We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i dont think i would recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 27 July 2013

let me start by saying i have worked in the travel industry for 15yrs. the first room they took me to was not cleaned yet...it was filthy...and i am sorry but i do not want to see the filth that the previous guest left. they showed me two more rooms... one was at the top of a hill..but i was travelling with an infant.....it would have been way too difficult. when i booked the reservation my room description was "ocean front" i had seen 3 rooms at this point and i still had not seen the beach... finallay, they gave me a ground floor room,( that i had requested prior to arrival) the location of the room was perfect..but the room was outdated ...and only had a/c in the bedroom. and the pull out couch was broken ...( my kids slept on it) we did do the time share tour and the new rooms looked nice. DO NOT EAT or DRINK at the beach bar....the bartender was very rude and it is sooo over pricec $7.00 per beer...just go to the peli deli and buy a case for $23.00. I also found it disturbing while i was on the beach with my children the bartender went on the jetty....and relieved himself...Really...its a family resort.... and did not see him wash his hands.....the island has plenty of things to do....and the beach was nice....but if your looking for something fancy...this is not the place.

Room Tip: i do have to say most of the staff was pretty nice and helpful....other then the beach bar staff..wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrs.travelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo O, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear mrs.travelpro,

I am truly sorry to hear about your experience. We always strive to provide guests with outstanding service and it is always important for us to follow through when this isn't the case.

I tried contacting you to request more information about the incidents you mention but unfortunately I didn't received a reply. Nevertheless, we will review more closely the service provided by the beach bar staff. Please contact me directly in order to have more details about the incident.

Looking forward to your message, please receive my warmest regards from St. Maarten.

Sincerely,
Camilo Olea
Online Reputation Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I are currently here on our honeymoon. We stayed in the newer villas overlooking the Simpson Bay for our first week and this week we are down the hill a little in some of the older villas which are directly on the beach. People keep telling us to rent a car but we have not decided to rent a car because everything we have been recommended to visit for meals have been in walking distance. We have walked to Pineapple Pete's, Lee's, Jimbo's, Zee Best, Greenhouse, the movie theater, and a brand new supermarket. Since moving down the hill we are directly across from The Red Piano, Bon Appetit, an Italian restaurant and a small grocery store. The staff has been nothing less than wonderful to us. You will run into people that want you to view the property in hopes of you purchasing a timeshare, but you decide if you want to do it or not. It's up to you! Simpson Bay's staff has made our experience and our honeymoon so wonderful!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octavia0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had two rooms for our week, a one bedroom with a nice view and a studio. Both rooms were clean but had a moldy musty odor. The studio was very bad and we requested another room. Front dest was very helpful. The new one was better but not good. My daughter has asthma and could go in that room. I checked the air vents for the air conditioning and it looked like it has never been cleaned. I cleaned the air vents in both rooms and in a couple of days it was better but not good. The beach was small but very nice. Our room was at the top of the hill and even my kids who run regularly said it was a good cardio walk from the beach up to the rooms. Island I'd go back but find a different resort.

Room Tip: Get into the new renovated rooms. Was told they are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stbg diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo O, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us; your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our Front Desk staff. At Simpson Bay Resort & Marina your complete and utmost satisfaction is our top priority; at any time you can request a room change and we will be happy to move you to one of your liking based on availability. I have passed a copy of your comments to corporate management in order to ensure the air vents of all rooms are properly cleaned up.

I truly hope you would give us the chance to welcome you again and show you how we've improved as a result of your feedback.

Warm regards from your home in paradise,

Camilo Olea
Online Reputation Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I traded a 5 star timeshare in Cancun for accommodations that were old, worn and very sub-standard. Travelled with my 18 year old granddaughter and didn't want to haggle in front of her so i accepted the suite. The best thing I can say about it was that it was very clean. Furnishings are old and worn and place needs a thorough rehab. The Staff, however, were warm and helpful and location is excellent.

I would not return to this section of the resort but would absolutely stay at the section that is newer and location is very good.

I am mostly disappointed that the resort is run by the Royal Resort chain in Cancun where i own four weeks of timeshare. Someone in their organization is letting things go in St. Martin.
This resort would never pass muster in Mexico.

Room Tip: Make sure rooms are assigned in new buildings only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo O, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Member:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us; your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the warm and attentive service provided by our staff. The location is truly something, isn't it? We also love to live and work here. :)

Having said that, I'm sorry to read about your accommodation experience. We are in the process of renovating the whole resort but as you can imagine it will take some time. During the course of this year we started work on the whole 89 units at the Bougainvillea Building; we expect to have them ready by November. During next year (2014) we will work on the whole 85 units at the Beaumontia Building and finally on 2015 we will be working on Flamboyant and Marina building, renovating the whole 88 units.

Next time you plan to exchange your week let us know in advance, so we can assign you one of our renovated units (based on availability).

Warm regards from your home in paradise,

Camilo Olea
Online Reputation Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Wonderful spot. I emailed a month before we came to ask for a room with a veiw of the ocean and I got one!! My husband and I have truly loved our vacation here. Lots to do with restaurants, bars, shops all around the area and within walking distance. The staff at this resort have been amazing and so wonderful to us. I am going to be writing a thankyou letter to one staff in particular who made our stay unforgettable. Awesome vacation!! Hope to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxymcrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Still here and lovn' it! When we booked our room here it was by the fluke of getting a deal through Jet Blue. Now that we know it's here, any time we need a room in St. Maarten, this is where we'll be! This placeis huge, and nicely spread out with pools and stores and food all over the place. The location is superb - much nicer than over in Phillipsburg. BUT, if you want that New Orleas type feel, then you'd probably be better off booking something over there. Me, I'll stick to this side, where the view from the room is ten times better!

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room anywhere in this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chase J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in the new building and our room was the penthouse over looking the simpson bay area it was a beauty. The area is filled with a ton of things to do and restaurants. if you just want to relax with having everything around and not wanting to rent a car the this resort is your best choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CastelA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £82 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Martin / St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing