We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I could have expected and then some...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More than I could have expected and then some...”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My excitement started long before my arrival at the Turquoise Shell Inn. I would check T.A. weekly for new reviews, and as I would read all the outstanding comments, my excitement would grow and grow. Upon my arrival at TSI, I couldn't have been more pleased than I was. We were greeted with a warm welcome by Marcus and shown to our room. Marcus was very detailed in his description of the room and property, and was more than willing to help us with anything that we needed! If you are reading this, and hoping that you are going to find the same ammenties that the Westin offers, please STOP reading, and head to their website! TSI is nothing but a cozy, friendly, warm, personal, and relaxing inn that is meant for couples, or families.

The best part of staying at the TSI was that Marcus was more than happy to help you with whatever you wanted, and if you had a laundry list of things you would like to do while visiting St. Maarten, he would go out of his way to make those arrangements for you. However, if your only purpose of visiting St. Maarten is to camp out on the beach and to be left alone from sun up to sun down, then you are given all the necessaties (Beach chairs, umbrella, towels) to make that happen as well!

I would recommend the TSI to anyone and everyone! I look forward to my return to not only TSI, but also the island of St. Maarten..."The Friendly Island!"

**(Thanks again to Marcus and Pauline who I know are reading this! I miss both of you already!)**

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craftcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    65
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
134
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

It was really a great stay at the TShell. Marcus was wonderful the whole time, always giving us suggestions, advice and directions. Pauline, the housekeeper, kept the rooms very clean. She was even so nice as to notice I left my watch on our porch while we were at the beach, so she picked it up and put it in our room. The hotel is great overall. It's "across the street" from the beach - it's more like a small driveway than a major road. It's about 15 steps from the gate of the hotel to the beach.

The beach in Simpson Bay is great. There's not a ton of sand there, but the water is beautiful and clear. Aslo, the beach is dead which we loved. If you want to go people watching at the beach, you'll want to go to one of the others on the island. We LOVED the fact that there was nobody out there on the beach with us. Peace and quite. We enjoyed going out there in the morning and watching the mega yachts going in and out from the bridge while we were on the beach (the bridge opens and 9 and 11 every morning and at 5 in the afternoon).

The rooms were just fine. For me the bed was still a little too firm, but I was still able to sleep just fine every night. Having a kitchen in the room was great. It was easy to buy things to fix for lunch and prepare in the morning for that day. There are a couple grocery stores close by - we prefered the Market Garden which is less than a mile away, going towards Phillipsburg. My only other thing I would have liked different in the room was more water pressure from the shower. It wasn't bad at all, and I've definately stayed at places that were worse. However, after getting sand all over you, it's nice to have a stong shower to knock it all off.

The location is great. There are several restaurants in walking distance. We rented a car so we were able to see the whole island. It's a great place to visit, and we look forward to visiting the TShell again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westashleyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We spent almost two weeks at the Turquoise Shell Inn last month. The inn is quaint - 10 small 1 bedroom apts. and a tiny pool. It is only a few steps from Simpson Bay, which is a very quiet beach and easy swimming. The rooms are very clean. For us, the outstanding part of this trip was the care that Marcus and Carter took to keep their place lovely ( Carter watering each potted plant every morning). Also, they were wonderful throughout our trip. When my boyfriend had a dental emergency right before the weekend, Marcus spent half an hour with me to make sure he found a dentist. Carter knew that we liked to spend our early mornings at the beach and made sure to have our beach chairs ready. If you want luxury, go to the Westin and spend $3000 a night. But if you want a simple, convenient spot and don't mind a few kittens and lots of great vibes, go straight to Turquoise Shell Inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancycrystals_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn,MA
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We were very happy with our efficiency rooms as it allowed us to have breakfast and snacks at our leisure. The housekeeper was excellent and cleaned our rooms everyday except Sun. when she does not work. Carter & Marcus run a tight ship to their credit. The grounds are meticulous and there are security gates for safety, but beware not to get your remote wet.........The location is central and we were able to walk to many shops, restaurants or bars of our choosing. This was our first stay here and hopefully not our last.
Ray & Claire, Auburn, MA

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortcake51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington, vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Our stay at the Turqoise Shell Inn on Simpson Bay was very comfortable and relaxing. Lots of great little restaurants with tremendous variety within a few blocks, a dive shop across the street, a fine beach a few steps out the bay-side entrance. We liked the peace of sundown and evenings either on the porch of our room or around the small pool that's nice for a cool-down dip. The room had a well-equipped kitchenette, and the room was exceptionally clean, and comfortable. We really appreciated our hosts there giving us valuable information about how to get around by bus and on foot, although taxis are plentiful as are car rental options.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebbie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenport, iowa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed at the Turquoise Shell Inn from Feb. 12th-22nd. We decided on this hotel based on prior reviews on this site and it was everything we expected and much more!! Marcus, Carter, and Pauline were great, the room was spotless and very comfortable, and the courtyard was beautiful! The location of the hotel simply could not be beat - we were within walking distance of everything in Simpson Bay and the beach was literally out of the back gate. We were provided with coffee and water, borrowed a cooler, exchanged books in their library, and were offered snorkel gear and beach chairs if we needed them. The room has a full kitchen and although we did not cook, having a full size refrigerator was great for ice, drinks, and left-overs. The hotel's front and back gates are locked at night and we felt very safe and secure here. We are already planning next year's trip (for two weeks this time) and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

From the moment we stepped out of the car, everything was wonderful. Check in was a breeze and beach towels provided right then. They brought our luggage upstairs in the rain. The room was spotless. Bottled water, creamer, coffee, tea and bath essentials were supplied. Inn is convient to everything including the airport. Access to Simpson Bay Beach and the pool is very nice. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turqwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Property: Turquoise Shell Inn
Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing