We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Inn Keepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Brooklyn
1 review
“Incredible Inn Keepers”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We spent almost two weeks at the Turquoise Shell Inn last month. The inn is quaint - 10 small 1 bedroom apts. and a tiny pool. It is only a few steps from Simpson Bay, which is a very quiet beach and easy swimming. The rooms are very clean. For us, the outstanding part of this trip was the care that Marcus and Carter took to keep their place lovely ( Carter watering each potted plant every morning). Also, they were wonderful throughout our trip. When my boyfriend had a dental emergency right before the weekend, Marcus spent half an hour with me to make sure he found a dentist. Carter knew that we liked to spend our early mornings at the beach and made sure to have our beach chairs ready. If you want luxury, go to the Westin and spend $3000 a night. But if you want a simple, convenient spot and don't mind a few kittens and lots of great vibes, go straight to Turquoise Shell Inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancycrystals_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    65
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
133
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn,MA
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We were very happy with our efficiency rooms as it allowed us to have breakfast and snacks at our leisure. The housekeeper was excellent and cleaned our rooms everyday except Sun. when she does not work. Carter & Marcus run a tight ship to their credit. The grounds are meticulous and there are security gates for safety, but beware not to get your remote wet.........The location is central and we were able to walk to many shops, restaurants or bars of our choosing. This was our first stay here and hopefully not our last.
Ray & Claire, Auburn, MA

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortcake51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington, vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Our stay at the Turqoise Shell Inn on Simpson Bay was very comfortable and relaxing. Lots of great little restaurants with tremendous variety within a few blocks, a dive shop across the street, a fine beach a few steps out the bay-side entrance. We liked the peace of sundown and evenings either on the porch of our room or around the small pool that's nice for a cool-down dip. The room had a well-equipped kitchenette, and the room was exceptionally clean, and comfortable. We really appreciated our hosts there giving us valuable information about how to get around by bus and on foot, although taxis are plentiful as are car rental options.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebbie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenport, iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed at the Turquoise Shell Inn from Feb. 12th-22nd. We decided on this hotel based on prior reviews on this site and it was everything we expected and much more!! Marcus, Carter, and Pauline were great, the room was spotless and very comfortable, and the courtyard was beautiful! The location of the hotel simply could not be beat - we were within walking distance of everything in Simpson Bay and the beach was literally out of the back gate. We were provided with coffee and water, borrowed a cooler, exchanged books in their library, and were offered snorkel gear and beach chairs if we needed them. The room has a full kitchen and although we did not cook, having a full size refrigerator was great for ice, drinks, and left-overs. The hotel's front and back gates are locked at night and we felt very safe and secure here. We are already planning next year's trip (for two weeks this time) and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

From the moment we stepped out of the car, everything was wonderful. Check in was a breeze and beach towels provided right then. They brought our luggage upstairs in the rain. The room was spotless. Bottled water, creamer, coffee, tea and bath essentials were supplied. Inn is convient to everything including the airport. Access to Simpson Bay Beach and the pool is very nice. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turqwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBX, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My boyfriend, sister and I spent several nights here before going to Anguilla. The efficiency well suited our needs. Even the futon was very comfortable. There were many thoughtful amenities....bottled water, coffee, sugar, creamer, paper towels, etc. Many restaurants, grocery stores and souvenir shops nearby. Cleanliness is definitely a #10. We really liked the intimacy of the small, private courtyard with pool. Marcus had arranged for our rental car to be brought to the Inn which was quite nice; never a parking problem at the Inn. This is a great location to start exploring the island. We are marking this as a "must return to" Inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockeyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Celebrated my wife's 50th by spending 6 nights. The inn was clean, secure, affordable, and included everything you normally would use home...in terms of comfort, we only wished the beds weren't as hard but this will not keep us from staying again! The beach is only steps behind the inn and a moderate 20 min walk takes you to Karacter's, a nice beach bar/grill. Carter and Mark were very hospitable and equally helpful with tips/advice. Pauline, the housekeeper, was trustworthy and we never worried about our valuables when gone. I would strongly consider this facility if going to St. Martin for the 1st time and willing to do without the 5 star mirage.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joedestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Manager at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2010
We are glad your visit was enjoyable and to let you know we have added pillow toppers to the bed to soften them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Property: Turquoise Shell Inn
Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing