We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST STOP WHEN IN SXM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“A MUST STOP WHEN IN SXM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We found Barnacles two years ago looking for something new. This is the place to come to for a great Happy Hour and stay for dinner. Alberto and Calli will have you trying different things and everyone of them are great. Its our must stop, 3 times a week when in SXM. It's has also become our friends must stop.
Rudy and Anne
Wisconsin Dells, WI

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RLangSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hello sailor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

The first building on the left in Simpson bay heading from the airport towards Phillipsburgh. It's hidden on the waterfront behind Robbie's lottery store. Have never had a bad meal but, the atmosphere is relaxed and as others have noted you don't expect to get served you dinner in a hurry but it's worth waiting for. The red snapper is delicious but there is a large selection. The Rib night on Fridays is worth going to but it is very busy the and with a small staff be prepared to wait. Relax and get a drink from Miley at the bar, chat to the crowd, a lot of whom com from the sailboats parked in the Lagoon. Owners, Kalli and Alberto are great fun and go out of their way to please

Helpful?
Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
332 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Fresh fish Greek style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

On a dock behind a building....a bit of a challenge to find. The ambiance was island casual with a dose of "we just got off our boat for dinner." The menu is on a chalk board and the server greeted us warmly as we were contemplating whether we would stay for dinner....her welcome was sealed the deal and we were not disappointed. We wanted fish and had interesting choices as well as many Greek options that were appealing. The calamai appetizer was more french fries than calamari but both were delicious. The Mahi Mahi over salad was seasoned perfectly. A good meal prepared within view at the open kitchen. Fish pricing was not inexpensive given the super casual atmosphere ($18 for the entree).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nava1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK for drinks & appetizers, but not for Greek Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We visited Barnacles two weeks ago and had a few drinks and appetizers which were good - especially the calamari. But then we tried a couple of the Greek dishes and they were just awful. We overheard somebody say that the older Greek gentleman that used to cook there has retired which might explain things. We would stop in again for drinks, but not for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Sack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OH-IO
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good...not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Barnacles has a pleasant location behindGourmetMarche neaqr the airport curvfe. Youare on the lagoon and canh see the yachts. The placeis fun, the serversare fun, the food is good. However 40 minutes wait for a couple gyros is excdessive. Then they really weren't gyros (just strips of meat cookedon the grill and thrown on some pita and covered in tzatziki) but they were tasty. A greek salad ofonly tomatoes was a surprise as well. Good stop if y7ou have loads of time and are looking for a fun pub experience

Helpful?
Thank KMLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing