We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time even with cloudy water”

Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.00*
and up
St Maarten Snorkeling and Discovery Tour
Ranked #6 of 39 Tours in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and experience the island of Sint Maarten and St Martin by motor boat. Try either (or both!) of our two regular daily tours of the island or charter a boat for that custom, private experience. For the adventurers, we host a daily 6 hour tour of the premier snorkeling and beach spots on the island. For a more laid back experinece, we host an evening Sunset Champagne Cruise of one of the Caribbean's largest inland lagoons; followed by the unique, amazing experience of watching the sun slowly sink into the horizon over the open sea. On any of our organized tours we provide an open bar with food and snacks crafted with care and attention. We use only quality ingredients to ensure your day is not only good for the eyes but good on the taste buds as well. Our professional, knowledgeable captains and crew are always on hand to ensure you enjoy your trip. On snorkeling tours our crew are actually in the water with you to guide and instruct you on the abundant and diverse wildlife you'll encounter around the island. You will never hear a whistle, bell or horn telling you to get back on the boat. For the more free-willed explorers, our boats are available for private charters if you would like to customize your tour to take in a few of the lesser known highlights or visit that hidden gem that you heard from that guy back at your hotel (tides and weather permitting).
1 review
“Good time even with cloudy water”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The water was pretty cloudy so we didn't get to see much but other then that it was great. The special treat at happy bay was delicious. (Homemade cake)

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaCoconutReef, Owner at Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Fingers crossed for clearer waters next time. Really glad you still enjoyed the day and the cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    20
    4
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Best snorkeling , best captain, very relaxed day!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Alex was right on time to pick us up this morning in his van. We got to the boat and had time to order a delicious chocolate pastry before we left. Beautiful boat ride out to snorkel to two seperate areas. Saw incredible reef's and fish! Then we were served drinks , melon, and the most delious cake, his wife baked. Very personal service. We will be back! Next time for the full day trip. Thanks ! Our 25th anniversary celebration. Sending you some video and pics Alex!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TinaPSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaCoconutReef, Owner at Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed your wedding anniversary trip with us. Thanks for the fantastic review and hope to see you back on island again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Antony picked us up at the condo. We boarded with 7 others for a fun day of snorkeling and swimming with sea turtles. In Anse Marcel we watched the iguanas swimming and haning out in the trees. We had such a fun group on the trip! Open bar, melon, lunch and Karla's homemade banana coconut cake kept us satisfied. We were never rushed, plenty of time to enjoy each new experience. There was a very short stretch of rougher water where we got wet and laughed and laughed. Alex the captain made sure everyone was comfortable and having a good time. Definitely worth the $89. I can't say enough about Alex. After saying our goodbyes to our new friends, Antony took us back to the condo. We will definitely take this trip again when we return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaCoconutReef, Owner at Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. So glad that you enjoyed the tour with us and look forward to seeing you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Awesome !! Quality, Service, Locations, Price - Best Deal !!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had the best time ever. The combination of 3 snorkeling spots, Anse Marcel, Pinel island, and swimming with the turtles and enjoying the beautiful beach of Tintamarre - all in one trip for $89 including a superb lunch from the local French bakery La Sucriere and an open bar (sodas, beer, rum punch). Unbeatable. Highly recommend. Superb value for the price. And the best of all is the outstanding service, hospitality and fun delivered by the family who own/operate the business and Captain Alex !! Thanks again for a great day. My parents and 4 year old really enjoyed their first time ever on the ocean and their first time snorkeling. We hope to be back some day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankTibackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaCoconutReef, Owner at Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us such a great review. We're so glad that your family enjoyed the day and if you make it back to St Maarten again be sure to look us up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD / DC Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stellar Day!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Finally, an operation that isn't hyper scheduled and timed to the minute. It was a totally chill day. Antony picked us up at our condo in their beater van (7:45 a.m. Ugh) and took us to the staging area/dock at La Sucriere. If you didn't have breakfast before you left, you can pick up something tasty there.

Captain Alec was super knowledgeable and made sure everyone was comfortable. I would say that it is a smaller size boat, and feels as if you're out for the day with friends. We had 3 couples and I personally would not have wanted much more than that on board, otherwise you run into seating and crowding issues. Be prepared for potential larger waves and swells as you approach Tintamarre. One lady was particularly uncomfortable with the ride, but for me it was awesome. Some people may not be as comfortable or experienced on the water.
You will get wet during this part of the ride, but you're snorkeling anyway right?

Snorkeling time at Creole Rock, and then with the SEA TURTLES!!! at Tintamarre. Later, on to Pinel. Add in some lovely sightseeing along the shoreline of Grand Case and the iguanas of Anse Marcel.

At each snorkeling or beach stop it was leisurely. None of the "you have 20 minutes here and then get back to the boat" stuff. You went at your own pace. If everyone was done snorkeling, and you all wanted to pull up to the beach, the Captain did so.

I notice that they've taken feedback to heart, and have added snacks. Fresh melon after the first snorkel spot, then chocolate croissants (yum!) along Grand Case, and finally baguette sandwiches. Water, beer, and the ubiquitous rum punch flow freely.
Alas, we missed Karla's famous coconut or banana cake, but she did make a pineapple upside down cake. Delish.

Go on this trip if you want a new experience. You are treated well, and away from the rat race.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachKittenAXA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaCoconutReef, Owner at Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for the great review. The "beater van" now has huge flowers and smiley faces all over the side of it and we have more plans to funk it up even further. If you make it back to St Maarten and book in with us again I'll make sure the banana and coconut cake is on the menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing