We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This resort is okay. We stayed in the Bougainvillea - NOT the villas - furthest away from everything. We had a room with a gorgeous view but it was very far away from the pool and beach and up a very steep hill and there was a lot of construction going on (we stayed in July of 2012). It was very quite though. The room was very spacious, clean and nice with a big balcony. We had a suite with a full kitchen which was very nice and convenient. Because our room was so far away we did not use any of the hotel amenities. There is a grocery store at the resort with great selection.

The resort doesn’t offer anything to do BUT there is a casino and it is very close to town and the movie theater. You can also book excursions through the resort. All though this resort wasn't stellar St. Marteen is AWESOME. The people there are very nice anywhere you go! You can walk around the streets at night with no issues. We walked from club to club and had a very good time. Many places offer 2 for 1 drinks and have live music and great DJs.

The island is small and I recommend getting a car so you can enjoy everything.

Sunset Beach is a must see - planes land right overhead it is amazing. They post a list of times that planes will be landing and taking off- look for the big planes.

Scuba diving here is wonderful!!

The French side is nice - they have a nude beach if you are brave enough to partake.

Just drive around the island and stop everywhere and enjoy - this place is very cool!

Room Tip: Stay in the villas for sure!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Karla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
There are newer reviews for Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Nice hotel. Kept very clean and grounds are spotless. Beach is a bit small for size of resort and service ranges from good to average. Checkin was frustrating as there was a long line of guests waiting to check in and the front desk took 20 minutes per guest answering questions that should have been answered by the entertainment desk. In addition, throughout our stay the front desk continually gave us conflicting information. As an example, we received three different answers for when check-out time was. Very odd.

Be wary of the car rental place. One of individuals, Ryan was very good and helpful - but when Ryan is not there other staff can try to take advantage of tourists by mysteriously suddenly raising the price. Be sure to stand your ground.

Lastly, they use a very pungent cleaner to clean the rooms each day which leaves an overwhelming chemical smell. Be sure to open windows for awhile after the room is cleaned.

Although this review does highlight some of the annoyances with this hotel, it was a pleasant place and we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSmiles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed one night here when flying from one Caribbean island to another. The price I got through booking engines was a good value. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the location is good: close to the beach and airport.
If you're looking for a dive-operator in St Martin, just walk to the beach and you're in good hands with Dive Adventures.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverPaivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here for 1 night after a late night arrival in SXM, it was an efficiency suite booked on expedia for a great price. The room was clean and the property large there is a small beach area with lots of smallish swimming pools, and a good breakfast. I read the negative reviews, and disagree. This is not a luxury property in the traditional sense of crystal chandeliers etc., but it is fine location and is a convenient stopover to and from St Maarten.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksmith142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

All in all this resort is doing its best to renovate while trying to tend to its clients needs. My wife and I did an Interval International exchange and stayed Saturday to Saturday, November 30 to December 7, 2013. We stayed at the Allamanda building. This building was renovated, with a new dining table and four chairs, new kitchen cabinetry and s/s appliances. It was a one bedroom with a new Murphy bed in the front room of this combination DR, Kitchen and LR. The bathroom was renovated with a tasteful designed and decorated walking in shower. There was a mixture of older furnishings dressers, sofa and occasional chairs but overall the unit was comfortable. We did the timeshare presentation for the $100 in dining coupons as the cost of dining is very expensive as it is throughout the Caribbean islands. During the presentation we were advised that the only building not renovated was Beaumontia, which was directly behind Allmanda. This resort is built on a hillside so unless you are in the VIllas, the Marina and the Flamboyant buildings which are located on the beach, its a walk down hill and back up the hill. Don't have too many two for one rum drink specials at happy hour. Let's face it, you are there for the beach, the water sports and the food, relax and enjoy yourselves. If you need to use the internet in your unit that bad, perhaps you should have stayed home, we used the hotels computer in the lobby to quickly check our email, without any problems, so we did not have to buy the internet services offered for a fee.

Room Tip: Utilize their checkout to clear you bill the evening before you leave, but be sure to check to make...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I needed 1 night at a place to stay before my 2 week at my time share. Since I know this property is close to where I stay; I booked it at a great rate through Expedia for about $100 a night.

Well I should have known better…

Arriving at the main reception building; you are greeted by friendly staff in a new building with a beautiful view of the Simpson Bay. Below is a large pool - simply amazing.

However; my room; with little directions on how to get there (go up there; turn left; go up a hill; turn right; then another right) or something like that… was NOTHING like what I had hoped for.

It seems someplace - up a hill; make a few turns; etc - are some very old buildings. My room; with 1 small window which looked upon the generator and fuel tanks; was nasty.

Yes; it needed upgrading. But even so; it was a terrible room. The lay-out was so terrible; that you actually had to step over the end table to reach the bathroom.

The bathroom was dirty; in need to new caulking around the shower and sink. It was one of the worst rooms I have stayed in.

Had my flight not been late getting in; and I dinner reservations with friends; I would have demanded something better.

Thank goodness it was only for 1 night. I feel terrible for anyone who made this their vacation spot for any length of time.

Room Tip: If you can't stay in the new; main building - don't stay here.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCRealtorJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for being very honest and straightforward with your comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the facilities and the service provided to you did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

Right now we are in a renovating process and we really hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here 11/16 before our cruise and 11/23 after our cruise. The 1st night was to be a 2 bedroom suite and we were upgraded to a superior unit which included a pool table and it overlooked one of the many pools on site. The 2nd night stay had a minor snafu which had me walk in on a man still in bed (he had requested late checkout and the desk made a mistake). This room was to be a studio and; because of the inconvenience, we were upgraded to an ocean view one bedroom. We had lunch at Bon Appetit and dinner at L'Isola on site where the food and service were very good. The site is quite large and it does take a little walking to get around; but, not a big deal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Beaumontia building (1 bedroom ocean view) Allamanda building ( 2 bedroom suite)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdeanartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £81 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Martin / St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing