We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was the perfect place in paradise for our...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Upper Balcony Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Pool
Upper Balcony
Bedroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Palm Tree Garden
Garden
Travelers Choice Award 2015
Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
Trip advisor Award 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erica5158...
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This was the perfect place in paradise for our perfect honeymoon.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in December 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I'm so sorry it took me so long to write this review! Things have been very busy since our wedding. We traveled to St. Maarten for our honeymoon at the end of December in 2013. Not only did we fall in love with St. Maarten, but with this villa. It is quiet, serene and within walking distance from everything. The rooms are all exactly as pictured and this is a VERY safe place!!!! The property manager was fantastic and offered great recommendations and advice.

My biggest piece of advice would be to rent a car. I feel that it was and will be (when we visit again) absolutely necessary! You won't want to walk up the gigantic hill to get back to the villa after filling up on food and drinks.

You also need the car to go to all the beaches! Our absolute favorite beach was Mullet Bay. It was so beautiful. My husband and I have been to many places for vacation, and this beach was by far the best. I hated Orient because there was too much going on for me and it was very windy. The beach that is within walking distance from the villa was nice and quiet. We didn't go there again though, once we discovered Mullet.

YOU MUST go to Rosie's Snack bar on Mullet Bay. The hot dogs were huge and made a great lunch. The drinks were made with fresh fruit and were very strong (but not too strong).

IZI (pronounced 'easy') was such a great little Italian place. It was very reasonably priced. We really enjoyed every place we went except one Mexican place in Maho. It's on the second level and we sat there for 15 minutes without anyone waiting on us. That's when we decided to go to another restaurant.

The Serenity Spa provided an AMAZING couples massage. It was really wonderful and the owner was so sweet.

Thank you to Garo for answering all my touristy questions before our arrival. This villa is gorgeous and when....not if...we return to St. Martin, we will definitely be staying here!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, we fell in love with St. Maarten
Liked least: Orient Bay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulceayde...
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A stay we do recommend!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have enjoyed very much our stay at Blue Pelican Villas!
The villa we stayed at was confortable, spacious, very well equiped household, clean and on an extremely quite environment. Another important thing is that the Villas are very centrally placed, close to everything but still in a very quiet place. The perfect stay. We have got all necessary information through the owner Garo and at the spot of Linda the Manager. Very helpful both of them.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbmcmurt
Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place For a Honeymoon”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We loved everything about our stay at the Blue Pelican Villas. We stayed for eight nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our decision. We booked the property about nine months in advance. During that time, the owner, Garo, couldn't have been more helpful. Garo responded to all of my emails promptly and was helpful on a range of issues, including helping me find a good rental car company, and providing a rental cell phone during our stay on the island. The property manager, Ila, was wonderful during our stay. She met us at the property after we arrived from the airport, let us know about which local restaurants we should give a try, and answered each and every one of the many questions my wife and I had for her while we were there. The property itself was extremely well-maintained, modern, and comfortable, and the many pictures already taken by others and posted here are accurate. I hope my wife and I are able to come back to St. Maarten again soon, and if we do we'll be staying at the Blue Pelican Villas again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the comfortable living room
Liked least: We really wouldn't change anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL51
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This villa is awesome! It is very close to the airpot. Kimsha beach, restaurants and bars are within walking distance. The property itself is spotless and stocked with everything you will need for a relaxing, enjoyable stay. I recommend renting a car if you want to explore the French side and other beaches. We found Kimsha to be very nice. Ila, the property manager is very attentive and responds to all your needs. Our only complaint was that the WiFi was not working. We are told the owner will be fixing the problem net month (June).

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlToronto
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful Enclave”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

As someone who normally attends all inclusvie resorts, this was a move away from our normal travel patterns and I must say, given the option, the benefits of your own "place" as opposed to bedroom... was wonderful. This was a very nicely decorated and outfitted condo, with very comfortable living accomodations with a nice view of the sunset from the top balcony. Down side is, you are not right on the beach... but it is a mere 150 walk to it, it has a small wading pool, so if you want a swim up bar and somewhere do swim laps, it won't work. However, the unit is nicely outfitted with plastic wine glasses to enjoy a morning or sunset soak together. This area of the bay is fairly rocky and not the nicest for swimming, so we spent most of your time at other beaches. It is a great spot for a romantic midnight stroll under the moonlight though. We had a 1 bedroom unit which had a king sized bed, nice sized bedroom and walk in shower. The booking process was very convenient online and Garo was very helpful with any questions I had. There was someone there to meet us when we arrived to supplied us with the keys, a tour and instructions on how everything operated. Check out was simple... just leave the keys and exit... no hassle and no line ups to contend with.

We had our breakfasts on the patio next to the pool which is nicely landscaped and very private.It is a gated complex so there are few people around apart from the odd guest. The difference in not having to eat with 1500 other people every meal, sit around a pool crammed with hundreds and needing to function on a schedule made this by far one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. We would definitely choose this option of accomodation over the box hotels again. There is no phone, so if you need to make calls, I would by a local phone to use while there. The complex has wireless, but after trying for an hour to get it connected the first day, realized I could only get a strong enough signal on the balcony, which was fine for when we needed it.

If considering this, it is worth noting that you need a car. There are amenities within a short walking distance such as a small grocery store, piano bar, several nice restaurants, boutiques, and outdoor patio pubs, but if you want to visit the French side of the island your only option would be local bus or taxi. Beware of rental car scams and do your homework and car inspectons carefully. The location in Simpson's Bay is close to the airport and within 30 min of most other points on the island.

We were also very surprised at what it cost us for food. Restaurants are very reasonable on the Dutch side, you need to be careful on the French... check the menu prices first. Grocery store food is definitely more expensive than Canada, but with what you save on wine, it easily offsets the price difference. This is definitely a thumbs up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful quiet surroundings
Liked least: Beach was not swimmable in the immediate area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovenyc1...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“awesome condo in simpson bay”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This place is amazing. I just came back from a 5 day trip with my GF. At the time of booking I was a little reluctant because it was $50~ more expensive than another hotel in Simpson Bay but glad we chose this place. The development has a handful of condo's and it is very quiet. We had a loft style unit with full kitchen which was very spacious.

The location is ideal - an easy walk down to the main street where you can go to bars, restaurants or book an excursion.

The place is new and very clean, the apartment came with everything we needed from kitchen supplies to towels (shower & beach).

The property manager as well as the owner of the unit were responsive to emails or questions we had prior to and during our stay.

We rented a car and parking was easy on the property. If you are visiting St Maarten/St Martin I would definitely recommend renting a car if you want to see a lot of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and modern unit
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$109
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing