We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, wonderful staff, perfect location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I recently spent 6 nights at the Atrium and had a blast. The front desk staff, (especially Mario) was ALWAYS very pleasant, welcoming, helpful, friendly, smiling and just overall a great group of people wanting to ensure we had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect, just around the corner from a grocery store, lots of great restaurants within walking distance, both left and right out of the entrance. Go up the hill for a casino, Bon Appetit and Toppers by the Sea. Going left out the entrance to the main road is Pineapple Pete's, Toppers, Taste Factory and La Sucriere (a great spot for French pastries and delicious baguette sandwiches for the beach). Our unit was very clean, modern and we never once had an issue with hot water in the shower, bathroom or kitchen sink. Housekeeping staff was fantastic. Full size appliances made it nice to have coffee in the morning and breakfast before heading out for the day. We did not rent a car, but used an amazing cab driver Allen Lionel - he was fantastic!! 721-526-9225 or 721.581.9542. More about him in the forum! The grounds of the hotel were very pretty, the pool was great and it was really nice to have the Greenhouse Restaurant right there - happy hour 2 for 1 drinks. Always plenty of places on the beach to sit with chairs and umbrellas, which are left out well after sunset - very nice, so many resorts pull them up as soon as the sun is down. Was nice to relax on the beach chairs watching the sunset with the live music at the Bucaneer Bar. We traveled all over the island and it was always so nice to return to change before heading out on foot for a nice dinner. Well done Atrium!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Atrium is centrally located in Simpson Bay, a short drive from the airport and walking distance from many restaurants and a grocery store. Prices are pretty high at the stores, but that's the norm for islands. The hotel itself has a security guard all afternoon and night, which makes you feel pretty safe. The hotel has a very small pool, but it was mostly unused, so there was space for anyone who wants to use it. The beach is small but pretty, with a sandy beach and activities like kayaking or paddle boarding if you feel like renting something. There are also beach restaurants right there, making it convenient if you don't feel like prepping food in your room. I was in a studio (with a kitchen) and other family members were in a 2 bedroom suite. We arrived to checkin and were told there was a generator problem so microwaves and dishwashers may not work, water may be lukewarm, etc. My room was fine, but the microwave had been removed from the suite, and their toilet was found clogged upon arrival (gross). Wifi was somewhat slow, but worked and was free. We requested the rooms be near each other weeks in advance of our arrival, but my room was on the 8th floor and the rest of the family was on the 3rd. The "fitness center" is TINY with a few weights, one recumbent bike and one treadmill, which also had an "out of order" sign hanging on it.That was frustrating as well, since the hilly, narrow roads are definitely a challenge to run on. At the end of the day, the hotel was not outstanding, but it was nice to be able to walk to so many restaurants. Besides, I'm in St Maarten, so I'm still glad I came!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked a last minute trip to St. Marteen and this was one of the only options left. At first we were not sure about the facilities bc of the mixed reviews but were pleased when we arrived. Expedia gave us the wrong information but luckily we were assisted by Wendy which was understanding and accomodating. she put us in a newly renovated studio room with a beautiful view which included the ocea, lagoon and hillside. We had a kitchen balcony and king size bed and couldnt be happier. This hotel is located in Simpson Bay and is close to everything. It is clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel. Ask for Wendy - she is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenAdriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I booked a trip to St. Maarten last minute and this hotel came up as an option. I thought that it would be a nice place for me and my gf to stay given the last minute decision I made to travel and the accommodations. When I arrived the elevator was not working, there was no hot water (only lukewarm) the room they gave us (Room 200) was very old from the 70's, the light did not work, the ceiling fan did not work the floors looked moldy, the toilet would not flush and had some wild life growing in it. The water appeared brown coming out of the sink in the bathroom and the curtains didnt closed all the way essentially making it possible to alway see outside and if someone was really looking in can see you in the bedroom. We asked for an updated room which was much better, but the microwave did not work. Some other guest complained about not having any electricity at all. What was good about the Atrium is that its very close to the airport, its convenient to lots of restaurants, there is a beach attached, but must walk onto the local street to get to it, not safe for kids to do given a lack of sidewalks. The Spa had no AC so we couldn't get a couples massage together, we would have to opt to get it done the same time but in separate rooms, we kindly declined.

My suggestion would be if you are going to stay here, ask for an updated room. They are usually on the higher floors like 7 and 8th floors. Do not accept staying in room 200. The water wasn't too bad to shower in at lukewarm temps, the wifi worked as good as it could. On Mondays they have free booze and finger foods for the guess, with live music and some vendors selling jewelry and giving away free gifts using raffles. The people at the front desk weren't the friendliest, but the cleaning staff was nice. Rent a car to drive around to see the island. Go to Crave restaurant its the best and walking distance from the Atrium. Zee Best restaurant is good, Jimbos is good too as well, the Charter House is awesome place to eat. All these restaurants are in the same area. The supermarket was nice, but make sure to check the expiration dates on products. You have to pay .25 cents per paper bags when you purchase so you may want to bring your own or buy there recycled bags for $2.99.

Room Tip: Ask for updated rooms so you actually get the room in the pictures and not the old dingy rooms. Do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaughnMaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I traveled with my best friend. First vacation together without our kids. We had the 2 bedroom 2 bath. Lovely. The supermarket is just a few feet away. Very expensive, but if you are single, or just having a ladies trip, hook up with some locals. They will show you where they shop and it is so much cheaper. The bar attached to the hotel is awesome. Ask for Jessica. She is awesome. The pool is so beautiful at night. I loved the beach but a lot of seaweed at night. La Bamba is the spot to party and dance and listen to great music. This is located right beside the hotel. The maid service was excellent! The casino is a small 3 minute hike up the hill. I will not stay anywhere else. Yes! I will be back. Walk down to the Burger King and catch a bus for $1.50. It will take you all around the island. I can't wait to go back, but with my kids of course.

Room Tip: Rooms will not be ready until 4 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzvhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week at the Atrium. .had a terrific time. Resort centrally located, within walking distance of many restaurants, shops.Small beach was nice with free chairs and umbrellas for atrium guests. Fun bar called the Buccaneer right next door with live music. Pool was lovely..a bit cool...but why worry when the lovely ocean is right there! Staff courteous and friendly! Won a door prize at the weekly Monday get together in the lobby with light snacks, music and local vendors. You need to rent a car to tour the island..rates reasonable..get the full insurance coverage.Plenty of places to explore! Beaches are lovely..surf a bit rough at Baie Rouge on the french side.Airport close by..have to experience planes landing and taking off at the sunset bar and grill! What a hoot! You know it when KLM is landing! Room clean and spacious...fully stocked with utensils.We recommend bringing a suitcasenwith dry goods..as groceries are expensive..just bought fresh fruits vegies and meats..if you plan on saving a bit of money by cooking yourself.Several supermarkets to chose from. No complaints about this spot! It was all good:)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We read mixed reviews about the Atrium-but, as we were only staying one night upon arrival before moving into our rental studios on Orient Beach we decided to give it a try. The price for a room (large, with updated kitchen and bath and a small balcony overlooking the hills) was reasonable for the high season and the location was convenient and easy to locate. Also it offered free parking which is a plus.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Check in was easy and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. We had some difficulty using the in room safe and maintenance responded quickly and politely.
The pool area is small but clean and the smallish beach area was well kept and also clean. Sunset was spectacular and a great way to start our fifth St Martin vacation.
The Greenhouse Restaurant was terrific and service excellent (please see a separate review for it)-so much so that we stopped for lunch as we headed to the airport to (sadly ) head home.
For sure, should we need a night or two again we would not hesitate to use the Atrium for this purpose.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back would probably be quieter although those with water views would be terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Billy Folly Rd 6 | PO Box 1115, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £119 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Resort & Spa by Festiva Resorts is your getaway in paradise. The smallest island in the world to be shared by two sovereign powers (The Netherlands and France), St. Maarten provides a winning blend of Caribbean hospitality and European sophistication. Rolling hillsides, blue lagoons and breathtaking views are just a few reasons why so many visitors return every year to this island. With its half mile of natural beach and an array of nearby water sports, the Atrium is practically paradise. This quiet, beachfront resort overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea and is minutes from the glamorous nightlife and duty-free shopping of both the Dutch and French sides of the island.Adjoining the resort's pool area is a Spanish tapas bar, Picante. In addition to light and delicious fare, Picante also features a jazz club. If tranquility, luxury and a full-service staff are what you want, the Atrium is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrium Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Resort And Spa By Festiva Resorts
Atrium Resort & Spa By Festiva Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium St Maarten
Atrium Beach Resort And Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing