We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Booking - Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Due to unforeseen circumstances we needed a two-night stop on St Maarten. As it was all last minute I managed to get a good deal and paid $300 for two nights in a two-bedroom suite: my kids had a queen bed each, a bathroom and small kitchenette. Us adults had a king size bed, a living room and excellently equipped kitchen. Huge bathroom and balcony too. Wonderful rooms, clean, crisp and very big. We stayed in unit 206A/B, with oceanfront view. 2nd floor which meant we had to keep the curtains closed to ensure privacy, as the pool was right below us. That again was handy as the kids had not far to walk and we could oversee them from our balcony. Yes, there is direct beach access but it is rocky. It is ok if all you want is a jump in the ocean (bay) but if you want to do some lying in the sun you will need to walk a few minutes to the sandy part of the beach. The staff is very nice, check-in was prompt and efficient. The location of The Villas is very convenient, there are several grocery stores close by, as are the restaurants and bars. Would stay here again. This hotel is an upgrade from the Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. They are linked allright, but The Villas is the more luxurious of the two, as far as I could tell. The Simpson Bay Resort & Marina appears to be getting completely different reviews as well.

Room Tip: Room 206A has king bed and large kitchen as well as living room. Room 206B has two queens and only k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank irishwife1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our first time in St.Maartin & we read reviews to choose our hotel-and I have to say, the Villas at Simpson Bay was a great choice. Renovated rooms, plenty of room in the one bedroom condos- with new appliances, great waterfront views, excellent service. Everyone was pleasant from check-in to check-out, the concierge was great, housekeeping was just fine. We rented a car from Ryan in the lobby; he couldn't have been nicer, and we found this location a great base to explore all beaches & restaurants on both sides of the island. There is a walkable beach with a nice lunch spot called Toppers, (although other beaches are prettier it was nice to walk to)and at night we drove to most restaurants -within 5-10 minutes on the Dutch Side, 20-30 minutes away on the French side. We went with longtime friends, and this was a great vacation - we were all very satisfied with everything about the Villas at Simpson Bay. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OreoTrumbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Villas at Simpson Bay in a beautiful 2 bedroom unit overlooking the ocean during the week of July 10 to celebrate my sisters birthday. My sister called ahead and asked the mgr Pedro if he could do something special to the room to suprise my sisters. We arrived and our unit was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers, balloons, candy, wine and a card. I have to say thanks Pedro and your wonderful staff for making my sisters birthday one she will always remember. Pedro took the time out of his busy schedule to walk us to our room and show us around and give us some information about different places. He always had a smile on his face when we saw him. And the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful as well. We feel that the Villas was the best spot to stay at because you can walk to the restaurants, bars, grocery store and Hollywood Casino. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the pool is nice. The beach is ok, some of the other beaches was much prettier but im not a beach person. I liked the burgers and ribs at the buccaneer which is in walking distance. The stone has great steak but service was slow and they really need to get more menus. Toppers doesnt serve full menu on nites they have shows, so not sure about there food but the show was great. We rented a car and drove to a couple of beaches, the french side and to the spa at the westin which is beautiful and has great service. I won money at Hollywood casino and The one in the westin so no complaints about the casinos, however they do open late in the day. This was our first time to St Maarten but it will not be our last. Thanks again to manager Pedro and your staff for treating us like family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank acaribbeangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a timeshare unit (2 bedroom penthouse that sleeps 6-8) at the Towers in Mullet Bay. Because of A/C problem, The Towers made arrangement to send us to the Villas at Simpson Bay. We were promised a 2-brm unit. by the Towers management. Upon my arrival at the Villas, the clerk told the manager that our 2-brm, unit had been given to somebody else. The manager simply told the clerk to give us a room at their "hotel" section. The unit we got was a "junior suite" with 2 beds. It was simply a standard hotel room, equipped w/ only 2 sets of basic utensils (folks, knives, spoons) and no cooking facility. Did they expect 4 of us to share utensils or take turns eating & drinking? The Towers paid them for a 2-brm unit, and they gave us a hotel rm instead. When the management cheats & lies, nothing else matters.

Room Tip: Don't trust the people at the Simpson Bay Resorts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank coneheadsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo O, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear coneheadsic,

I am truly sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to provide guests with outstanding service and it is always important for us to follow through when this isn't the case.

I tried contacting you to request more information about this but unfortunately never heard back. Please contact me directly by sending a message through our contact form; I personally review each submission and will be waiting to hear from you:

http://www.simpsonbayresort.com/contact-us.asp

Looking forward to your message, please receive my warmest regards from St. Maarten.

Sincerely,
Camilo Olea
Online Reputation Manager
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed just 1 night in Unit 403A (1 bedroom) while waiting for a catamaran cruise on June 21st. The unit was beautiful and very clean. We had an ocean-front view over Simpson Bay and could see the planes land and take off. There were far fewer planes than expected and the sound was not an issue.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eventqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Villas in May. The rooms/condos themselves are fine and the balconies are wonderful. I was a little displeased at the list of "rules" that greets you when you enter the condo, including the fact you will be charged $75.00 if they have to wash any dishes after you check out. Also, we were informed on arrival there would be NO housekeeping coming daily. That turned out not to be true as housekeeping was indeed there daily. That being said, it should also be noted that the "beautiful stretch of sand" that is mentioned in so many travel books is on the other side of Simpson Bay. The beach at this facility is small and crowded and does not provide for much shade. The pool is beautiful, but again, does not provide for much shade. The few umbrellas did not even shade one lounge chair. Also, there seemed to be very little air movement when we were there. There are some restaurants close by, but with the exception of some fast food restaurants, none of them had air conditioning. The one restaurant at the hotel was not open until evening. Yes, they are condos and there was no room service, nor could we find anyplace that would deliver.
If we stay here again, it will be as a stopover from Anguilla and would probably be for one night only.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor and the views were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mapetrozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My friend and I went on a last minute trip to St. Maarten, and we really enjoyed staying here. We got a great rate on Expedia for about $130 a night.
Our room looked out on the water and had a porch. You can swim in the pool (with a swim-up bar!) or in the ocean. Gorgeous views all around.
Close to several local restaurants and bars & not far from the airport - just a short, inexpensive cab ride. We liked Zee Best for breakfast & Bon Appetit for lunch. There's even a grocery store nearby with reasonably priced food and drinks. Also nice walking to other nearby beaches and resorts.
Room was clean and modern, service was great. It was mostly families or couples.
No complaints!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.3 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road No. 37A, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £96 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina, your island hideaway with spacious Caribbean villas for luxury living. The ocean views are incredible and the resort has pools, restaurants and a water sports center. More fine restaurants and stores are just a short walk away in Simpson Bay. This resort is the perfect base for exploring St. Maarten, an island with Caribbean, French and Dutch ambiance. A privileged waterfront setting, with unparalleled location on the shore of Simpson Bay, Enjoy the best views of the Caribbean from your elegant, fully furnished and equipped Caribbean villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina St Martin / St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing