We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Terrible Management! No hot water since Sunday going on Weds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Terrible Management! No hot water since Sunday going on Weds.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

There has been no hot water since Sunday. No one's working to fixi this problem this evening. The lack of hot water affects bathing and dish washing (the dish washers don't do the job with cold water).. They charge a utility fee here and don't treat this problem as urgent. So, at a minimum, there will be no hot water from Sunday through Wednesday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimbo580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    198
    92
    27
    14
See reviews for
94
283
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Vacationed here in July 2013 with my husband, 2 teens, & 8 yr old. This was our first time at this resort, but 3rd time on the island. Ocean front/view 2 bdrm Unit on 6th floor. Room was very clean with new beds, furniture, granite counters, and 3 flat screen TV's. Daily maid service was outstanding and polite. Manager & Front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and accommodating- moving us upon our request from our initial 2 bdrm unit on the 2nd floor with limited view. Pool was sufficient, and beach was nice. Calm water, complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas and not overcrowded. Buccanear Bar right next door has great pizza and snack type food as well as drinks for the beach. Security and secured parking lot/ garage was also a bonus. Always felt very safe. Will be back!!! Hopefully this year- Oliver Family

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brita35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Great friendly staff. Rooms spacious and clean. Well equipped but bit worn. (carribean...) beach very family friendly with buccaneer beach bar right there to serve as well as greenhouse. The pool was small but inviting. Bit chilly and refreshing. Thanks for a nice time. Will gladly return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Colesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Atrium Resort is fantastic. I had a wonderful 2-week stay in a renovated 1-bedroom condo on the 8th floor. The resort is bright and cheery having red, orange, yellow, white and green as it's theme colors. The staff is very nice and attentive. There were days when I had the pool area to myself and the beach is just steps away. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided at no cost. The condo is well appointed with modern kitchen appliances and everything you will need to do light and/or major cooking. The condo had a huge balcony with table, chairs and chaise lounges, that overlooked the mountains, marina and the beach. It was a beautiful sight. There was a small balcony off of the bedroom. Small markets and a large grocery store are within walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants near the resort and within walking distance. Be adventurous and take the local bus to attractions like Maho Beach, Phillipsburg.and to Marigot on the French side. There were tropical rain showers almost every day, so bring lightweight rain gear. The showers didn't last long and the sun quickly followed. One caution about the resort is to be very careful around the pool area. It's very slippery when wet - I actually fell! Other than my fall, I had a great time. I highly recommend the Atrium Resort

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldengirl1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The beach was great, the rate was pretty good through Expedia but they put us in a room just behind the desk. So there was noise, ringing phones, and a weird beeping sound that was hard to fall asleep to. I think it was because we had such a good rate that they gave us the room we had. The plus was that there was a full kitchen, full maid service including the dishes and a separate bedroom. The bedroom had no windows so sleeping in the dark until the noise woke me up was nice. There was free parking and free beach towels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is small, affordable accomodation in Simpsom bay and is walking distance to many restaurants and attactions. They have a small pool but don't worry because the beach is accross. And also they provide beach chairs and towels to guest at no adittional costs. They have security and parking free if your rent a car. The staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at first floor are noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lulu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Check in was fast and easy. We had room 802, very nice two bedroom unit facing the ocean. The unit was clean and stocked with just about anything you would need. Very nice balcony overlooking the ocean with wonderful sunset views. Great housekeeping. Nice beach front with plenty of lounges and umbrellas. Not very many resort activities. But plenty to do near by. Convenient walkable location to many restaurants and bars. We particularly liked the Greenhouse that is attached to the Atrium. It has a crazy happy hour everyday from 11am-7pm 241 drinks and reduced appetizers. We enjoyed their Prime Rib night. Dinner was great and so was the service. Very friendly helpful staff at both the Atrium and near by restaurants/bars.

Room Tip: Make sure to request an oceanfront room. Bay view not so good. They overlook the main street with lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Address: Billy Folly Rd 6 | PO Box 1115, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Resort & Spa by Festiva Resorts is your getaway in paradise. The smallest island in the world to be shared by two sovereign powers (The Netherlands and France), St. Maarten provides a winning blend of Caribbean hospitality and European sophistication. Rolling hillsides, blue lagoons and breathtaking views are just a few reasons why so many visitors return every year to this island. With its half mile of natural beach and an array of nearby water sports, the Atrium is practically paradise. This quiet, beachfront resort overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea and is minutes from the glamorous nightlife and duty-free shopping of both the Dutch and French sides of the island.Adjoining the resort's pool area is a Spanish tapas bar, Picante. In addition to light and delicious fare, Picante also features a jazz club. If tranquility, luxury and a full-service staff are what you want, the Atrium is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrium Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Resort & Spa By Festiva Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium Resort And Spa By Festiva Resorts
Atrium Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium St Maarten
Atrium Beach Resort And Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing