We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonerful way to see the yachts in Simpson Lagoon”

Calypso Dinner Cruise
DEVON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonerful way to see the yachts in Simpson Lagoon”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Junior and Odie are the two young men that take you to Marigot for dinner by way of Simpson Lagoon. They took us up close to the beautiful yachts docked there, and provided us with alchoholic and non-alchoholic drinks on our way over and back from the marina in Marigot. We docked right in front of the restaurant and sat down at our tables. Before departing from the Simpson Bay Marina, we made our choice for appetizer, main course and dessert, so it wasn't necessary to order from the menu which can be time consuming. Everyone agreed that their choices were wonderful, and what fun forming new friendships with the other people on the boat.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paltinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good sights, good times, and decent food. Try it!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We went on this dinner cruise (well... really a cruise TO a dinner) on the recommendation of hotel staff, and because it looked like the only one with a halfway decent destination for a reasonable amount of money ($65pp). The 5PM departure time was perfect for catching some amazing views of the sunset and Simpson bay. Good selection of drinks on board, and they were not shy with refilling your cup. But unlike some other cruises I have taken, the staff is not pushy what so ever and there is no "dancing" or other ridiculous touristy things you would expect. Just a relaxing boat ride with some brief geographical notes of what we were looking at. We arrived at the restaurant around 6PM in Marigot (forgot the name of the restaurant) for our 3 course meal (which included 1 complimentary drink per person.) It wasn't the most amazing food you can find here by far... hence the 4 stars instead of 5... but it was pretty good! I had the mahi-mahi and my girlfriend had the steak special. Unfortunately the service was a little slow since they were trying to feed 20 people all at once in a very small restaurant, so we didn't have time to explore the town at all, but I don't really think that was the point of it all. We left the restaurant around 8PM for a nice evening ride back to Simpson bay and to our hotel. Overall, I would definitely recommend it for a nice night out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Well Worth It”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Pleasant boat ride with accomodating hosts to Marigot and a really good dinner. Free drinks on the boat were limited choice, but served quickly and cheerfully. It was well worth the total price of $65.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tim_and_Kathy-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akranes, Iceland
1 review
“Friendly crew, delicious dinner”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The tour was very good if write a review taking note of all the fun and we had but when the food comes into picture, we would say at one that it was wonderful! Calypso is all about the dinner it serves, delicious, delicious and delicious! The crew is very friendly, they kept smiling all the time. Definitely a recommend tour for everyone!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Saidaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Village, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cruise and dinner”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Enjoyable evening cruise - Junior and Obie were great hosts. The food in Marigot was great and was included in the price of the cruise. This is a must for couples that want a nice, quite romantic evening.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Dinner Cruise also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Calypso Dinner Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing