We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turquoise Shell Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
158
65
10
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
65
10
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst maartenclose to the airportbeach towelsunittimeshare
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Celebrated my wife's 50th by spending 6 nights. The inn was clean, secure, affordable, and included everything you normally would use home...in terms of comfort, we only wished the beds weren't as hard but this will not keep us from staying again! The beach is only steps behind the inn and a moderate 20 min walk takes you to Karacter's, a nice beach bar/grill. Carter and Mark were very hospitable and equally helpful with tips/advice. Pauline, the housekeeper, was trustworthy and we never worried about our valuables when gone. I would strongly consider this facility if going to St. Martin for the 1st time and willing to do without the 5 star mirage.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joedestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Manager at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2010

We are glad your visit was enjoyable and to let you know we have added pillow toppers to the bed to soften them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Everyone here is very friendly and helpful. The place is clean, has a good sized living room and bedroom, and the kitchen is a great feature. And you know what they say about location, location: within a few minutes walk there are more restaurants then you can handle in a week, two supermarkets, casinos, and a beach. But defintely rent a car and explore the whole island, and don't forget that exhilarating zipline at Loterie Farm! You just can't beat the value and convenience here, and we hope to return the same time next year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank NewYorkSunWorshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Manager at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2010

Thanks for the great review you certainly took advantage of all that Sint Maaretn has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed at Turquoise Shell Inn for 4 nights prior to travel to St. Bart's. My sister and her husband stay here every year prior to boarding their sailboat for an extended vacation in the Caribbean area. So, Carter and Polly were expecting us and greeted us like old friends. The rooms are very clean, well layed out and Carter provides lots of tips on the local Simpson Bay area; from restaurants to grocery stores; he is very knowledgable of the area and activities. The location is perfect as it is right behind Simpson Bay Beach which is very nice for a morning and afternoon swim. We walked the beach to Maho twice to watch the planes arrive at around 2:00 p.m.; it's a good walk but always exciting to see the larger planes land on the short runway.
We'll definitely stay here again on future trips to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Manager at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2010

We appreciate you taking the time to evaluate our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

This was our 2nd stay at the TSI... We usually stay here for a few days before heading to our timeshare. The rooms are very clean, roomy and the staff extremely friendly/helpful. The location is excellent where you can easily walk to the beautiful beaches or to the many restaurants in the area feeling safe the whole time. We will be back and very happy to have found a place that allows us to enjoy the Island for a few days longer than normal. Thank you TSI!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mornoiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Stayed with friends in December 2009. Perfect location close to all hot spots. Marcus, the innkeeper is very accommodating and helpful. Good size rooms with kitchens. Beach is not perfect, but it is not a problem because you want to visit all wonderful beaches on the island anyway. The best value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sergiotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews