We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is just nasty, gross and way over-priced!!”
Review of Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“This place is just nasty, gross and way over-priced!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Okay...honestly, I wasn't expecting a lot when I booked this place, as we just needed a place to lay our heads from our late flight into St. Martin, until the next day, when we were taking the ferry to Anguilla to our amazing resort, the Carimar Beach Club. But for $200 for the night, and based on the reviews, I expected clean, safe and comfortable. NONE of those was true here. The place, in a word, is about as clean and well-kept as a pay-by-the-hour joint...smelling of stale cigarettes and beer, with dirty tiles and bathrooms, broken furniture, and linens that I didn't think were changed (and insisted on being given clean linens to make up the beds myself). There were all sorts of seedy characters hanging out there (and I've been to St. Martin 3 times...I know the difference between the regular hard-working locals and a criminal element). No one, and I mean NO ONE who was employed there was over age 25...including the maid who I saw making up rooms the next day, with the clean linens thrown on the filthy floor in the disgusting hallway. If you care about cleanliness, safety and customer service, sleep in your car before you slep here. NEVER, EVER again!!

Room Tip: Do not ever stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    23
    13
    21
See reviews for
13
15
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I found myself unexpectedly homeless in Simpson Bay for 3 nights and the Travel Inn was just what I needed. I didn't check in until 7pm and all the $109 single rooms were taken so I rented a 2 queen room for $119, not outrageous, probably the cheapest thing in town. My room was on the street side of the building and that turned out to be very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, Sunday was much quieter.
The room was clean, the TV worked fine though there was no channel guide. Fridge and microwave were fine. The srtand out feature of the room was the bed and linens! Mattress, pillows and sheets were very good, as good as you would find at a DoubleTree! Towels and wash cloths were of a lower quality. AC worked well. Safe in closet. Internet was cable and free. Speed was adequate for everything except Netflix.

Room Tip: If a single queen size bed is adequate, get there early and reserve a single room on the back side t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

the room withaut window! derty sheet ! smoll basket full of trash under the shell !the price is very over the category !

Room Tip: NOOOO! take other hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filofilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Simpson Bay hotels

Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel is really nothing special. It looks better on the outside than on the inside. The rooms are kind of spartan and furniture looks a bit worn. But on the other side, the price is reasonable, it is close to the airport and everything worked. The beds are ok and internet (although cabled) worked fine. A convenient fact is the popular breakfast place (Vesna Taveerna & Bagel house) right downstairs connected to the lobby of the Inn. Prices for breakfast are very reasonable and the food is tasty. The service at the hotel was friendly. All in all I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

You are better off checking in/ out late of your awesome hotel or sleeping on the beach. This place reeks of cigarette smoke. We checked in and the toilet hadn't been flushed. I didn't sleep at all waiting fir the cockroaches to come play. This place was nasty. My barn is a better choice and you can stay there for free.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesseppi1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I'd never left an hotel before, and visited many hotels even in dark Afrika, but this has reached anything.
Poor rooms, very noizy, reception was watching television during half the night.
After trying a shower in the morning, which gives water everywhere, unless not on me, I noticed the whole bathroom was flooded.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveling-engineer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

They try their very best to make sure your happy and do a good job at it too !!! I left something behind in my room and they held it for me until I came back to St. Maarten !!! It is a very safe place to stay -- and in walking distance to restaurants , internet cafes , grocery stores , and the movie theatre / cinema !!! A very nice place to go where you don't have to worry about getting robbed or killed !!! Truly lives up to its name --- The Friendly Island !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleasurepleaser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Carl's Unique Inn
Carl's Unique Inn
#2 of 2 in Cole Bay
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel

Property: Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Airport Road 15, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
newly built 40-room hotel, 1 mile from st maarten airport, within walking distance to many restuarants, beaches, water sports and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Simpson Bay
Travel Inn Lodge
Travel Inn Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing