We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of 3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I had the lamb shank - really good. Partner had the chicken cordon bleu which was outstanding. It rained a bit while we were there so did not get to see the view as they put down the rain curtains. Friendly staff and competitive prices - Dinner for two with a glass of wine each was under $60.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles County, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

So..
food was really poor. Had a ($10) caesar salad that tasted very, very plain. Bread the worst I've had on St Maarten...everywhere has great bread but this place manages to mess that up, as hard as that seems.

Was getting a bad vibe so ordered a pasta dish. It has me "wishing" for Chef "boyardee"
Really, it's a nice little setting with the Lagoon front patio seating, and the decor someone spent a lot of time on. But, dude, the food....Blech.
Sorry, hate to be negative.
Most of my reviews of places are positive.
But, it was actually bad.
Also, there was a sax player with two "trainees" or something and I remarked during the meal (to the GREAT amusement of my dining companions) that the sounds reminded me of what used to emanate from the practice room back at my high school 20 years ago. LOL

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great food at good prices. The staff is friendly and the items on the menu are interesting!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Everrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

With so much competition and so many wonderful places with excellent service, it is a wonder how this place stays in business. The food is expensive and not even good. I had filet which was so tough I couldn't eat most of it (for $38.00 it only came with potatoes and a couple small pieces of veggies)The salad was extra and had no flavor at all. We looked around the place and the furniture was stained and looked dirty. The pictures on line and in ads are very deceiving. Worst of all the waitress acted like she could care less, even when I told her the meal was just barely ok she said "well ok" and walked away.
The view was nice and the escargot was very good. There are many many other wonderful, friendly and and clean restaurants to go to other than this one.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank packmybags88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“meh”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The food was mediocre, and made my stomach hurt, the restaurant is right next to a bad smelling body of water we kept smelling sewage.Yuck

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing