We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lots of amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Ontario, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, lots of amenities”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just returned from a week here as part of an RCI exchange. We were told at the check in desk that we were not entitled to a renovated room because of the RCI status but we were given a great two bedroom penthouse suite in the older Marina bldg. It was in need of updating but it was large with a great outdoor balcony overlooking the harbour. The beds and linen appeared to be new. The staff were generally friendly and helpful and left us alone after we declined the timeshare talk several times.
The resort in close to many good/great restaurants and bars but you will need a car to see the island. I suggest you rent if from the Thrifty location in the lobby. The cars are small and will not fit 4 people plus luggage for the trip to/from the airport and the taxis are inexpensive.
Must eat at: Bon Appetit (breakfast, pastries), The Stone (surprisingly good), Greenhouse, Buccaneer Bar (ribs are the best!), Pineapple Pete's (great fish), SkipJack's (grilled fish).
It is true that there is no parking in Philipsburg so take the bus from the resort (free) and get a taxi back. Very busy with the cruiseship patrons.
The beaches are beautiful but very crowded, especially the calmer Caribbean side. The Atlantic side is so windy that snorkeling was not possible. The snorkeling/swimming on the Caribbean side was better but not really a lot to see. Not a lot of live coral so only a few fish.
Mullet Beach is very busy on a Sunday (avoid) but the lunch at the beach bar is cheap and good.
Friar's Bay beach is hard to find but worth it for a quieter locale. The bar/restaurant here is nice but shockingly expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hijinx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    423
    209
    84
    47
See reviews for
288
511
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed 4 nights here in a full studio suite. Very big and spacious with a full kitchen with all the accessories even right down to placemats.

Check in was slow as we arrived very late and since it was busy the front desk gentleman forgot to mention that you need to return your towel card upon departure or else you would get charged. They actually wanted to go all the way back to the room (the buildings are very spread out) to get a piece of paper??? It was absurd as it wasn't a towel card like a other hotels where it looks like a room key or a laminated card, it was a piece of paper. We made the front desk just fill us out new ones.... ha!

My only complaint is that when housekeeping comes around in the morning to start mopping the outside balconies they move around the iron patio furniture and they drag it causing it basically to be your wake up call whether you like it or not as its such a horrible, loud sound. For a light sleeper like myself I didn't like that at all.

Room Tip: If you are ok with stairs choose a top floor as you can hear the footsteps above you very easily on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunandFunMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Bonus got to see the sailboats start off the Heineken Regatta, it was great surprise! This was timeshare trade from our Royal Resort in Mexico. We were not expecting it to be as nice but were so happy to get a great renovated studio in Bougainvillea building on first floor overlooking the pool. Large unit with full kitchen and patio were exactly what we needed. It was much roomier than a studio at our home resort. It took us a while to get used to the uphill climb and the cars driving through the resort. The resort shares shops and restaurants with nearby resorts, off busy street. Each section had their own pool but you could use any pool on site. Beach small and umbrellas were taken early morning. We did not rent a car or explore very much, but look forward to coming back to St Maarten again and getting out and about next time. We really enjoyed Bon Appetit restaurant, eating there almost everyday. Service was great and portions large enough to share. We did not expect to need cash for everything, since our Royal Resorts in Mexico use room key/charges, need cash here. We did hit the ATM machine a lot. Eat at L'Isola the first night and get free coupons for casino. Spent same money all week at the slots, great fun. We did take shopping trip to Phillipsburg and got a better perspective of where things are located for our next visit. Great relaxing week, escape from horrible weather in the US.

Room Tip: Definitely insist on a renovated room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillytransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel it self very nice. The pools and the beach lovely and very clean! However They Call this the Friendly Island hmmm.... The hotel staff and house keeping not friendly at all. If you avoid the lobby you will be fine ! The rudest person was the airport bar, Bartender. beware! So Just enjoy the lovely waters and Sunshine and it will be worth the trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60795Rose011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Booked the hotel via their site, got a excellent rate, the reservation team is excellent providing a good service when checking in. Clean room, nice kitchen, great balcony, i would definitively recommend this hotel to others, it's 10 minutes approx from the airport. Good price also . You can also walk to your favorite restaurants. Would definite recommend this to all tourist

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kreinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Perfect in every way. You will have a great time. Ray and Cheryl from East Longmeadow, Massachusetts. OK, they want more characrers. Very close to stores and restaurants. Front desk was very helpful and the water sports we booked were great. RC

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockingRay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Although this resort has changed hands over the years, and the maintenance fees have increased almost yearly, I still believe it was the best decision I made since I started to change from tourist to traveler. Regardless of the year to year changes, this resort continues to be one of the best on the island. In fact,the island is the star of the show but this resort is always in a state of improvement!
I own two weeks and have never been disappointed with the accommodations.
Although I own four time shares in Mexico, and the Caribbean, and all of them are very nice. this one is my favorite. It is, and and remains, a friendly island. You can walk the entire resort in short order, and will not require a golf cart to take youth and from the beach, pool, or your room.
You can spend most of your visit there without the need for a rental car. I do suggest that you do rent a car to explore the Dutch and French sides, and experience the airport fence, at least once!
In any case, there are bigger and more expensive resorts on the island, but this one is my favorite.
If you prefer a resort like the Grand Mayan in Mexico, or require a golf course ,this is not your "cup of tea". However, if you prefer a smaller, and less complex venue, this may be the place for you! I think it is closer to being on the island, than the all inclusive experience that some folks want to experience. With the possible exception of the sales staff, almost everyone who works there is a "local" and are always more than willing to suggest places to eat and visit, that are both authentic and less expensive that the typical "tourist" or "cruise ship" destinations.
All that to say, I doubt anyone would be disappointed, or left unsatisfied, unless they chose the "hotel" option. Owners, or their guests, are always treated almost like family!

Room Tip: If you have a choice, chose a room close to the building's elevator, and rent a car before you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithLauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing