We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding ood and wonderful ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding ood and wonderful ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My Wife & I dined at the 3 Palms Restaurant in Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten on Saturday, May 19, 2012 to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary with our two good friends. We were seated outside overlooking the Lagoon opposite the twinkling lights of the hillside homes on the French side of the island. Music was provided by a talented local musician, who played light jazz on several instruments and even sang. Our group was able both to listen to the music and hold a conversation at the same time. The service was pleasant, timely, and delivered with a smile. We chose Escargot, as an appetizer: for the main dish we selected Red Snapper & Filet Mignon, our friends raved over their Cordon Blue Chicken. All of our food was cooked to our specification ,included a selection of vegetables, and was priced competitively. Desserts were 3 level Creme Brulee, Tiramasu, and Crepe Susette.
A wonderful evening, delightful food, incredible ambiance, and a memory to cherish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank onelifemanytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
258 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dining on the lagoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had dinner there twice this trip and it was very good both times. Live music both nights. Prices are moderate and meals are very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stopped at 3 Palms for dinner during a pub crawl. The fish was fabulous

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Main Course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was the main course portion of our pub crawl. I ordered the tilapia and my husband ordered the chicken. The portions were substantial and the food was excellent. We had not been here before and will return.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife & I spent an enjoyable evening here. We came for their 'Build your own burger night", which is one of their advertised specials. They give you a checklist from which you select such things as which meat (beef, mahi mahi, steak), food temperature (varying degrees of rare to well-done), and all sorts of toppings (I had goat cheese, onion, etc.) Some are standard at no extra charge, others are $1 -$3 extra.
The restaurant has been totally redone, it features a bar area, a 'living room' area with large viewing couches & widescreen tv, another indoor dining area, and the deck overlooking Simpson Bay lagoon.
We chose the lagoon; there was a musician playing latin & traditional tunes.
She was very good, she plaxed sax & sang vocals to such hits as "Let it BE", "Fly me to the Moon", "Girl from Impanema", etc. Her overall sound is very salsa-like and reminiscient of bossa nova. I have never heard "Let it Be" played with a Salsa beat like she did!
She made the evening for us.

The food was good, cooked to order, the burger came with fries, reasonably priced.
I gave it an average, because it was a burger, and it was up to my expectations, but it was, a burger. I will go back & try something else.
Their wine list ranges from $20 - high $30s.
Our server was very friendly & attentive, overall a very good experience!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing