We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
NH
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great time!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Traded out our Aruba Timeshare for something different. We had a one bedroom facing the ocean right off the pool. The grounds were well maintained and while our unit had not been through the renovations, I had no complaints. Very convenient location, Plenty to walk to for food, entertainment. Very nice beach, resort food on the beech was great. Cannot wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    442
    214
    88
    51
See reviews for
306
538
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great location, clean, comfortable, very comfortable and point to stay.

I enjoyed the atmosphere, location , facilities as equipped and comfortable room , pools, gym, restaurates super market and the beach.

It was a wonderful experience. All about Pilipsburg , Marigot, Fort Louis , Anguilla , shops , craft markets, museums, landscapes and views expectaculares .
I have nothing bad to say , contrary to all off the charts awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Ruben Dario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was the second time we exchanged our time-share for a place in St. Martin. The last time was in 2006. Well the place has really improved since 2006. The whole new section wasn't even there yet, but it was still pretty nice. Now it's simply beautiful. They are still renovating the older units, and have a lot of work ahead of them, but we had an older unit and it was still very nice. We were on the second floor directly over the beach and facing out towards the ocean. In fourteen years of exchanging we've never had a view like that, absolutely fantastic. In addition to the nice accommodations, the people there could not do enough for us. Everyone was friendly and helpful and very professional. I will definitely try to exchange there again. If I had one complaint it would be all the stairs you have to climb, they were killers, especially when carrying suitcases of dive gear. They really need to work on getting more elevators installed in the older units.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KENNETH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just stayed for 1 week at the Simpson Bay Resort and Marina. The resort is location is simply superb. Close to the airport -several beaches, but also close to restaurants, casino's, stores, pharmacy etcetera. The rooms are spacious and above all the support and service was excellent. Any question was promptly answered and any request was properly catered to by the staff.

Also the different activities, such as the sunset sail tour, are closeby, organized well and certainly a must for the guest.

I really enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and the facilities available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have just returned from my stay at Simpson Bay Resort, and it was lovely! We called to book, which apparently was the difference between staying in one room for our whole trip or needing to switch midway through to accommodate time share travelers, and got free breakfast vouchers for our stay which was a nice touch. The room was beautiful- renovated, huge and very clean. We stayed in a two bedroom unit, and there was plenty of space for the four people who stayed there. The kitchen was also really nice and had brand new appliances. The only downside was some of the staff, especially at the restaurants, didn't really seem to care much about helping the guests- several times we were ignored for extended periods of time which was a bit frustrating (breakfast was at minimum an hour and twenty minute affair). Otherwise though, the resort was beautiful, location was great and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in the B building (renovated rooms!). CALL to book (online booking does not guarantee that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had 2 different room styles at this resort/hotel. My 2 girls stayed in a studio room, which was really a large 1 bedroom hotel room with full kitchen. My wife and I stayed in a 1 bedroom unit, that has the bedroom in a separate area from the main room and kitchen. Both units had brand new stainless steel appliances. The air conditioning was excellent. As this was a timeshare trade, we received only 1 day of maid service (middle of the week). They give you enough towels
to last the week. You can trade in your beach towels as often as you like. The resort has 7 pools and at least 2 or 3 of them, have swim up bars. It was never a problem getting a chair. There is a nice beach with all the toys you could ever want to rent. The resort has a number of restaurants, with very good food and even a convenience store with all that you would need for your unit (bread, pop, booze, etc). There is even a small, friendly casino on the resort. The really nice thing about the Simpson Bay Resort is the location. 15 minutes to Phillipsburg, 15 minutes to Marigot (using the brand new causeway). 10 minutes to Maho and about 7 minutes to the airport. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. We ate at some really good restaurants (Simpson Bay has some of the best restaurants on the island). We would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 'B' with newly renovated rooms. Highly recommend this building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank czand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hoping my experience was unique, unlucky ... AC did not work when we arrived Sunday evening, problem resolved Tuesday when they moved us next door to equally dingy, but cool, room. Health club cost an extra $10/day. Wifi weak. Outdoor pool was wonderful, marked with lap lanes, nice! Welcome party was great, lots of fun. Room was ground level, no view.

Room Tip: I understand that the place is in process of refurbishment. Ask for one that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richarrrrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing