We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palms is quite the experence!!”

The Palms Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 115 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our little Caribbean style restaurant has so much to offer: Laid back ambiance, great service, but the most important, delicious home cooked meals that will make you come back for more again and again. Like us on Facebook and be part of our community!
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Palms is quite the experence!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I first to St. Marten and our first dinner of the trip was at The Palms. We had the lovely welcome of our server Jo, and the owner Greg as soon as we entered the the place.
We went on a Friday night and got to there an hour before the karaoke started. I had the pleasure of enjoying the drunken ribs, which I have learned is one of Greg's family homemade recipe, and my husband had the steak. Both meals were very well portioned and delicious, and drinks kept flowing due to Jo's attentive service.
I had an amazing night! Too meeting locals introduced by Greg himself, (not only does this passionate owner for food and people take the time to get to know the people visiting his restaurant, he makes every visitor feel like a friend) enjoying great home made food, a special selection of spirits, beers, wines and champagne.
It doesn't end after dinner on a weekend.. you may also end up singing karaoke!!, even if it's your first time, like it was for myself. Hosted by Greg himself, he will make you feel welcome and comfortable and the next thing you know it's 3am and your still having a ball!!

We found the palms to be our go to spot our whole visit. We learned that Greg the owner is from Trinidad as well as his parents who have a hand in the restaurant. All the food is fresh from local markets and homemade, including the desserts, homemade by mamma herself, a must have!
I really enjoyed my whole experience at the palms, and when I re visit St. Maarten I will definitely make the palms another visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    92
    23
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service not to be missed in simpson bay. By far my best dining experience in St Maarten. Greg the owner is very personable, as is Jo the bartender and server. Can't say enough good words about the place. As a matter of fact we went back a number of times this holiday!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great Food and Even Better Service”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our first time travelling to St. Maarten however we were with our parents, who have been here 3 times and highly recommended this restaurant. We went on the first night of our trip and were not disappointed. The jerk shrimp wrap, drunken ribs, and beef curry were fantastic, and we made sure to go back one more time before we left. Greg, the owner is so friendly and clearly has a deep passion for food. His server, Jo, was also warm, friendly and took great care of us. If you are looking for delicious carribean food and great service, look no further than the Palms!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love The Palms”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a must go to...some of the best tasting food on the island! First time having goat curry...really tasty and tender meat..and if you don't try mama carrot cake you may well miss the best dessert too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Simply Splendid!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

By chance we stumbled upon The Palms Restaurant in St. Maarten and it proved to be the best restaurant of our 11 day vacation! Originally we were going to dine at another restaurant, but the music was extremely loud, so we headed up the street and walked up to The Palms to check out their menu. We were greeted by the owner's mother (who is also the best pastry chef ever) and then by the owner himself, Greg. They offered up the tantalizing specials of the day and we decided to stay! From the appetizers to the desserts, everything was fresh and homemade. We loved the food so much, we brought back our family and friends a few nights later. The meal was superb and Jo, our waitress, was pleasant, witty, and most efficient. My family has been coming to St. Maarten since 1993 and this truly was our best dining experience on the island. Fabulous food served by fabulous people! And you must have a piece of carrot cake, even if you are stuffed! It's well worth it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palms Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Palms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing