is open beach for 3 miles completely beautiful.Even with 2 small children this was the perfect place for us with the accomodations top notch and spacious, gardens and beach just beautiful and all the staff genuine and caring and always helpful.These people are happy to work there and they are excellent at what they do.

As far as the airplanes, we thought it was it was one of the neatest things we have ever seen! The ocean is louder than the planes believe it or not plus the main traffic occurs during the afternoon and there is little activity at nighttime. Some nights we slept with windows open and the waves kept us up!! Not a bad problem to have. For us, the novelty of the planes was fun and we had no problem with it, in fact our 4yr old was sleeping through the jets during her nap without stirring.

We would definately recommend Beachside Villas to anyone who enjoys a quiet beach, immaculate accomodations, and helpful staff willing to do whatever it takes to accomodate you.
One last item that is good to know, the market is only 10 minutes walk and they have everything you may want. Also many bars, restaurants and shops very nearby as well.

We hope to be back soon!!
Paul and Stacy, Kylie and Cassie.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.5 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Villas

Address: 40 White Sands Rd, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £122 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Beachside Villas Hotel Simpson Bay
Beachside Villas St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing