We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Anguilla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed there for one night but wished it was the entire weekend. Our room over looked the pool and bay side. The view of the sunrise was as spectacular as the sunset. The people are friendly there's a nice bay side restaurant not too far from there. I loved it so much i want to go back there every year same time. If you've never stayed here your missing out!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    427
    209
    84
    47
See reviews for
290
516
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
232 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This property normally is used by timeshare exchangers. We like it because it is close to the airport, clean, close to restaurants and grocery stores. They are renovating a building at a time and those improvements are great. You don't really need a car because there is a shuttle boat at the pier that will take you to Phillipsburg or Marigot several times a week. The cost includes round trip and all the beer, water and soda you want to drink. There are so many wonderful restaurants on the property and in walking distance. If you like to gamble there is a casino on the property. You can even book a bus trip around the island to see the sights for little money. They stop in Marigot for shopping, perfume factory and on the beach for lunch. We love St. Maartin.

Room Tip: We get at least a one bedroom so we get a kitchen. We save money by making breakfast and lunch a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent a week here and loved it. It was our third trip to St. Maarten/Martin. The renovated units at Simpson Bay are terrific. Our unit was in the B building and overlooked a huge pool (of which there are six) and the ocean. The unit itself was extremely comfortable. Dark wood cabinets, stainless steel appliances, nice dining ware and cutlery. The bed was fantastic, as were the pillows. The living room has two single beds that fold out of the wall for additional guests. The TV's are flat screens and the terrace is huge. The gym is also enormous and well outfitted. Everyone is very nice as well. We also enjoyed the fact that you can walk to the supermarket in town. Previously we had stayed at places where we couldn't walk into town, so we felt a little cut off. The market on the property has plenty of essentials. I took a yoga class and a water aerobics class (the latter of which I have never done before, but just did it for kicks), and they were both fun. This resort seems to draw a lot of middle-aged, quiet, very nice people. We rented a reasonably priced car for two days to explore the island and eat dinner in Grand Cas, but there are buses from the resort to Grand Cas and Phillipsburg, so we didn't really need to. You can also take excursions from the property to snorkel, to St. Barts, etc.

Why didn't I give it five stars? There are a couple of things that we would have liked. 1) A bathtub; 2) A vent in the bathroom; 3) the beach towels are in need of upgrading; 4) the property really needs a hot tub; 5) the property could use one fancy restaurant.

But would we stay here again? Absolutely. We had a delightful week.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated units. The non-renovated ones look awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the week of the Heineken Regatta and couldn't have picked a more perfect spot! The proximity to everything in Simpson Bay and the regatta events made this resort all the more with while.

Go see Lazette at the front desk- she'll always greet you with a smile and actually wants to help. We (unknowingly) were going to have to switch rooms part way through our stay but she made a call and worked it out so we wouldn't be inconvenienced with moving around. Thanks Lazette!

Once you're settled, go see our buddy Metal (Me-tahl) at the pool bar at the Villas- he'll take good care of you while you're there. Happy hour is from 4-6 with buy one get one free drinks! Tell him Beth and Jon from Rhode Island say hi!

This resort has everything you need- restaurants, shops, beaches, pools and watersports/activities! Right down the hill are more shops, restaurants, bars and clubs- even a BK.

Make sure to take the "bus" to get around- if you don't mind a few stops along the way. It's no more than $2 per person- just pay attention to the signs in the windows stating which way their going. Greet them with a "good morning/afternoon" when boarding and just ask them to stop when you want to get out. Taxis are good to get somewhere directly- just make sure to ask how much for ALL of you BEFORE getting in.

This island is amazing but we highly recommend you stay on the Dutch side and just visit the French side. Get to Grand Case for some amazing French or Italian cuisine!!!! Philipsburg for shopping- make sure to wheel and deal with them. And Maho has the night life. Enjoy and Bon Chance!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed one night before our cruise traveling with two other couples. Check took over 40 minutes and they separated us in three buildings. They said there were no other rooms available but when one room had no hot water they were able to find another room.
Rooms themselves are run down they need to renovate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnet Valley, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I'll start with the good. We paid an upgrade for a 1 Bdrm. Deluxe renovated room in the B building, and the room itself was clean and beautiful. Great large balcony with gorgeous view (from the 5th floor, not as good on lower floors). Everything in the room was comfortable, and the location of the resort can't be beat. The pools were nice and not crowded, and I found the staff to be friendly.

Now the bad. The customer service is terrible - it's not that the staff is rude, they just don't care if they inconvenience you and that's a pretty big deal. At check-in, we were informed that we would have to pack up all of our stuff and move rooms mid-trip. We were only staying for 5 days!!! This is a big deal to me and a major inconvenience. If I had been informed of this at the time of booking, I NEVER would have booked here. We complained and complained and got nowhere. They just don't care and offer nothing for the inconvenience. So we could never completely unpack and relax knowing we were going to have to move it all in 2 days.

The first night, the toilets in the building stopped flushing. I eventually found out that this is not uncommon. We literally could not flush our toilets for like 12+ hours overnight. It was another major inconvenience and yet again, they didn't care or offer anything for it.

I didn't want to wait for the staff to move our stuff and eat up precious vacation time, so I asked them to drop off the new room key first thing in the morning so we could get the move overwith right away. They woke us up at 8am to give us the key and then informed us that we would have to wait until the room was clean around 11am to move into the room. So we had to wait anyway! Why bother waking us up at 8am with the key?! My fault for thinking they had common sense. Then the maid knocks on our door around 10am telling us we are supposed to be checked out! How can we be checked out if we don't have a room to move into?! So she went to go check while we waited and waited and packed and packed. Eventually, they decided to let us move into the new DIRTY room. Wonderful. So, we lug all our stuff down the elevator....no ramps so drag our heavy bags over curbs and up and down steps to get to the other elevator....and move our stuff to the DIRTY room on the 5th floor. Room is lovely, but we still can't unpack because the room is not clean, so we leave for breakfast, come back around noon to find she is still cleaning the room. We have to wait and wait while she finishes and then finally unpack. It was probably around 1pm by this point, so a half day completely wasted! Do they care? NO!

To top it off, we went to go take showers that evening around 7pm and guess what? NO WATER! A pipe had burst or something and they "were working on it". I have to say, they fixed it pretty quickly, but just add this to the list of another major inconvenience.

As much as I love the location and the room, it's not worth it for all the issues you have to deal with at this place. I've stayed at many other places on the island and never had to deal with this many issues. I will take my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My hubby and I had our honeymoon in St. Martin. This place is breathtaking!! The resort was enough for us, reasonable size, nice living room area/kitchen eat in area and separate bedroom w/nice sized closets/bathroom etc. The staff was amazing here as well/very accommodating. This island has everything, great food/pastries especially. The must sees are Orient Beach (nude beach), Philipsburg for shopping, and the best beach hands down was Dawn Beach!!! Beautiful sand and just gorgeous. This place is the closest I believe you can get to heaven. Oyster Pond has a beautiful nature reserve on the French side. It was very neat seeing all of the wild country type animals roaming (goats/horses etc) on the side of the road. I think when we stayed here it was called Pelican Resort Club. Also check out the fort area on the dutch side which is pretty neat. Island has very nice people here too. Definitely going back one day!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoyo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing