We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area and beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area and beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Simpson bay is a great area in St Maarten, very close to the airport and only a 20 minutes drive from Philipsburg where you have all the entertainment and fun of the island.
The resort was very nice, proper, clean and the staff was very helpful. We got a beautiful room overlooking the bay, nice restaurants around, great gym facility, nice beach and very close to all activities like paddle boarding, snorkelling, jet sky etc.
We had a great time!

Room Tip: If you want to wake up with a beautiful and relaxing view, choose a pool/ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franci2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    417
    208
    83
    45
See reviews for
284
500
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

what a dump...put us in the furthest most "villa" overlooking chain link fence and a chicken farm (imagine roosters at 4 am and all day!)...out front was the resorts laundry facility, and a bombed out mini-van with flat tires...think Afghanistan. Half way thru we had to move, which blew an entire day for me to wait for a room to be ready. BTW...when we arrived, a/c didn't work, sliding first floor door wouldn't lock, and lamps didn't work. This place is too big for the staff to handle. Beach is dirty and crowded (too many other beautiful spots on the island so bother with theirs). Too many other smaller, nicer choices on this beautiful island...choose Pierre Caribe villas or Westin dawn Beach...we won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for being very honest and straightforward with your comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the facilities and the service provided to you did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

Right now we are in a renovating process and we really hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This resort is spectacular --great for diving, sailing & the area restaurants are outstanding! I stayed in a newly renovated 1 bedroom at the top of the resort & the view was spectacular, I had a pool outside my room & a great little French Bistro a short walk away where we ate breakfast every day served by the same waiter and table daily.

Room Tip: Make sure you get to the airport on the Dutch side & witness the 747 landing every Fri @ 11:00 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this Resort 4 times and are returning this April. The beach is nice, the beach bar and grills are delicious. Moti is the Best Bartender, very personable and pleasant. All restaurants on the Resort are great, but don't forget the restaurants in Simpson Bay. A short walk from the Resort. Topper's, The Boat House, Lee's and The Bavarian Germany restaurants are a few of our favorites.
We always try to stay in the same room in the Flamboyant section as it is Ocean Front, not view, but right on the Beach and has a wonderful view.. So looking forward to April.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the Flamboyant Section. Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in the main/newer building in one of their suites with a full kitchen. It was absolutely fantastic. I was on the second floor. I probably would have preferred staying on a higher floor. However the second floor had a very nice view of the Simpson Bay and the beautiful yachts. I could also see the pool at the main/reception bldg.

There are great restaurants in the area.

Gym is one of the better ones on the beach (better than the Westin)

There is still an opportunity for improved customer service and check-in.

I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stay in the main bldg which is the newest of the Simpson Bay facilities. I also suggest you stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omeyersiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in a newly renovated Bougainvillea - studio unit for a week. The room was very nice with minor problems: broken shower drain, closet door that always comes off its tracks, only one functioning outlet in kitchen, no working vent in bathroom. Pool view.

Maintenance: excellent The flush button on the toilet stopped working but they fixed it quickly.

House Keeping: poor (only once per week, Tue or Wed depending on arrival day)

Maid service was scheduled for wed but they did not arrive. We called desk and they assured us that they will come on Thurs. Since we were out of towels and toilet paper we asked if someone can bring some. No one showed up so we walked down the hill to the front desk to speak to someone in person. Someone showed up with towels but no toilet paper later that evening. We were out all day Thurs and when we returned at night the room was not cleaned. We again walked down the hill to talk to the front desk and they assured us that the room will be cleaned on Friday. On Friday they finally came to clean the room in the late afternoon after we called once again.

Bougainvillea pool
Pool water was kept clean but pool itself was in bad condition. Many missing tiles, old warped and painted composite decking around pool. Pool bar never open.

Marina pool - better condition but still needs updating.

Marina pool bar and beach bar - good prices and decent food, friendly staff.

Beach - nice view, can get very crowded. Arrive early to get newer beach lounges - old ones are awful. Because of the number of people on the beach it should be cleaned more frequently.

Not much is included for example:
Kayaks are included but
Snorkeling equipment - $10/day
cheap inflatable float - $3/hour

If you are trading from Royal Resorts in Cancun you will be disappointed with this section of the resort - try to get into the Villa Sections which is better. If I paid outright for the room and did not trade it would have been worth it. But the cost of the room is less than what I pay in maintenance in Cancun so it was not an equitable trade.

The Island - definitely worth the trip. Great food and beaches.

Room Tip: Stay at the villas section if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Ok not the best beach but what we use this for is a base. We go to mullet bay close orient and grand case and maho. All closer with thenee bridge
Reasonable and great staff. Gym is better than most resorts open at 6 am. 2nd time here can't wait to come back

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank filet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing