We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fooled twice”
Review of Alexanders Kitchen

Alexanders Kitchen
Ranked #61 of 112 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fooled twice”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There are two Alexander's restaurant locations- one above Bon Appetite and one next door to the Stone at the waterfront in Simpson Bay Resort. The Simpson Bay resort and Villas advertise weekly BBQ and pasta specials at the waterfront location, which is usually otherwise not open for dinner. The waterfront site is open for breakfast and lunch, and although we were told by the resort the location up the hill was open for dinner only, it may be open for all 3 mealtimes. Reading the other reviews, they must all be referring to the uphill location. We went to The waterfront site for the advertised pasta night, and it was the worst dining experience I have ever had on the Island. Many folks came and sat, but left without ordering. Our food was cold, the bread was day-old, the service was lackadaisical and unapologetic. I'm not sure why, but on another occasion we decided to see how their breakfast was, but after we sat for a while, I asked the server if she came to the table or should we order at the kitchen - she said she served the tables, but after waiting a while longer without being approached, we left.
If you wish to try this restaurant, stay away from the waterfront location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go for the food not necessarily the atmosphere.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff recommended this place. One of a few restaurants that offered oxtail stew on the menu and it did not disappoint. It tasted GREAT! Menu may be limited and felt like you were eating in someone's kitchen. Prices were reasonable and truly tasted like local homemade comfort food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I intended to eat at Bon Appetite, which is below Alexander's Kitchen, but by a stroke of luck we decided to head upstairs instead. And we were so glad that we did. We had grilled mahi and the bbq chicken & ribs dinner. Everything was wonderful!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ripkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had dinner here on our last night in Saint Maarten as it was very close to our resort and we had walked past it several times during the week. It was busy when we arrived but we enjoyed a drink at the bar while we waited and chatted with friendly bartender and pre-ordered our dinners. Our table came available after 30 minutes or so and we grabbed our drinks and sat down - dinner was served shortly thereafter. The food was very good, all 4 of us really enjoyed our choices and the price was very reasonable. All in all a very good spot to enjoy dinner outdoors on the patio.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT SERVICE, GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My visit to Alexanders kitchen was one of the highlights of our stay in St. Maarten. Warm and friendly staff. Great tasting authentic Caribbean food in a comfy upstairs patio with a view of the bay. We ate there every day. I couldn't get enough of the plantains. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexanders Kitchen also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Alexanders Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing