We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad Hotel”
Review of Simpson Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Simpson Bay Suites
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The facilities are definitely the largest you will find on the island for that price. Be aware that their website description is extremely subjective. Whomever made their webpage went a little crazy with the adjectives..."ultra modern grand" and "plenty of onsite amenities" are true by island standards, but do not mean the same for the typical business traveller. The rooms are a nice 1-room flat, full kitchen, large bathroom, and unbelievable closet storage. TV has the usual choice of channels, including HBO. Relatively clean room with newer furniture. That's the good part. The bad part? You need to remember that it is an island hotel. Hot water was not on order for my 2-day stay. WiFi means wireless, but not here. It means you can plug into a router for occasional service at dial-up speed. There is a small shopping complex across the street that is busy until late at night. Not too noisy until the morning delivery trucks arrive at 5. And for the American traveller, don't forget that smoking is still an acceptable pastime here, including indoors. The lobby staff were very nice, but expect to walk out of there smelling like a bar. Heavy, heavy smoke. Overall, if you need a place to lay down and take a quick (cold) shower in a safe, comfortable building, this is fine. If you are looking for a vacation place, pick a resort on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capt_paco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have been going to St Maarten for 15 years. This room we had was the overall very best. Just beautiful in and out. The view was breath taking. The worker were ok not as helpful as they should be but we have been there so many times that we reaaly didn't need help. I think they are working on being better!!!! Let's hope that they don't price them self out of the timeshare people. We LOVE St Marrten and hope to spend many more fun years vacation there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mem47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nesrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Gustavo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: No hay muchas diferencias para elegir. En el 1er piso está el parking por lo que sugiero pisos altos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LivioFA_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Statiamaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Simpson Bay
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Suites

Address: Elmanar Plaza 3D Billy Folly Road, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £112 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simpson Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Simpson Bay Suites where you can make one of our one, two, or three bedroom suites your home for a week or beyond! Simpson Bay Suites invites you to relax and unwind in your own personal suite whether you are a family relocating to the Caribbean, a business traveler, vacationer, or just making a new start. A hybrid between a typical hotel and an apartment, our suites are designed to be comfortably spacious, and equally affordable for any budget. Simpson Bay Suites is located between the island's two capitals, Marigot (French Side) and Philipsburg and is a short 4km (2.5mi) from the Princess Juliana International Airport, Saba Ferry, and the famous Maho Beach. Within a few minutes walking distance, you will find restaurants, water sports/activities, convenient stores, business center, commercial banking, breakfast cafés, the Yacht Club, and some of the top recommended night life in St. Maarten. Don't have a rental but want to get around? There are local pay buses nearby that can take you to either downtown on the Dutch or French Side. Our suites include many amenities. They feature a full sized kitchen, dining & living areas and include amenities such as kitchen appliances, stovetop oven, fridge, kitchenware, cable TV, hairdryer, safe, plus WiFi. Each suite has a large balcony face the front of the building. Simpson Bay Suites has the conveniences of a hotel, with all the comforts of home. We welcome you to make us your home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Simpson Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Suites St Martin / St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing