We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Renovated Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We ended up here by default as we had a problem at our original hotel. We got a room behind the main hotel up behind the casino, but still close enough to walk to beach, go for morning baguettes at the store or eat at the local restaurants. Bon appetite is down on corner-yummy and Toppers down at the Flamingo are some close ones.The room was lovely. It looked brand new. The kitchen was a full kitchen and fully equipped with anything you may need. Lots of towels in closets. Bed was super comfy and there was another one in main sitting area if needed.There was a small patio set outside with a peek a boo view of the water and sunsets. In front of the complex there is a large pool with a small swim up bar that was open most of the time. Happy hour daily and we saw a few events around that area but did not partake. The pool is separated into a shallow area and a laps/deeper area. Plenty of room for all, good for kids too! There is laundry facilities in this building as well. I think our room number was 5828? All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for a renovated room...I think some are not done yet. This was not in main hotel but still pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Four of us just got back from St. Maarten and I must say that this resort was excellent. From the room (2 bedroom villa) to the customer service, we couldn't have had a better time. Everything was so easy- the check in/check out, etc. And the location was IDEAL! You didn't even have to leave the resort if you didn't want to. There were a few restaurants and bars on site that were fantastic. Also, this resort is within walking distance to the small town of Simpson Bay. Although, we rented a car so we could see other parts of the island. WHEN I return to St. Maarten, I will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: If there are more than a couple of people in your group, I would definitely recommend getting a vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gretchen411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed there for one night but wished it was the entire weekend. Our room over looked the pool and bay side. The view of the sunrise was as spectacular as the sunset. The people are friendly there's a nice bay side restaurant not too far from there. I loved it so much i want to go back there every year same time. If you've never stayed here your missing out!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This property normally is used by timeshare exchangers. We like it because it is close to the airport, clean, close to restaurants and grocery stores. They are renovating a building at a time and those improvements are great. You don't really need a car because there is a shuttle boat at the pier that will take you to Phillipsburg or Marigot several times a week. The cost includes round trip and all the beer, water and soda you want to drink. There are so many wonderful restaurants on the property and in walking distance. If you like to gamble there is a casino on the property. You can even book a bus trip around the island to see the sights for little money. They stop in Marigot for shopping, perfume factory and on the beach for lunch. We love St. Maartin.

Room Tip: We get at least a one bedroom so we get a kitchen. We save money by making breakfast and lunch a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent a week here and loved it. It was our third trip to St. Maarten/Martin. The renovated units at Simpson Bay are terrific. Our unit was in the B building and overlooked a huge pool (of which there are six) and the ocean. The unit itself was extremely comfortable. Dark wood cabinets, stainless steel appliances, nice dining ware and cutlery. The bed was fantastic, as were the pillows. The living room has two single beds that fold out of the wall for additional guests. The TV's are flat screens and the terrace is huge. The gym is also enormous and well outfitted. Everyone is very nice as well. We also enjoyed the fact that you can walk to the supermarket in town. Previously we had stayed at places where we couldn't walk into town, so we felt a little cut off. The market on the property has plenty of essentials. I took a yoga class and a water aerobics class (the latter of which I have never done before, but just did it for kicks), and they were both fun. This resort seems to draw a lot of middle-aged, quiet, very nice people. We rented a reasonably priced car for two days to explore the island and eat dinner in Grand Cas, but there are buses from the resort to Grand Cas and Phillipsburg, so we didn't really need to. You can also take excursions from the property to snorkel, to St. Barts, etc.

Why didn't I give it five stars? There are a couple of things that we would have liked. 1) A bathtub; 2) A vent in the bathroom; 3) the beach towels are in need of upgrading; 4) the property really needs a hot tub; 5) the property could use one fancy restaurant.

But would we stay here again? Absolutely. We had a delightful week.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated units. The non-renovated ones look awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the week of the Heineken Regatta and couldn't have picked a more perfect spot! The proximity to everything in Simpson Bay and the regatta events made this resort all the more with while.

Go see Lazette at the front desk- she'll always greet you with a smile and actually wants to help. We (unknowingly) were going to have to switch rooms part way through our stay but she made a call and worked it out so we wouldn't be inconvenienced with moving around. Thanks Lazette!

Once you're settled, go see our buddy Metal (Me-tahl) at the pool bar at the Villas- he'll take good care of you while you're there. Happy hour is from 4-6 with buy one get one free drinks! Tell him Beth and Jon from Rhode Island say hi!

This resort has everything you need- restaurants, shops, beaches, pools and watersports/activities! Right down the hill are more shops, restaurants, bars and clubs- even a BK.

Make sure to take the "bus" to get around- if you don't mind a few stops along the way. It's no more than $2 per person- just pay attention to the signs in the windows stating which way their going. Greet them with a "good morning/afternoon" when boarding and just ask them to stop when you want to get out. Taxis are good to get somewhere directly- just make sure to ask how much for ALL of you BEFORE getting in.

This island is amazing but we highly recommend you stay on the Dutch side and just visit the French side. Get to Grand Case for some amazing French or Italian cuisine!!!! Philipsburg for shopping- make sure to wheel and deal with them. And Maho has the night life. Enjoy and Bon Chance!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed one night before our cruise traveling with two other couples. Check took over 40 minutes and they separated us in three buildings. They said there were no other rooms available but when one room had no hot water they were able to find another room.
Rooms themselves are run down they need to renovate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £82 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Martin / St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing