We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Simpson Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Kingston, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We loved Simpson Bay”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After reading the review by Linda C I have to say Ditto to everything she said. We had a marvelous view, magnificent sunsets and a renovated condo in the Bougainvillea apartment which was right above the largest pool and up the hill from the beach. We ate at most of the restaurants on the premises and they were excellent. People came from other parts of the island to eat at a few. We also took a sunset dinner cruise on a catamaran which was fun. I found that Simpson Bay's website really did not do justice to the property. They had some fun activities such as aquarobics and a great cocktail party. All in all I was most pleasantly surprised

Room Tip: Higher up buildings have magnificent views. We could not hear our neighbors at all except when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

Nothing makes us lift our spirits more than the comments from our beloved guests and members. Thank you very much for taking the time to share such kind words.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from the sunny St. Maarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    445
    218
    88
    53
See reviews for
314
547
58
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Simpson Bay is a great place to stay. We stayed in the Caladium building which was renovated. The apartment had a nice kitchen with stainless steel appliances and everything you could possibly need if you chose to cook. The bathroom was nice, but a little on the small side. Bedroom had a comfortable memory foam mattress, however, the pillows were a little uncomfortable. We had a beautiful view of the bay from our balcony of the mega yachts and the planes taking off and landing across the bay. The resort itself was great, everything was very clean. The beach is small but beautiful with a nice little beach bar, which was great for lunch and happy hour. Moti, the bartender, was very pleasant and was quick to greet all the guests. Everything from check in to check out was very smooth. We did not rent a car, but being the resort was so centrally located we never felt the need. There are quite a few restaurants in walking distance. We took the tour with the resort all over the island. It was great. We stopped at Orient Beach on the French side and had a lovely lunch overlooking the beach. Yes, the resort is hilly and you do get a workout if you are up the hill like we were, but it wasn't that bad. Also, you could always call for a shuttle, although I think it would be better if they used golf carts instead of vans. The casino is located right there in the complex, although technically not part of the complex, but feels like it is. We enjoyed the casino every night. If you do want to venture off the property, the cab drivers are very nice and helpful and really not expensive at all. Cab from airport to hotel was $12 minus tip. One other note, the internet is painfully slow. You can purchase faster internet if you want, but we didn't feel the need as we were not conducting any business from there. Also, you might want to look into a calling card before you go or check in town if you don't have international service on your phone, as all the machines in the complex did not work. We felt very safe in the resort, security all over the place. Everyone we encountered at the resort was very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay here again. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Makes sure you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaC1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a nice apartment in a massive complex, what we booked is not quite what we got, but it was ok. It did have a mosquito problem. The rooms are dark and do not represent the Caribbean. However the resort is truly American and caters for Americans, Europeans must be rare here and it shows. All food is geared towards ribs, burgers and fries..... And masses of it...
Service - hit and miss however we found this all over st maarten, the staff are not customer orientated and jobs are obviously plentiful, as some people were just rude and abrupt.
This is an ok place for a stop over, but a holiday resort? I think not, however upon reflection a Caribbean friend did say to me st maarten is a bit like visiting the Wild West, and this is how I best sum up this resort and island.

Room Tip: Try to get a newly refurbished room. They are smart but austere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscardogBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were there the first week in January and went out on a trip with Walkie an Ollie. You drive your individual 2 person boats and follow the leaders through the carribean waters to a snorkeling park area on the french side. The guys taking us were so helpful and nice! So fun driving your own boat ! The snorkeling itself was ok Def not like Turks and caicos but the adventure was great!!!!! Definitely reccomend it!. Thanks Walkie and Ollie for a great trip!!! Cheryl Long Island

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a very nice trip to St. Martin. The island itself have lush green mountains in the backdrop with smaller stretches of beaches. The resort was nice. We stayed in the B building that overlooks the ocean but was not Ocean front like I was told on the phone when I made reservations. This is a timeshare condo so we had a separate bedroom with a king-sized bed, full kitchen, and living room area. The deck overlooking the bay was wonderful. There were 3 pools within a 1 min walk to choose from and 2 more that we did not even visit. The pools were never crowed and we could always get a chair with an umbrella.
The ocean front was nice, but small with a nice little bar on the beach to watch the sunset.
Our room was on the side of the hill so my calves got a great work out.
We also enjoyed the French bistro about 2 blocks away-excellent food.
We were also walking distance of other Restaurants, too. We did not rent a car, but it seemed like everyone else did. Our cab driver Walter was excellent and recommended many things to do including a day trip to Anguilla on the ferry.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Simpson bay is a great area in St Maarten, very close to the airport and only a 20 minutes drive from Philipsburg where you have all the entertainment and fun of the island.
The resort was very nice, proper, clean and the staff was very helpful. We got a beautiful room overlooking the bay, nice restaurants around, great gym facility, nice beach and very close to all activities like paddle boarding, snorkelling, jet sky etc.
We had a great time!

Room Tip: If you want to wake up with a beautiful and relaxing view, choose a pool/ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franci2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

what a dump...put us in the furthest most "villa" overlooking chain link fence and a chicken farm (imagine roosters at 4 am and all day!)...out front was the resorts laundry facility, and a bombed out mini-van with flat tires...think Afghanistan. Half way thru we had to move, which blew an entire day for me to wait for a room to be ready. BTW...when we arrived, a/c didn't work, sliding first floor door wouldn't lock, and lamps didn't work. This place is too big for the staff to handle. Beach is dirty and crowded (too many other beautiful spots on the island so bother with theirs). Too many other smaller, nicer choices on this beautiful island...choose Pierre Caribe villas or Westin dawn Beach...we won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for being very honest and straightforward with your comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the facilities and the service provided to you did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

Right now we are in a renovating process and we really hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing