We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Ocean's Edge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Simpson Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean's Edge Condos
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Ocean's Edge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We first stayed at Oceans Edge in 2008 in a unit that faced the road behind the condo as well as the runway. While the view certainly lacked something, the unit more than made up for it: comfortable furnishings, well stocked kitchen, beach toys, towels, chairs, internet, phones, etc.
After vacationing in other locations, we decided to go back in 2011 and rent one of the beachfront units and stayed in 1D for 7 days. What can I say about the view? Waking up, walking into the living room, opening the drapes--gorgeous sand, beautiful turquoise water and the biggest yachts I had ever seen! The units were just as nice if not more so than the rear and we felt at home immediately. Gordon, the on-island manager was extremely helpful and provided lots of great information about Simpson Bay and the island in general. As soon as we got home, we booked for this past April. We stayed in the next door unit, 2B, for 10 days, sharing the view for a part of the time with gcp1977 (how were the cigars?) and hated having to leave. I'm not sure where the negative reviews are coming from but Oceans Edge now only owns and is responsible for the two lower beach front units-both of which are in immaculate shape and as of this season have a brand new deck to replace what was lost in Hurricane Luis. The location can't be beat with restaurants, bars, nightclubs all within a 5 -10 minute drive, a great little restaurant a short walk down the beach and the ocean literally just a few steps away. We'll be back next April!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tincansailor1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We just got home from our most recent trip to Oceans Edge. First visits were for a week at a time. Then it was 2 week visits and this past trip was a 3 weeker. The condo sits in the middle of Simpson Bay and has a beautiful view of the water. You can see sailboats, large yachts and cruise ships coming and going as well as nice view of neighboring islands (Saba + St. Eustacius) This year the owners added a wonderful deck for the 2 beachfront units and it was delightful to sit outside for morning coffee and eat outside under the stars at night. You step off the deck to white sand and easy access to the gentle waters of Simpson bay just steps away.
We stayed in Unit 1D and our friends stayed in the next door unit 2B. Each unit is unique to itself, but each is more than fully equiped with what most anyone could expect. Free internet access, free calls to the US, and a cell phone for use on the island are a very big plus for staying here. Our units were very clean when we arrived and we had cleaning service twice a week. (The cleaning gals were the best we have ever had and we travel to a lot of different islands) The property manager (Gordon) stopped by on on first day just to make sure everything was in order and even came by one night to make sure we knew where the candles were when there was a brief power outage on the island.
We would highly recommend Oceans Edge Beachfront Condos and are already planning a return trip in 2013.

Room Tip: As they cleary state on their website there is a difference between the beachfront units and the bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gcp1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I was just on the web site getting ready to book my next stay at Oceans Edge Condos when I decided I should write a review. We have stayed at Oceans Edge for the last 6 years. The condos are clean, well maintained and beach accessible. Each year we are pleasantly surprised by the new upgrades that have been made. In the last few years a few things that have been done are: granite countertops, new furniture, new deck, totally new tile bathrooms, We will continue to stay there, as it is right on the beach and close to everything. This place is awesome and anyone would not be disappointed. We call it our Island home. J&D

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Upon arrival it was a little deceiving but after about 30 seconds inside the condo...WOW. We rented a ground floor, beachfront unit and found it was everything that was described and more. The inside of the condo was modern, clean, and spacious. The kitchen was stocked with everything you needed to enjoy a romantic dinner on your own deck overlooking the sea. The beach was ours, the ocean was ours. This was by far, the best vacation we’ve ever had. We highly recommend Oceans Edge to couples of all ages wanting a private, romantic getaway. We will return!

Room Tip: The ground floor beachfront units are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachbunny101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Do yourself a favour and stay away! The photos I attach will say it all. There is nothing "upscale" about these shabby loooking Condos they are overrated and way overpriced. The glossy trip advisor reviews never show accurate photos, I will try to set the record straight with up-to-date photos and save someone the upset and disappointment when arriving at this run-down 8 unit block. Beware the naked neighbor (who apparently lives in a shack behind the Condos). Let the photos do the talking.....

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceansEdgeOwner, Manager at Ocean's Edge Condos, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

However we can not locate your name/date as staying with us in any condo during the years of 2010, 2011, or 2012. Plus there are no inside condo pictures on your review, which makes us believe you did not actually stay at Oceans Edge, but just took pictures of a building scheduled for maintenance in the near future.

We encourage reviews from past guests on TripAdvisor, as it is a super way for future guests to understand their choices here on Sint Maarten, as well as confirm our efforts of providing a quality vacation experience, directly on the beach, for a reasonable fee. TripAdvisor is a great tool for the traveling public to go by...so much so we proudly display their logo on our own website.

The building is scheduled to being painted this summer, as it is done every 36 months due to the property being directly on the beachfront. However the interiors of the beachfront condos are very upscale as the TripAdvisor pictures show, and past verified guests seem to enjoy them immensely. Have a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Just got home from our fouth year, renting at Ocean's Edge. Each year has been longer and next year we are going back for a month. We have stayed in both of the ocean front patio units and found them to be everything that was advertised, they are well maintained, equipped and managed well. The booking is easy and the on site manager, Gordon, is nice and helpful. They just added a 16 foot deck to the existing patio which essentially gives you just that more living space. The only reason I hesitate to write this review is because others will find it......but that is life on the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank aceslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at Ocean's Edge twice last year once in March 2011 for a week when we rented the patio unit and once in December for 10 days where we had the opportunity to try both of the beachfront units. We new when renting the patio unit that it was a budget unit but everything we needed was there. The room was nice and just as we expected from seeing the pictures. We wanted a beach view the next time and having stayed at Beachside Villas and Mary's Boon (which also has budget basement units) we new the price and value were at Ocean's Edge.
Since our trip in March the beach unit had an extended deck added which gives more room for the lounges and sunning. As mentioned we tried both units because the first unit while very nicely appointed had a moth ball smell that would not go away. Gordon switched us over to the other unit and was going to have the curtains and linens dry cleaned to get the smell out of the first unit. Being on the beach was much nicer with the spectacular views and fresh breezes.
All of the units have two air conditioners with one key so you switch between units living room to bedroom. On the beachfront side we found that we did not need the living room air as the breeze was sufficient.
Everything we needed was provided and both units had a good selection of spices and condiments.
Outside we had the lounges and also two Tommy Bahama folding chairs and a beach umbrella to use if you visit another beach.
One of the beachfront units had a pull out couch in the living area which might be useful with a young child but I would not recomended this for more than a couple.
Simpson Bay Beach is in my opinion the best due to limited public access. We did have a problem the day we arrived with people parked in the private lot but that was the only time.
Karakter is just down the beach for a great lunch or supper as well as Mary's Boon restaurant.

We will probably be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candu_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Turquoise Shell Inn
Turquoise Shell Inn
#6 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean's Edge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean's Edge Condos

Property: Ocean's Edge Condos
Address: 111 Simpson Bay Road | Simpson Bay Beach, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceans Edge Condos sit directly on Simpson Bay Beach. Each condo is equivalent to a suite in a major US hotel, only about 33% less money! Each condo comes with free DSL internet connection, its own PC, VOIP phone with free calls back to USA and Canada. Read our reviews, and try us! You will become a believer as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean`s Edge Condos Hotel Simpson Bay
Ocean's Edge Condos St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing