We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turquoise Shell Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
158
65
10
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
65
10
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst maartenclose to the airportbeach towelsunittimeshare
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The Touqoise Shell is a well-maintained little hotel, between the beach (Simpson Bay) and the highway. The hotel features very clean rooms with a kitchen an sitting area, and is well-stocked for your basic needs (cable TV, coffee maker, aircon, fan, etc.). The Inn's staff are excellent, and expert on the island. they also provided us with beach chairs, umbrella, snokel mask, flippers, etc, etc. While this is a basic Inn, it has features that you will not find in the reather sterile and artficial resorts....The Inn is close to lots of great restaurants (our favorites were the Indian and Chinese restaurants accross the street, and the Kewi Cafe around the corner.. It is 100 feet or so from where you can ride the vans anywhere is the island ($1.50 per trip), and a short walk to a great many grocery stores, shops, etc., and is close to the simpson Bay Marina for day trips (we went to Saba--Don't miss it)...the Simpson Beach is just stepsbfrom the hotel, and is pristine and almost empty..We actually had fish swimming right up to us.The Turquoise Shell is also close to Mullet Beach (excellent!) and Maho Beach (where the planes come in).

We also enjoyed the fact that the Inn is close to neighborhoods were the locals live--We had a chance to speak with numerous residents and experience a slice of the island which is missing from Orient Beach and the standard resort.

We felt that the TI is a tremendous travel bargain and plan to go back.

The

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennsylvaniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Not only did we enjoy the hotel (so comfortable and clean) we benefited from the assistance of our host who helped find restaurants, stores, beaches, island sites in addition to booking special activities such as our sunset cruise and snorkeling. He quickly responded to our every whim and we loved that part! Definitely deserves a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sniiiider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to meet the needs of every guest, to the best of our ability. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit to St Maarten and the T Shell Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Four of us stayed eight nights and had a wonderful time. There is a good selection of restaurants within easy walking distance. I give thumbs up to the Pizza Galley just on the other side of the drawbridge and the little French bakery back the other direction towards the airport. If you don't mind slumming a bit, the little trailer shack bar in front of the hotel is great. We kept going back for the perfectly cooked tilapia/fresh baguette sandwiches ($5). Google "Hilma's Windsor Castle" to see a picture in the NY Times or pull up to the bar and see the same picture taped to her refrigerator.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chindogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

This is a smaller hotel but very private and gated for security. Rooms on the 1st floor have private patio which are very nice and are shaded by big trees and smaller plants which are well taken care of. We were concerned at first because rooms 1, 2 (we were in) and 3 border the parking lot. This turned out not to be a big deal as there is no traffic in and out; many people do not rent cars as bus service is excellent. Rooms 4, 5, and 6 overlook the pool area which is very quaint. Walk through the back gate and you are on the beach! There are two restaurants you can walk to on the beach as well as many within walking distance on the main road. If you need a beach chair, umbrella, snorkeling equipment, sunscreen, a book to read, directions, etc., Carter is your go to guy. Would we go back? In a heartbeat. Have fun! Rudy and Sherry

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLK517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This place is the Best ! The staff Carter, Marcus & Pauline are very friendly & want to make sure you have the best vacation possible. Marcus booked all our excursion's, provided beach towels, chairs and a small cooler. This hotel is quaint, very clean and comfortable right on the water and a very short cab ride from the airport and walking distance to many great local restaurants! You can take a bus ride for $ 4 to Phillipsburg for great shopping, especially on jewelry! We will be staying here each time we visit St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flphotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TShellSxm, manager at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

We apprecite hearing from our guests about their experience at the T Shell Inn Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews