We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turquoise Shell Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
158
65
10
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
65
10
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst maartenclose to the airportbeach towelsunittimeshare
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Simple place, just right. The owner is great, accommodating and friendly. Location is central in Simpson Bay. Beach is right across the street. Would definitely stay here again next time we have a few days on St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crwindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights pre-cruise and 1 night post cruise. We were within walking distance of restaurants, some shopping and the beach. The rooms we occupied were very accommodating and we had all we needed for our short stay. We also were able to enjoy the pool. Since we had to be off the sailboat (Island Windjammers) at 10:00, Carter allowed us in our room as soon as we arrived from the port and we were to stay until 12:30 this next morning since our flight was late afternoon. Good price and well worth it. Can be a bit noisy from loud music somewhere down the street but, the air conditioner drowns out most.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The reviews here were very helpful and that is why we chose this place to stay. We knew exactly what to expect, and it was right on. Great location, walking distance to all the restaurants. Short cab ride from the airport. Carter was extremely helpful in all aspects. He called when I made the reservation to confirm our arrival time and to give directions. He also gave great recommendations on places to eat and how to use the bus system. His guidance made all the difference. The room was perfect! Nothing fancy but a comfortable place to lay our head after a full day of exploring. Rooms were clean, homey and we had all the basic necessities. It was like crashing at a buddies apartment for the weekend. We would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to add your input for the Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the vacations in st maarten and st barth. In st maarten had the chance to stay in this very nice inn with an excelent customer service. Thanks Carter and Cornelia to provide us this great experience! About the accomodatios they are very clean, with a good space and a very well equiped kitchen - for us this is very important as we like to cook!! Fair prices and good suggestions on how to enjoy the island.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jose Luiz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

They have a variety of rooms and I was going with two friends so originally picked a room with two doubles, then was called later saying my reservation did not go through and he was putting me in a room with two twin beds. Not a huge deal, but I had picked the other room for a reason. When we got there check in went pretty smooth. However, he recommended a restaurant for us knowing we were a group of 20 that could NOT accommodate groups. We ended up waiting over 2 hours for our food. I just felt like he recommended it because he also worked there, not because it was a good place for us to go. The hotel was good though. Was right across from the dive shop we were using and close to lots of shops and restaurants. Worked well for what we needed and was a decent price for traveling students.

Room Tip: Look at all of the descriptions and choose one with the beds you want. All of them are about equal location as they are just in one building.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews