We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in St. Maarten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay in St. Maarten”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This 8 day stay was great! We really enjoyed the warm welcome from the entire staff. This facilities were excellent and the sights were beautiful. The Atrium answered the call leading to an awesome vacation. The Atrium is location in the heart of Simpson Bay and near everything that is worth seeing. The van buses were easy to use when traveling to Phillipsburg, Sunset Beach, Mullet and other sights. Overall, St. Maarten was great place to visit and the Atrium was a great place to stay. We will be back again. Thank you from The Smiths of P-Town VA.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    205
    93
    28
    14
See reviews for
103
291
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed four nights at the Atrium and it was fantastic. Was warmly received by the staff though it was before check-in time, was allowed to leave luggage in storage and go wandering. The location is excellent as it is in proximity to many restaurants, bars, mini-marts, beaches and nightlife for those that desire partaking in such.

The hotel staff if friendly, helpful and warm, especially Lionel who never hesitated to render advice on things that could be done on the island and places that were worth visiting. The room was always clean and tidily put away, it was also equipped with the necessary conveniences which were also clean and functional. What was also outstanding, was the Hotel's gift of hosting a cocktail for Its guests, with the distribution of prizes (which every room seemed to have gotten).

This was my first visit to St. Maarten and thanks in large part to the experience i had at this hotel, it will not be my last (God's willing). The island is like a jewel box, filled with priceless gems of wonderful experiences to be gained, beautiful people to meet and superb places that render great service of which the Atrium ranks among the best. I wont hesitate to encourage others to stay at this hotel, if fact whenever I return I hope they have room for me, because I don't want to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricotay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have stayed at the Atrium 4 different times. The condo is in a great location. It's within walking distance to several restaurants & grocery store. The condo is older, but it has everything you need. The beach at the hotel is nice, however, there are so many beautiful beaches in St. Martin that you'll want to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123island_girl1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here for one week at this Hotel, i enjoyed the everything from the rooms to the pool and great location for shopping. Im not sure if they just upgraded their rooms, because everything in it seemed to be BRAND new!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTheJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Fine, but nothing special. Room were dated yet had all you would need. Actually, the addition of the small kitchenette was a nice treat. Don't be fooled by the promise of balconies though. We paid an insanely cheap rate and, no surprise, got stuck with one of the lesser desirable rooms (low floor, overlooking the street, and rather noisy! That said, Great location, and the adjacent beach is lovey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I agree with stixx3 - RCI needs to go back and review it's standards. Three years ago we came to St. Maarten and stayed further up the hill at the Pelican Resort - which is now called the Simpson Bay Resort... we liked the Pelican/Simpson Bay newer buildings 100% more.
The Atrium was ok...furnishings were adequate, but bathroom was dated, there were no light outlets inside the bathroom - they could only be turned on from in the hall (?).
The cooking area was nice - and also had a space to sit on the stools and eat - but it had a "hood" over the burners and the first night we were there, my husband stood up and cracked his head on the edge of the hood. It did start bleeding, but not enough that we felt he needed stitches.
The bedroom was also just ok - the air conditioning would cycle on and off throughout the night - but it would click and THUMP just before it cycled down. About 2 minutes later it would cycle on (that was ok), but then 5 minutes there would be another click and THUMP. I ended up having to get some earlplugs to see if that would help. I'm a light sleeper so any noise wakes me up.
The balcony area was small and with the type of air conditioning units the buidling uses, it forces the hot air out - which is good - but it forces it out on the balcony! We rearranged the table and chairs to be able to sit out there an enjoy the view - but it was too hot.

Pros: Close to so many restaurants, bars and some shops. Staff was pleasant, friendly and helpful. Beach is close. Pool, although small, is nice.
Cons: Won't come back to the Atrium again. See above.

Room Tip: Unless there are newer, updated rooms --- pick someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have been visiting this island for many years. The majority of that time has been spent at this resort. Having had an opportunity to look around at other properties, I would still recommend the Atrium hands down! The new decor is beautiful and has a very happy feeling. The staff has always been outstanding and friendly.

Room Tip: "Views of the marina are awesome"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaramelDreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Address: Billy Folly Rd 6 | PO Box 1115, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Resort & Spa by Festiva Resorts is your getaway in paradise. The smallest island in the world to be shared by two sovereign powers (The Netherlands and France), St. Maarten provides a winning blend of Caribbean hospitality and European sophistication. Rolling hillsides, blue lagoons and breathtaking views are just a few reasons why so many visitors return every year to this island. With its half mile of natural beach and an array of nearby water sports, the Atrium is practically paradise. This quiet, beachfront resort overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea and is minutes from the glamorous nightlife and duty-free shopping of both the Dutch and French sides of the island.Adjoining the resort's pool area is a Spanish tapas bar, Picante. In addition to light and delicious fare, Picante also features a jazz club. If tranquility, luxury and a full-service staff are what you want, the Atrium is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Atrium Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Resort And Spa By Festiva Resorts
Atrium Resort & Spa By Festiva Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium St Maarten
Atrium Beach Resort And Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing