We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down Place to Avoid”
Review of Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Run Down Place to Avoid”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

If all you want is cheap, then this hotel is not too bad. We stayed 1 night. Location is good but that's the only good thing. We moved our room because the toilet leaked on the floor only to have the toilet leak in the room we moved to. The curtains were falling off the rod on the window in both rooms. There was a strong chemical/cleaner smell throughout the building. The first room smelled horribly of smoke but the front desk told us all rooms were non smoking in spite of finding an ash tray in the room. There is absolutely no security on the building. The door is wide open out of view of the front desk on the side of the building. In view of the recent tourist murders on St Martin, this was a concern. the paint on the walls and doors was dirty and marked up. All together, it was a very depressing place to stay and I was happy to leave asap the next day. Needless to say, never again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    23
    13
    21
See reviews for
13
15
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

A group of 13 of us were traveling to the island of Saba but got waylaid for 3 nights in St. Maarten due to what later became hurricane Raphael.We ended up at the Travel Inn Hotel. Half the group went more upscale after the first night; the rest of us stayed put. The staff was friendly except for one woman--we just tried to avoid dealing with her and waited for the friendly ones to return. Our fairly spacious room had a very comfortable king bed, AC, flat screen TV, refrigerator, desk, drawers, a couple of chairs, and tile floors. My husband and I both have bad backs that usually are worse after sleeping in hotels, but this bed actually made our backs feel better!

The bedroom was clean, but the bathroom could have used a good scrubbing. Ours had a corner shower with ok water pressure, but the door wouldn't stay closed. Others had bathtub/showers with zilch water pressure. After complaining to the management, our door still didn't close, but the water pressure increased quite a bit. A couple people moved to other rooms to get better water pressure and AC that actually worked. Eventually everyone was satisfied. We asked for a nonsmoking room, but ours had an ashtray in it, although the room didn't smell smokey. The room was quiet at night.

There was a restaurant attached to the hotel that served breakfast and lunch. The food was good and reasonably priced, although our last morning they were closed, so we went down to the Yacht Club where breakfast was a little more, but also a little better, especially the coffee.

Local phone calls were supposed to be $1.00/minute, but if we had the front desk dial, it was free. Since we were trying to coordinate taxis, flights, and ferries, we had to make quite a few calls. Maybe that was what the cranky lady didn't appreciate--she finally told us no more than 5 minutes, but we were never on the phone that long anyway.

The location was close to the airport and a few minutes from Philipsburg, either an expensive taxi ride or a $2.00 ride via the local van bus. One rainy day six of us took a tour around the island for something to do and had a great time with our Gitmo taxi driver--he was very entertaining.

Next time we're stranded in St. Martin, we'll probably stay at the Travel Inn Hotel again--upscale is nice, but saving money is also nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderwaterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

a very comfortable bed, nice size room,good shower,clean room excellent internet and quiet at night.will go back. convenient to restaurants and supermarket.room came with microwave & fridge thata were good size and clean.and i was able to check in early..maybe got lucky there.
ps..they ask for a $10 refundable key/card deposit..no problem.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back to avoid traffic noise at night ,plus you can watch your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Not the place to spend a holiday in, but perfect for 1-2 nights. By the average pricing on the island (which is very pricey!!) this is a very good alternative with rooms around $110.

Location: right in the middle of Simpson Bay, next to all the bars. 5 min by car from the airport and 10 min by foot to the beach.

Rooms; very basic, but have air-con, fridge, TV. The blankets had holes, but it was clean and the shower worked.

Services: free wifi in the lobby, downstairs is also a nice place for breakfast

Room Tip: take room to the back, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Okay...honestly, I wasn't expecting a lot when I booked this place, as we just needed a place to lay our heads from our late flight into St. Martin, until the next day, when we were taking the ferry to Anguilla to our amazing resort, the Carimar Beach Club. But for $200 for the night, and based on the reviews, I expected clean, safe and comfortable. NONE of those was true here. The place, in a word, is about as clean and well-kept as a pay-by-the-hour joint...smelling of stale cigarettes and beer, with dirty tiles and bathrooms, broken furniture, and linens that I didn't think were changed (and insisted on being given clean linens to make up the beds myself). There were all sorts of seedy characters hanging out there (and I've been to St. Martin 3 times...I know the difference between the regular hard-working locals and a criminal element). No one, and I mean NO ONE who was employed there was over age 25...including the maid who I saw making up rooms the next day, with the clean linens thrown on the filthy floor in the disgusting hallway. If you care about cleanliness, safety and customer service, sleep in your car before you slep here. NEVER, EVER again!!

Room Tip: Do not ever stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Simpson Bay hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I found myself unexpectedly homeless in Simpson Bay for 3 nights and the Travel Inn was just what I needed. I didn't check in until 7pm and all the $109 single rooms were taken so I rented a 2 queen room for $119, not outrageous, probably the cheapest thing in town. My room was on the street side of the building and that turned out to be very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, Sunday was much quieter.
The room was clean, the TV worked fine though there was no channel guide. Fridge and microwave were fine. The srtand out feature of the room was the bed and linens! Mattress, pillows and sheets were very good, as good as you would find at a DoubleTree! Towels and wash cloths were of a lower quality. AC worked well. Safe in closet. Internet was cable and free. Speed was adequate for everything except Netflix.

Room Tip: If a single queen size bed is adequate, get there early and reserve a single room on the back side t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

the room withaut window! derty sheet ! smoll basket full of trash under the shell !the price is very over the category !

Room Tip: NOOOO! take other hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filofilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Carl's Unique Inn
Carl's Unique Inn
#2 of 2 in Cole Bay
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel

Property: Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Airport Road 15, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
newly built 40-room hotel, 1 mile from st maarten airport, within walking distance to many restuarants, beaches, water sports and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Simpson Bay
Travel Inn Lodge
Travel Inn Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing