We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 27 May 2013

These are really good clean apartments, just behind a rather nice beach and close to bars, restaurants, coffee shops and 7-11s. Try walking along the beach at sunset watching planes take off and land and great birds diving for fish - there's a really cool bar near the end too.

The apartments are a good size with a separate lounge, bedroom & shower & a fully fitted kitchen area with fridge & cooker so you can cook / make picnics. There is a good premium cable TV package - got BBC America which gets my vote.

Carter & the staff were very friendly & helpful - arranged great value car hire for us (US$25 a day) and lent us coolbags, beachmats and snorkels/masks.

We had a great time on St Maarten - in large part thanks to the help from the team at Turquoise Inn. I would recommend a car to get round the small island - it means you can go to the French side and explore lots of beaches, which really are stunning. Another must is to go to Maho beach and watch the planes coming in - it feels like you could reach up and touch them they are that close. And buy baguettes - really crisp and French.

Only a few minor drawbacks - wifi is patchy - but free and you can get a signal if you wander round the car park a bit. There was a lot of loud music on Friday & Saturday night, but earplugs dealt with that, and an air conditioner on an adjacent building could be a bit loud during the day - but zipping off to the beach dealt with that.

I would recommend the nearby Byblos lebanese restaurant - excellent food, good wine & gentle live music.

Overall great value for money, your own space to relax in, helpful and friendly people, a beautiful and relaxing island. If that's not a description of Excellent, then I don't know what is.

Room Tip: I'd try for an apartment closer to the main buiding / beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here from 10th til 16th May 13. Carter is a really genuine and helpful guy, even gave me some aftersun he had for my sunburn! Location really couldn't be better, some reviews mention excessive noise but if I'm honest, I didn't notice it once.
Rooms are very clean and adequate, maid service every day except Sunday.
Pool is small to be fair but it does the job and there are a few sunbeds and umbrellas.
Plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance, and if you fancy a big sandwich, with hot or cold fillings I would recommend "Little Jerusalem', about 1 minute from the hotel, beats Subway any day!
I went for the aviation really, and two days running I walked to and from the Sunset Beach Bar on Maho Beach, took me 40-45 minutes, but very frequent busses will do the same job for about $1.50.
So would I recommend the Turquoise Shell Inn?
Yeah absolutely, I'd happily return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul28671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I stayed there for one night, first week in May. The place was clean, with a kitchen, very close to all the restaurants and the airport. The owner was very friendly. The beach was right out back. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyrone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you are seeking a quiet, clean and accessable stay, look no further, this littel gem is just tucked away from all the action. Nestled between two pristine turquoise waterways and just a stone thorws from all the excitement and fun of Dutch St. Maartin.Walk out your back door and you are on beautiful Simpson Bay or relax by the tropical setting of a cool size pool and more. Very European and unsuspectiing this Inn is the place to relax and still get to were things are happening in a short stroll. Carter is the ideal host always available to help get you where you need to be. We stayed a long while and look forward to a speedy return. We had access to more then one room and they were all comfy, clean and much like home. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: Best Internet in town- you dont need a car-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunGOD888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at this inn the week of Easter. It is just 7-10 min from airport but planes only fly from 8 am to 9-10 pm. We were not bothered by airplane noise at all. The place is small and somewhat outdated. However, it is very clean, has kitchen and provides maid service. AC is only in the bedroom. Keep the bedroom door open and put the fan they provide in the doorway to blow cold air to the living-room area.The location is right on the Simpson Bay strip with lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. In the back of the inn there is Simpson Bay beach. It is clean with lots of seashells. Water was calm in daytime, but some waves after 3 pm. There is no shade or chairs. You will need an umbrella but chairs can be provided by the inn. They had some to borrow. Unfortunately that Friday and Saturday were big party nights across the street at the bar. The music was blasting through the speakers from 11:30 pm until 3:30 am. 2 NIGHTS IN A ROW!!! It was horrible. We could not sleep for 2 nights. And we had a child with us. Maybe it was only during holiday weekend. But you've been warned. The inn has terrible WiFi service and connection. You have to sit outside by the pool to get connection. Not all the rooms have the phone. You have to go to main office to use their phone. There is an international charge to call from Dutch to French side. The pool is basic. Lots of mosquitoes at night, especially by the pool. The do have shaded parking which was great. Overall, the location is busy, beach is acceptable, inn is clean and service is good. I have to mention Norman (I think). When our ride to the airport was late, he stopped what he was doing and drove us, refused to accept any tip. Great guy!

Room Tip: not all rooms have phone. No good view from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alemargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

The issue of noise has been mentioned in other reviews. It CAN be a problem on the weekend nights. Especially for those that are light sleepers. The inn is in the heart of Simpson Bay which is very convenient for walking to stores, bars, and restaurants. but the loud music is a problem. Several businessse and residents in the area have contacted authorities and ask for help. We have been assured MANY times that the noise ordinances would be enforced. Unfortunately, the police and government here in St Maarten are not always effective in this area. We continue to request the help of authorities and there may actually be a court case started against the loud music producers. But for now, I can only warn guests and apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

There is a karaoke bar next door to Turquoise Inn & the very loud music lasted tlill 3 am & then there was some sort of beeping right outside our window....so it was a sleepless night. There were mosquito nets in the room....not sure why?

Room Tip: Atrium was better...but staff at front desk was rude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Smc324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week this month and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We loved the separate bedroom as I'm an early riser and my husband is not. The kitchen was great - we loved being able to cook breakfast and keep all our leftovers in the fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. The beach was steps away from the room - the beach wasn't visible from the hotel room but we were so close that it didn't matter. We loved the beach by the hotel - it was basically our own - as their weren't very many others using it. The location of the hotel was perfect as many great restaurants/grocery stores/activities were nearby. We would definitley come back and stay again.
Carter was a great host and Cornelia took great care of the room.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
3.5 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £120 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing