We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 18 April 2006

My wife and I were looking for a low to moderately priced place in a good location. We didn't expect a fancy resort, but this place exceeded our expectations. The location is superb. It's just literally a few steps from beautiful private Simpson Bay beach. It's only a very short walk to everything you need, including good restaurants, and only a short drive from the airport and good shopping. Our room was very clean, and was larger than we expected, with a full kitchenette. Most of all, the owner was very friendly and attentive to our needs, much like you would get at a very high priced B & B. Don't expect beatifully clean properties surrounding the inn...there apparently are very few zoning laws, as there are some trashy spots close by. But the inn property itself is well kept and charming. And just across the street from the inn is a beautiful marina housing multi-million dollar yachts. We would love staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank buck bowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2006

The Turquoise Shell Inn is a sweet 12 unit Inn with pool, positioned between the Bay and the Lagoon at Simpson Bay. We had a 2 room unit with a complete kitchen. The best thing about the Inn is the charming staff who took care of our every need. This isn't a fancy upscale site, the plumbing has it's problems and there is no central air but the fans worked well and our room was clean and well appointed. If we get back to that area, I would definately stay their again.

3  Thank CBrooksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2006

The Turquoise Shell is a cozy inn with superb service. We stayed for a long weekend over New Years and were very happy with the accommodations. We were traveling on a budget, and found the location perfect for walking to a number of excellent restaurants (El Rancho especially) or getting taxi or bus rides to shop in Phillipsburg and explore the French side. The hotel offers day access to the tranquil Simpson Bay beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Turquoise Shell is definitely recommended for long weekends or week-long stays. The kitchenette is fully equipped, the rooms are very clean, and it's a great place to rest and rejuvenate after all the fun of this island.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hamikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2005

Just returned from a delightful stay at the Turquoise Shell Inn on Simpson Bay in St. Maarten. The accommodations while small were very clean and had all the modern conveniences. What makes this place so special and made our stay so memorable were are all the little unexpected "touches" performed by proprietors. You won't go wrong if you spend your stay in St. Maarten here.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Massachussetts
15
Reviewed 12 June 2005

We stayed at the Tshell inn just after the Heineken Regatta. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed including a good size kitchen. The Tshell Inn is located right in the middle of Simpson bay so for us it was easy to walk to all our favorite restaurants and bars. We would get up early for breakfast at Ric's place then go and watch the Big Yachts come in and out of the bridge. We would have to say Tshell inn is above average, compared to the places we have stayed in SXM. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank michi800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lpe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: £87 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing