We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a dump..”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I needed 1 night at a place to stay before my 2 week at my time share. Since I know this property is close to where I stay; I booked it at a great rate through Expedia for about $100 a night.

Well I should have known better…

Arriving at the main reception building; you are greeted by friendly staff in a new building with a beautiful view of the Simpson Bay. Below is a large pool - simply amazing.

However; my room; with little directions on how to get there (go up there; turn left; go up a hill; turn right; then another right) or something like that… was NOTHING like what I had hoped for.

It seems someplace - up a hill; make a few turns; etc - are some very old buildings. My room; with 1 small window which looked upon the generator and fuel tanks; was nasty.

Yes; it needed upgrading. But even so; it was a terrible room. The lay-out was so terrible; that you actually had to step over the end table to reach the bathroom.

The bathroom was dirty; in need to new caulking around the shower and sink. It was one of the worst rooms I have stayed in.

Had my flight not been late getting in; and I dinner reservations with friends; I would have demanded something better.

Thank goodness it was only for 1 night. I feel terrible for anyone who made this their vacation spot for any length of time.

Room Tip: If you can't stay in the new; main building - don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCRealtorJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for being very honest and straightforward with your comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the facilities and the service provided to you did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

Right now we are in a renovating process and we really hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    445
    218
    88
    53
See reviews for
313
547
58
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here 11/16 before our cruise and 11/23 after our cruise. The 1st night was to be a 2 bedroom suite and we were upgraded to a superior unit which included a pool table and it overlooked one of the many pools on site. The 2nd night stay had a minor snafu which had me walk in on a man still in bed (he had requested late checkout and the desk made a mistake). This room was to be a studio and; because of the inconvenience, we were upgraded to an ocean view one bedroom. We had lunch at Bon Appetit and dinner at L'Isola on site where the food and service were very good. The site is quite large and it does take a little walking to get around; but, not a big deal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Beaumontia building (1 bedroom ocean view) Allamanda building ( 2 bedroom suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdeanartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This resort is made up of about 10 separate buildings that rise above the bay on the leeward side of the island. We exchanged for a week here over Thanksgiving and hit the "jackpot" as the 2 bedroom suite we received in building F was dated but functional and was directly on the bay facing west. We were literally steps from the water in a protected cove that offered excellent swimming, sunning and even snorkeling from the beach. So if you want location and beach access, get a unit on the beach and you will enjoy the stay. We rented one additional night in building D which has been updated and was very well appointed but it was 200 yards down a steep road and across a main intersection from the water and the view was very limited. The resort has shopping, services, a casino, and different restaurants nearby. There is a good grocery store at the end of the road that meets the main road to PBurg if you need groceries and liquids.

Room Tip: Building F if you want to be on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norsekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It was my first visit to Sint Maarten. The studio i had rent was actually a one bedroom. Everything was furnished and brand new. You can opt to cook your own meals or dine out near by. Everything is within walking distance such as Bon Apetit and Alexander's Kitchen or Toppers. If you want cheaper breakfast, you can venture out to the main road. Depending on which building you stay, it can be a hike from the reception/beach to your room. The beaches are nice. There's free wifi in the lobby. I notice some guests need to purchase their own in-room wifi. My rental came with it for free.

The receptionists, concierge and general staff are very friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

As with many others who read the various reviews prior to book this resort, I was a little skeptical but decided to go with it. We've been here 2 days and thus far it's been great. We are staying November 30-December 7, 2013. Our room is in the villas room 112B which is the studio side of the 2 bedroom timeshare. It has a microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot, toaster oven, dishes, and silverware. A few items to note about the room:

-flat screen tv is small, maybe 32" but you do get cable, HBO, and Showtime
-ANY phone call you make is COSTLY. Even 1-800 and 1-866 numbers normally free in the U.S. Will cost you money
-check-in is long. For me over 30 minutes.
-they do NOT take Amex - only Visa and MC. This is also true for a lot of the places only the island.
-free WiFi in our room but I'm not sure if it's because of the timeshare. The signs in the lobby say that 1 week of WiFi is $35 for normal speed and $40 for the faster speed.
-for the villas, you do not get daily room cleaning. I think this is typical for most timeshares though.
-the maps for the island are terrible. Although the island is small and you can't get too lost, most of the roads do not have road name signs and the map only shows the main roads on the island.
-tiki huts or umbrellas along with the chairs are complimentary.

Overall I think this is a good resort worth checking out.

Room Tip: For the Villas the "A" units are the ones with full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenn-Pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very nice spot n Saint Martin Dutch Side.
The appartment i had rent was big and well furnished but a bit old fashioned.
There is no breakfast service and the resort is quite big so you need sometimes to call the Front Desk for help, if you need to go there with your luggages.
The beaches are nice, and there are some nice restaurants on a walking distance. Choose the Italian one, very good.
Wifi available in the rooms for free (it was my plan).
I do not recommend for business, as it is not really convenient if you have to move around.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in Marina 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

GREAT PLACE AND AWESOME TIME. THE RESORT IS IMMACULATE AND SUPER LOCATION TO GREAT RESTAURANTS AND THINGS TO DO. Very clean and staff are very helpful. November is a great time to go, not too hot and less crowds. The only disappointing thing is check-in, not enough staff to handle the crowd. The planes all seem to arrive at the same time so there are just too many people to handle at the small check-in given the size of the resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Bonnie,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We are very pleased that you found the Simpson Bay Resort & Marina to be such a great place for your vacation. When we read comments like yours, lift our spirits and we find going to work each day a rewarding experience.

Definitely we are going to work in the check in process in order to have everything at its best next time you visit us.

Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing